We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Newton Abbot

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Newton Abbot to your Saves list
Premier Inn Newton Abbot
Newton Road, Newton Abbot TQ12 3AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Fairly new hotel. Comfy clean and quiet. Excellent all you can eat breakfast next door at the beefeater grill for £8.25 per person served from 6.30 each morning, although we enjoyed an evening meal in the grill we felt that the menu was very very basic, and could have done with a light lunch or sandwich panini section but we will be staying there again!

Room Tip: We were in room320 two nights out of three we slept well the design of the building on a windy nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    99
    36
    18
    5
See reviews for
91
83
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed as visiting family nearby. Arrived at 9.30, reception staff friendly. This Premier is fairly new so good car parking, good security with key card needed for access to corridor, room ample for ourselves and children aged 9 and 11. Missed cheap deal as booked late which was annoying as know we were paying an extra £30 for room but still good value for family. Only small issue I heard fan type noise which the staff couldn't locate, believe maybe from Jewsons behind. Breakfast excellent, good value, didn't need lunch! Overall good value.

Room Tip: On front side away from Jewsons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

just spent 2 nights in premier inn newton abbot, cost £19 a night for a family room, as always room spotless and comfy, ate breakfast in adjoining beefeater, unlimited premier breakfast, at £8.25 per adult with 2 chikdren under 16 eating for free, excellent value for money!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have no hesitatation in reccomending this Premier Inn. The building is really new, such a treat from the 1970's Premier Inn we stayed in the next night. Staff were helpful and professional. It was my first time at a Premier Inn and I am so pleased to say my impression was a good one! Makes such a difference to praise a place instead of having to write a letter complaining! Wifi free for 30 mins, and a bargain £3 for 24 Hours! :) Nice powerful shower too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Clean, comfortable, good food, helpful staff, not expensive. I will stay here again when in Newton Abbot. The only small gripe is the wifi is only free for 30 minutes, as it is with all Premier Inns............................ .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

When arrived our room was mahoosive!!,clean and tidy.The bed and pillows were so comfy and we slept like logs with no noise.The following day when we returned from day out we were well chuffed as our beds were made,clean towels,cups and a lovely touch that our 6yr old left his 2 teddies on the bed and were now tucked into the nicely made bed!!Liked that!
Breakfast at the Beefeater was well worth it,had a lovely welcome and was pampered throughout by great staff.The food was great and SANTA making an appearance was brill as he was extra friendly,spending lots of time with the kids(best santa we have met!!)Deff recommend!!!!!!!Be back again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Look out for the £19 room offers!Bargain!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

When I first arrived, there were no towels in my room. I looked for the phone to call the front desk but there was no phone either. There was also no clock, no shampoo, no conditioner, no ice bucket (no ice machine), no mini fridge. Jeez!
I walked down to the front desk and the two women there said none of the rooms had phones. I said "How can I get a wake up call?" They came back with a small but new portable alarm clock which they unpackaged and installed batteries in. I must admit, the little clock worked like a champ. The girls at the front desk were very nice.
There was a Tesco (grocery/dept store) across the street. If there were a mini fridge in the room, I could have bought some milk, juice, yogurt, etc for my week long stay. But that wouldn't have worked out, since for the electricity in the room to work, you need to place your room key card in a little holder near the door. When you remove the key from the slot and leave the room, the electricity in the room shuts off. So anything in the fridge would go bad.
The remote control on the approximately 25 inch flat screen TV (maybe smaller than 25") went south on my second to the last day there.
The Beefeater Inn next door was convenient with good food and service. For any Yanks out there, it's similar to an Applebees or a Bennigans. People in the UK don't tip like we do in the states. So if you give them 15%, the servers are thrilled.
One final item, the tub was about six inches higher than the bathroom floor and needed more of those non skid thingies on the bottom of the tub so you don't slip. There were a few in a single location of the tub, but they weren't enough. Stepping out of the tub and down that six inches might be a challenge for a senior citizen.
The room was clean and the bed was fine. For someone without a car, like myself, there wasn't much within walking distance. I'd strongly suggest finding an alternative accomodation for your stay.
Vaya con dios.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newton Abbot, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Please be advised that we dont offer ice buckets or fridges in our rooms, we dont provide this service.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Newton Abbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newton Abbot

Address: Newton Road, Newton Abbot TQ12 3AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Newton Abbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newton Abbot Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Newton Abbot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.