We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place in Torquay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Linny

The Linny
Ridgeway Lane, Coffinswell, Newton Abbot, England
01803-87-31-92
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 102 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Place in Torquay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I have frequented the Linny on a few occasions now and I have to say it us by far one of the best places to eat in Torquay. The charming village and delightful old Inn alone is worth going for and the food is excellent. I consider myself quite discerning regarding food and so far I have not had anything but praise for the food and staff. The barman has the right personality for the job, friendly and efficient and the staff make you feel welcome. The vegetables served with the main course are varied, interesting and plentiful. I had skate as the main course and it was cooked to perfection. The three friends with me were also impressed. We went on a Saturday evening when it was busier than usual and had quite a long wait for our meal about 45 mins but it was well worth waiting for. I recommend the Linny most highly and cant wait to visit again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    37
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

As a local customer we have no qualms taking visitors to this venue. The food was excellent , very well presented and served. The staff were very welcoming and there is a great atmosphere in the pub. The house wine was delightful which is always a good sign of a good restaurant. No hesitation in recommending this pub for a good night out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“the only restaurant that can cook a steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

we love this place and without hesitation it is the only place i would ever recommend to anyone who likes steak, always busy (a good sign) but always wonderful - can not praise this pub enough obviously the menu caters for other dishes but we go for the steaks and have never been let down - this review reminds me, it must be time to visit again :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopsteignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had booked a table for six for dinner in the restaurant, upon arrival we ordered drinks from the bar. Unfortunately one of our party spilt their drink on the bar counter, the barman made no attempt to help clear it up, in fact he just seemed to ignore it and let us deal with it ourselves.
The restaurant it's self is just the upstairs part of the pub, it could feel a bit claustrophobic depending on where you are sitting, the ceiling is quit low and some of the tables are very close together. However the worst thing about the set-up is as is common in some pub restaurants is you cannot order from the bar menu. The restaurant menu is much more expensive. Three of us had the scallops to start , 3 small ones with little else not even a bit of salad for £7.95 each. Bacon & avocado salad? Might have expected more than a quarter (at the most) of an avocado and I have seen more bacon on a butchers apron. Moving on to the main course of fillet steak @ £19.95. Not too bad, peppercorn sauce sir, madam? That will be an extra £3.95!!! Chef open a fresh packet this morning. The waiting staff were mostly young and pleasant, the wine we had was fairly reasonably priced. The whole place is very nice, but
nothing to get excited about. Old-fashioned would be a good phrase, menus with steak, duck with orange, chicken supreme, beef stroganoff etc are old hat, move with the times put something more exciting on the menu. And so to sum up, The Linny as a pub is great, as a restaurant it fails, as I find a lot of pub restaurants do. It's too expensive for the type of food, and it's not a proper restaurant. Stick to what you are good at, serving good home cooked pub food at reasonable prices, leave the restaurant bit to others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tthelinny, Manager at The Linny, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Many thanks for your detailed review of your experience at The Linny. First of all I can only apologise for the last of attention upon your arrival when a drink was spilt. With regard to the prices, the restaurant is exactly the same price as the bar, additionally in the restaurant you get served complimentary freshly baked bread. The only difference between the bar and the restaurant is that we do not sell our bar food upstairs. Your started consisted of diver caught scallops and not the normal dredged kind and therefore they are more expensive for us to buy, additionally a light starter salad is just that, an appetiser. Our steaks are all carefully sourced and the sauces we offer are all home-made, we do not serve anything out of a packet.

We are rightly proud of being a traditional, old fashioned pub and have no desire to change our style of food, neither can we change the style of the building, it is what it is, a thatched inn situated in a quaint Devon village. We don't promote ourselves as a fancy upmarket restaurant, in fact we don't promote ourselves at all, but we always seem to be busy, we think that speaks or itself.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds.West Yorks.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Well worth finding this pub/restaurant, it's tucked away in the small village of Coffinswell. We were with friends who live locally otherwise would have had to rely on sat/nav. So pleased to have visited the Linny and will be back. We had the Sunday Roast at £9.95. Choice of Beef,Lamb and Turkey and plenty of well cooked vegetables and Roast and New Potatoes. It;s a very busy pub so best to book, mostly locals, which is always a good sign. Good selection of specials available and upstairs in the restaurant I'm assured the fillet steak is to die for. Will be trying it on our next visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Linny also viewed

 
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Been to The Linny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Linny, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.