We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bickley Mill

Save Saved
You added The Bickley Mill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bickley Mill
Stoneycombe | Kingskerswell, Newton Abbot TQ12 5LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Newton Abbot B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I was brought up in the area but have since moved away although we return frequently to visit relatives. We have eaten here before but never stayed, on this occasion we decided to stay, along with my mother and her husband. Our rooms were spotless, tastefully decorated and superbly comfortable. The deluxe en-suite had a wonderful shower, bath robes, toiletries and white fluffy towels! Tea making facilities, a flat screen TV and free Wifi were also available (if a little slow!)
The food was fabulous,and beautifully presented. Breakfast was excellent.
The staff were polite and attentive and nothing was too much trouble. All in all a very enjoyable stay, we will most definitely be staying here again very soon. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    139
    34
    9
    11
    2
See reviews for
51
76
6
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice family style hotel.
Excellent food, courteous staff, obliging and helpful.
I'll stay again when in the area.
The setting is nice too.
My visit to the hotel was on business. I arrived early and the room was almost ready for me, so I think all attention was given to my room to help assist with getting some relaxation. The room was bright and airy, a good en-suite with bath and powerful shower.
No phone in the room that I could see, nor bath robe and slippers !
Flatscreen TV on the wall, and good decor.
Most important, setting everything else aside is the cleanliness. Full marks.
Even if you can't stay, the restaurant will impress.
Worcester the cat is a nice chap too !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The food here is just delicious, freshly cooked and you can appreciate the quality in every mouthful. There's always a good variety on the menu but not too much to chose from, and the staff were always happy to talk about what's on the menu. The restaurant itself is very clean and homely with a contemporary fine dining edge. I've even been for a meal when there's been a wedding party in the function room at the same time, we didn't impose on them and the restaurant service was just as good and professional as normal.

The restaurant is fully wheelchair accessible and they provide plenty of room for you in the dining room if needed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had our Wedding reception here the service was out standing they meet our every need.Food was delicious.Was a lovely setting with nice outside decking area and Garden for our Family and friends to enjoy the nice summer evening.

Our room(Riviera) was very nice plenty of room nice en suite deluxe walk in shower.We had a very nice balcony and was not overlooked.

Breakfast was very nice me and my wife went for a full English

We would like to thank Hayley for making our day so special and will be coming back very soon.

Room Tip: Riviera has a nice balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We arrived early and our room was not ready as they had had a wedding the night before. Had a lovely Sunday roast and was then shown to our room. It was called eaves and was at the top. What a beautiful room, decorated in rich reds gave it a lovely warm feeling. Beautiful big bathroom with bath. Breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked. Even though a little out the way we found it quite easy without the help of sat nav. The two nights we were here thr resturant was busy. I would recommend the tiger prawns for starters . Check out and in we're quick and easy and the staff very chatty and helpful.

Room Tip: Eaves has a bath only with a hand held shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed again at this hidden gem on Sunday 25th August.This is our seventh stay and as always everything was perfect.The room was spotless and decorated to a very high standard.Every member of staff was friendly and efficient and the food was exceptional.The full English breakfast set us up for a full day visiting National Trust properties.We will be back for another stay sometime soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

As a change to the run of the mill, no pun intended, hotels I decided to book a country pub/inn for this trip. Bickley mill is certainly quite rural and sat nav is a must to find it.
It's a nice balance of pub - restaurant- hotel, loads of car parking, lots of room to eat, inside or out, good comfy well decorated rooms and a nice menu, oh and free wifi (not the quickest but adequate)
It was certainly no cheaper than staying at many hotels but then it had character and extremely nice staff.
The food was good pub / gastro style, I had Scallops to start which were beautifully garnished and very tasty without loosing the real taste and texture of the shellfish, followed by local venison steak perfectly cooked with nice veg and a good jus.
Wine selection was oK and local ale very good.
Room and bathroom nice, peaceful night and a good breakfast .
So all in all a good experience.
The only downside , or bonus !, was the complete lack of mobile signal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bickley Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bickley Mill

Address: Stoneycombe | Kingskerswell, Newton Abbot TQ12 5LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Newton Abbot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 12 En-suite bedrooms are individually styled with crisp white linen and home comforts. Each room is fully equipped with Flat Screen television with DVD player, free wireless broadband access, tea and coffee making facilities and hairdryers. Separate accommodation entrance for ease of access at all times. Traditional cooked breakfast using local produce. Bathrooms are a delight, with modern contemporary fittings, fluffy white towels and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Bickley Mill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bickley Mill Hotel Newton Abbot
The Bickley Mill Newton Abbot, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bickley Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.