We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dartmoor Halfway Inn - CLOSED

Dartmoor Halfway Inn
Ashburton Road | Bickington, Newton Abbot, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This restaurant is listed as a B&B under hotels. It is also a good restaurant which deserves a separate rating.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great experience !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

My husband and I have visited the Inn on many occasions and have always had a wonderful meal and the staff are always friendly and very welcoming . We have plenty of pubs in Devon but The Dartmoor Inn will always be our No.1 place to eat !

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    10
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It's improved!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

After visiting earlier in the year and not thinking much about our experience, we reluctantly decided to pop in for another go given we live 30 seconds away!

And my, what a surprise! Although the decor is still something to be desired and the pub really needs some attention to detail with the dirty lampshades and perhaps a steam cleaner/shampoo for the carpet, the food and service on the other hand was superb!!

What a huge change from our previous visit back in June! The food was of great quality, hot, and with a great customer experience to match! This felt much better value for money!

We had a couple of chicken breast burgers which were huge and freshly cooked. We also noticed the Sunday Roasts that we're coming out looked fantastic!! (Again, much better than we'd seen previously)

We will be back! Keep up the good work and please please give the place a freshen up... It would complete the experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bora bora
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great portions, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

I feel I have to write a review for this restaurant, because a while back, my partner and I had the worst meal ever and we hadn't been back there for a while, but we went back there reciently and to our complete surprise, the food was really good and the portions would make the hungriest person feel very satisfied, well done guys! you have completely turned the place around, It was deservabley packed, but not uncomfortably so and with a "2 4 1" offer on at the time too, it was a big bonus. Don't hesitate to give this restaurant a try, you wont be disappointed. We didn't book a table, but to be safe, it may be an idea to, as they are very busy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth , Devon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fresh Decor, Re-vamped Menu!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Called in for Sunday lunch and were lucky to find a table as several people were having to wait or find somewhere else! Many reserved tables indicated this was a popular establishment. We hadn't visited for nearly two years and the décor was a nice improvement. We noticed other people being served their meals and noted that presentation was very different to our last visit, square plates, chips served in mini chip -frying baskets on the plate which you just tip out yourselves, baby-leaf salad instead of veg. The menu was missing several choices we used to enjoy but we ordered our meals and were impressed with the friendliness of the staff. The 2 for 1 on main courses meant that the increase in prices since our last visit worked out about average for local eateries, although portions weren't as great on the meals we had. The roast dinners were very generous portions from what we saw so at just under £14, the 2 for 1 deal was excellent value.
We both enjoyed our meals and the ambiance but missed the homeliness of the way meals were served previously. The modern trend of serving food in little receptacles admittedly, looks smart but we preferred the whole meal on the plate, the portions used to be more substantial, as we remember, having selected the same meal this time as we chose last visit.
Nevertheless, we will return for a roast dinner soon, good value for money there!
A thank you to the lovely staff for their hospitality.
Pleasant location and lots of parking.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Dartmoor Half Inn is situated between the A38 and Newton Abbot at Bickington in Devon, really easy to find. We have been going here for years and have not yet been let down. Always a warm welcome as you enter and there is normally a good ambiance. It can get quite busy especially over the weekend so booking in advance is advised. A good menu with daily specials as well as the normal menu, they are also offering a 2 for 1 deal on all meals, excellent value. The food always comes up piping hot and well presented; it can be a bit of a wait during busy periods as the food is all prepared fresh.
There is also a camp site attached to the rear of the pub which seems quite popular especiall in the summer. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dartmoor Halfway Inn also viewed

 
Newton Abbot, Devon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dartmoor Halfway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.