We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but the service .....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of LYSLEY ARMS

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
LYSLEY ARMS
London Road, Pewsham, Chippenham, England
01249 652864
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 95 Restaurants in Chippenham
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food but the service .....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Went for a family lunch last Sunday , when we arrived waited for 20 mins for our order to be taken only to be told they had ran out of roast potatoes but might have enough left for two of our party to have a roast. Between ordering and receiving our meals two other tables who arrived AFTER us were served with roast dinners and dessert before our main courses arrived. When they did arrive there was just ONE roastie in sight. After finishing our meals we waited, and we waited to order desert but the waitresses were far too busy chatting behind the bar so we decided to forget the desert and leave. It's such a shame as the food is very good, just a pity that they can't get decent staff. Won't be going again as this is the third time in a row the service has been poor.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    33
    18
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
“Very busy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Set very close to the main road going into Chippenham this is a large public house which also caters for wedding parties. Great food and good service. Lots of outside seating and a good atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, nice food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The Lysley offers good value for money. Visited in the week while the '2 courses for £10' was running. I probably wouldn't visit at any other time, this is the main attraction.
Their coconut/chilli curry (can't remember the exact name) is delicious.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great value for the times you just dont want to cook!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

With a great two course deal for £10 in the week, the Lysley Arms is quickly becoming a regular eatery for my family.

The pub was formerly very run down and I was put off by the constant presence of biker groups, but all that has changed with a warm welcome every time. The pub has a lovely beer garden for the summer and lovely welcoming fires in the winter.

The only thing I would say is book for Fridays, the last thing you want to do is get there to be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banstead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
650 reviews 650 reviews
471 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 156 cities Reviews in 156 cities
295 helpful votes 295 helpful votes
“Large roadside pub, decent food, good beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stopped here for a late lunch and found it very quiet but the chap in charge was very friendly and efficient, the beer was excellent and the food good value. Worth stopping if you're hungry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LYSLEY ARMS also viewed

 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Been to LYSLEY ARMS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LYSLEY ARMS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.