We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and great fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Church House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Church House Inn to your Saves list
Old Church House Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Torbryan, Newton Abbot TQ12 5UR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 Newton Abbot B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food and great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed over for wassailing event . The (dog friendly) room was comfortable , clean, well equipped. the Inn warm, welcoming. the event was excellent fun, lots of morris dancing, and singing till late. We ate too, and the food was really good (haddock mornay reccomended). The staff were very obliging and friendly. Other family stayed too, including a baby, the inn has cot and highchair, and were helpful and welcoming. It was generally a relaxed, pleasant atmosphere.
The Inn is well placed for local trips, and would make an excellent base for a holiday. there are pleasant short walks nearby.

All in all it was brilliant , and we would definitely reccomend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    19
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
37
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Old Church House just before the New Year. It was spontaneous and checked with the proprietor Kane for availability and we took room 11. Nice room there was a leak by the chimney due to the heavy rain throughout December but that didn't put us off as Kane pointed this out when he showed us the room. It was warm dry compfy with a lovely bathroom just don't burn your bum on the towel rack. We ate lunch and dinner both good and Darren thank you for your friendly service. We live in Teignmouth but from now on will use the Old Church House as our local. Thank you!! Aaron and Grahame

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at Church House Inn at New Year. It was clean, comfortable and a charming experience. The food was first class. Dave landlord and his staff made sure our stay was an enjoyable experience. Would definately go again. At edge of Dartmoor ideal for walking. In heart of village, friendly locals. A must visit is the Community shop and tearooms, lovely food and staffed by villagers. Fab village.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

The bedroom was clean and warm and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom which was newly decorated had a very nice bath and lots of hot water. The food was plentiful and very tasty and the staff were really friendly. Would recommend this lovely Inn to anyone, it's a real gem of a place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

we have now stayed here a few times now and you get a warm welcome good food. And landlord and all the staff are very helpful will stay again and a big thank you to kane and all of the staff for a great time on halloween night thanks Maxine & Terry

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Friends often talked of their stays here and were kind enough to invite my daughter and I along for 2 nights over Halloween. Upon arriving I was not disappointed, we made our way to our rooms which was in the old part of the inn, opened the door and all my daughter and I could say to each other was wow (room 15) like the rest of the inn so full of character. The landlord and staff were very friendly and chatty making you feel welcome and relaxed. The effort that had been put in to the Halloween party by not only the staff and landlord but also the guests (many of whom attend every year) was fantastic.

The downstairs is full of rooms with interesting nooks and crannies wherever you look. We had excellent evening meals on the second night, followed by drinks in the bar where both guests and staff talked about the history of the inn and their experiences whilst there. Breakfast next day was just what we needed before heading away back home.

The location is beautiful and unspoilt by modern trappings, the church opposite looks down on the inn and gave a distinct impression of being imposing. We spent time on the vast moors experiencing, rain, hail, snow, wind and sunshine all in the space of an hour, with my friend almost learning how to paddle!

I can't thank my friends enough for sharing this place with me and would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

13c Inn full of character with its own 'spirits'
We have been regulars at this Inn for 8 years. The Food is always excellent and plentiful. Roasts on a Sunday are to be highly recommended, especially the beef, which is sourced locally.
Friendly and welcoming landlord and staff. There is always a selection of Devon and Cornwall real ales.
Some good entertainment nights had here. You will arrive as strangers and leave as friends.
Highly recommended for a visit.

Tony & Maggie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Church House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Church House Inn

Address: Torbryan, Newton Abbot TQ12 5UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Church House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old Church House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Church House Inn Newton Abbot, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Church House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.