We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent supper, authentic pub but also great for kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox and Hounds

Fox and Hounds
9 High Street, Colerne | Near Chippenham, Chippenham SN14 8DB, England
01225 744847
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 90 Restaurants in Chippenham
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
kmn727
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent supper, authentic pub but also great for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Extensive menu, really fresh ingredients, friendly service and competitive pricing.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice old fashioned place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Went to the pub on a nice day whilst property hunting in the area. The ale selection is good with their local brewery producing a lovely ale. My parents had a ham roll and ham and eggs and both were great with amazing ham and nice fresh bread. I had the muscles in wine sauce, it was very good indeed.The food is also very reasonably priced. Decor is good as it is an old village pub not some city gastro pub. Very friendly staff and locals. Good beer garden too.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ignore the bad food reviews!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We went with a Groupon voucher to this restaurant. We went on a Friday night and the pub was heaving. It seemed like a real local's place but the bar staff were friendly and keen to please even though they were really busy. Our table was nicely laid with a carafe of water and glasses also set out. The food was delicious and well presented. There was more than enough for a hungry man! The menu was varied - I had the Pork Hock, husband had gammon and eggs. The curries and steaks that arrived at the next table looked substantial too. The prices even without a voucher would have been about right for a nice country pub with a decent menu. Would probably return if there weren't so many other village pubs to try!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Drink But Don't Eat !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Not been in this pub for about 20 years and it seemed as if the furnishings had been there for that time as well. A quiet Tuesday night, and the few customers that were there, were outnumbered by the number of flying insects that buzzed our table as we ate. We used a Groupon and don't know if the menu we were given is the standard one. Apart from a couple of items, It seemed to read like the frozen section from the local Cash & Carry, making one suspect that the kitchen consisted of a deep fat fryer and microwave. In this climate, people are looking for value for money, and you can definitely see the places that get it right.. and wrong, I wonder if this pub has any returning food customers?. This week we ate out in two other pubs, and this one cannot compare on price, quality and service that they gave, any plus points? ...the beer and the happy helpful barmaid.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Cramped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

Arrived to a very noisy bar ! Taken to table by nice waitress but not told about soup or curry of the day choices . Because the bar was open to Resturant couldn't hear each other over noise ! It was Friday night so unfair to say it would be like this every night but was a small pub. I had soup and sausages and husband had mozzarella and the steak ,could not fault the amount of food well cooked and delicious ! During the day would be lovely as beautiful surrounds , would I go back no, but if in the area then yes .

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox and Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.