We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service with cuisine to match” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Restaurant at Lucknam Park Hotel

Park Restaurant at Lucknam Park Hotel
Lucknam Park Hotel | Colerne, Chippenham SN148AZ, England
01225742777
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 95 Restaurants in Chippenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $98 - $114
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Park Restaurant, part of the Lucknam Park Hotel in Wiltshire, is a timelessly elegant Michelin-starred affair. Located in a listed Palladian mansion, the restaurant resides in the stately home’s original ballroom. With magnificent chandeliers and Venetian mirrors, the restaurant has a grand view overlooking 500 acres of parkland and a mile-long drive lined with beech and lime trees. The menu, overseen by Head Chef Hywel Jones, makes use of the finest local and organic produce, as well as the hotel’s herb garden. Our favourite dishes include the pot roast of Roundway Hill pork belly with pan-fried foie gras, caramelised apples, baby leeks, girolles and sauce aux espices; and the pan roast Scottish diver scallops with tomato tatin, aubergine puree and aged balsamic dressing.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic service with cuisine to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a restaurant to which we have been several times before and once again it was excellent. The service is attentive whilst managing not to be intrusive, a must for this type and class of restaurant. The lounge area that in which we relaxed before and after the dinner is classic country house and very well furnished.
We all chose the Gourmet menu with matching wines; an excellent presentation thats showed off the skills of both the kitchen and sommelier to best effect. Everything was done to very high standard and the flavours and textures were indeed very well matched to the wines chosen.
This is without doubt one of the best venues in the area for a special treat although the cost of such treats is significant.......

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    20
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“park restaurant a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This dinner was wonderful. Fist they serve drinks at the lounge, you choose the menu, chat a little and then you will be invited to a michelin star diner. Mind that some deserts take some time, and they should ask you in the beginning of the meal. We have to go for cheese in order not to wait 20-25 min for desert.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We ate at the Park restaurant during our stay at the hotel. Fantastic food. Sometimes these places can try too hard but here it was spot on. Portions were adequate and each dish so beautifully presented. I ate the Scallops followed by the Pork with my girlfriend eating the veal followed by the lamb. The food was faultless. I had cheese for dessert and she had the banana tart with caramel ice cream which I tried and was to die for. Unfortunately I chose the wrong wine. Even though I've studied to level 2 sommelier I sought a robust wine against the advice of their sommelier.. and failed. Although it was still a very good wine. I've never had a grenache from california. His dessert wine pairing was also spot on. Staff and service were impeccable too. Not snooty at all and very friendly. I couldn't fault this establishment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Very Nice but we know better ones in this category”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a very Nice Dinner and also breakfast in the Restaurant. The meals were Fine but wie have had better, more exquisite ones. Nevertheless it is something Special also due to the very Professional staff.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant, worth its star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Everything about the Park is top notch - food quality, atmosphere and service. Worth the trip and worth the price!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Restaurant at Lucknam Park Hotel also viewed

Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Been to Park Restaurant at Lucknam Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Restaurant at Lucknam Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.