We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pizza Cafe

The Pizza Cafe
50 Queen Street, Newton Abbot TQ12 2EW, England
+44 1626 355102
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 99 Restaurants in Newton Abbot
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Now in our 26th year of serving the best pizza you will ever taste.Open all day every day.Takeaway and home delivery service also available.Check us out you will love us.Now something of an institution in these parts
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another enjoyable visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just been in for another great Pizza. Have been using the Pizza cafe since 1989 and never once disappointed. Nice new menu but still the same quality and service. Well done once again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    44
    7
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Their pizzas are so good that I can only eat pizzas from here now!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I LOVE The Pizza Cafe. I love their pizzas, I can't eat any other pizzas now! They're all such a disappointment after eating here!! The food is always fantastic, the staff are always very welcoming and always happy to help and they let you mix and match food, they have a great little loyalty system in place too. I can't recommend this place enough, it is by far the best place to eat in Newton.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great food, great night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Me & my friend visited the pizza café on monday evening,it was quite busy & we were not surprised by that but we had booked in advanced...we shared a fat boy combo followed up by a Buritto & a Top gun pizza, it was fabulous & so tasteful. For our dessert we shared a heaven can wait & it really was heaven!
After all the food we had it was lucky we had diet pepsi, but it was worth the pig out!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

My Dad was over visiting from Guernsey and requested we go to the pizza cafe for dinner (like he always does!) and we were as pleased as ever!

Service: Fab
Drinks: Good Value
Food: Delicious!!

He's over in June so we will no doubt be back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newton abbot
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't order Pizza”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Visited Pizza Cafe for a PIZZA.
Lovely cafe and very efficient friendly staff, but was very disappointed with the Pizza's.
Have had pizza's here before and they were lovely, but they have changed - for the worse,
no taste to them, dont even look like a pizza, more like a cheesy quiche. My advise would be
dont order a pizza, real shame, as its such a lovely. friendly, clean little cafe.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pizzacafeman, Owner at The Pizza Cafe, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Oh the joys of Trip Adviser. One minute we are serving the best pizza in Britain and the next we are serving Cheesy Quiche!!!
Quite frankly I am puzzled by this review. You reviewed us in August last year when you said we served great pizza. We have changed absolutely nothing about the pizza since your last review.
It is a pity that you didn't mention your disappointment to the staff at the time as they would have given you a replacement dish or a no quibble refund.
I hope you will give us another try so we can prove we do serve great tasting, fresh pizza cooked to your order using the finest locally sourced ingredients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pizza Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Pizza Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pizza Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.