We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Menu, Fantastic Food, Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Langley Tap

The Langley Tap
41 The Common | Langley Burrell, Chippenham SN15 4LQ, England
01249 652 707
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 90 Restaurants in Chippenham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Menu, Fantastic Food, Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We visited the 'Tap' just after it reopened and again last weekend for a family birthday. There were six of us plus our little nephew and once again we were warmly greeted on arrival. The 'specials' menu had so much choice ...it was amazing ...we all chose something different and each of us was very impressed by the standard of the food at very affordable prices. We will definitely be visiting again ... Lovely relaxed atmosphere and a charming village pub....

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    30
    17
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Tap ticks all the right boxes for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Over the past 8 or 9 weeks we have had the pleasure of eating at "The Tap" 3 times; the last time being on the evening of Wednesday 28th. On each occasion we have received great food from very willing, knowledgeable and caring staff with reasonable prices to boot! This time one of our party needed to have the vegetarian option which was superb. There was certainly no compromise in putting that meal together.
They were exceptionally busy with a function but kept us well informed of the situation and popped some bread and olives on the table with our drinks to keep us going. The delay was no problem for us as we had a lot of catching up to do with the friends who were with us.
The staff all wear black uniforms which gives a very professional touch to the service and the place has a very comfortable feel to it. For those who are interested in such things the rooms are very clean and bright. For sure "The Tap" is now on the top of our list for regular visits.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

After many Sunday lunches there, went recently after new owners re-opened the pub, we waited approximately 45 minutes for our lunch and were ignored and not updated whilst watching 3 other tables being served. May try again once more to see if this was a one off.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLangleyTap, Owner at The Langley Tap, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hello Emma R - We are greatly disappointed that your experience wasn't of our usual standard. At times we are very busy and do try to keep customers updated if there is going to be a wait before we can take an order or if there is a delay with the food, which clearly didn't happen in this case and I can only apologize. We would love for you to come back again so we can rectify our shortcomings. Best wishes The Langley Tap Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Rather Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Went here last night. Last minute decision. Superb service, lovely food, good menu. Best of all we we weren't rushed! We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cooking up a treat. xx”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Having heard 'The Tap' was under new management, we decided it was about time we tried the food. We booked the first sunday of opening and when we arrived it was a hive of activity. Greeted with a smile, we were shown to our table and both order the sunday Lunch. It arrived and it was amazing. Good size portions and well cooked food. We both were full but how could we decline our free pudding :) again delicious. We both went home very happy and decided to book again for the Pie night on a tuesday evening. We both had the mixed game pie, chips and veg. Again it didnt disappoint. We will defo be going back again and have recommended it to our boss for our xmas meal. Friendly bar staff, polite waitresses and an amazing Chef, what more do you want.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Langley Tap also viewed

Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Langley Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Langley Tap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.