We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stanton Manor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Stanton Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Saint Quintin, Chippenham SN14 6DQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Chippenham
devon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed, but did not eat here as we had a party elsewhere. The public areas are a little dark, and on the day we were there - not warm. Our room was very cold when we checked in, they offered another but we couldn't be bothered to move. It took all afternoon to warm up with an additional heater. Breakfast was good, in a lively room with big windows overlooking the garden. The motorway is not that far away, can't be seen but on a wet day there the noise is noticeable.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments, I’m very sorry you found your room cold. This situation should have been avoided by your room being heated prior to check-in which the hotels normal protocol. I will ensure I investigate why this was not the case in this instance, and must apologise if it had a derogatory effect on your stay. Once again I must thank you for your comments and will address them in a very positive way – Thank you

Kind Regards – Bernice Reed

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    36
    12
    10
    6
See reviews for
38
61
4
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We needed an 1 night stay for a visit to Melksham,certainly pleased with my choice.A very welcoming greeting on arrival and an really well equipped 4 poster bed room with luxury bathroom.We arrived at 2.30pm and didn`t feel the need to leave the hotel.Booked the restaurant,a la carte menu and that proved a success,very well cooked,a good chef.The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and ample selection,the staff are excellent .Thanks to them we will return.Special thanks to Ed and Polish receptionist

Room Tip: we can recommend the deluxe premium 4 poster room,don`t know about the modern rooms.Log fires,nice s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your very Generous comments, I will make sure all staff involved in your stay are informed of your kind words, Izzy the receptionist, Paul the chef and Edward the barmen and waiter. I’m delighted as a manager you found everything to your liking and that you would return again. Positive reviews like this make all the hard work worthwhile, Thank you.

Kind Regards – Bernice Reed

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

So I am not disappointed. That does make a change for me!

Have eaten here before and stayed overnight once. Lovely old manor house with WARM WELCOME! Oh that every hotel would learn how important the welcome is. If you have a nice room but an officious receptionist, it is money wasted I always say.

I don't ask for much. On site parking, free Wi Fi throughout and decent food.

Stanton Manor ticks all the boxes. Good price, high standards, but does not take itself too seriously. Highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your very down to earth comments that strike a cord with the ethos here at Stanton Manor. A warm atmosphere, a warm welcome and a warm stay, at a 3 star hotel that certainly does not take itself too seriously, we could not agree more. The emphasis is polite, unobtrusive, effective service and home from home choices that are value for money.
Thank you for highly recommending us and sharing your views with us, its nice to know we ticked all the boxes on this occasion – thank you

Kind Regards Bernice Reed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Our's was a winter wedding, taking place in early December 2013. The manager Bernice and her staff were totally professional and very friendly, and helped us plan every detail of the wedding. We got married in the local church nearby and returned to the manor where everything went off exactly as planned. The service was amazing, with everyone attentive and enthusiastic. The food couldn't be faulted, and all our guests commented on the quality.
Throughout the day, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and they were a major factor in the day being perfect.
Our rooms were of a very high standard, and spacious, clean and comfortable, with those on the ground floor even having access to private patios.
If you're looking for a venue in the Cirencester/Chippenham/Swindon area, Stanton Manor Hotel should be your first choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Wow, amazing review, thank you so much, I will ensure that all staff involved get to see your comments and receive the praise they deserve. It’s a team effort and everyone played there part. Your thoughts and views consolidate what we are trying to achieve for all our guests, it’s really rewarding to know that we got it right for you on all levels of the service provided. Fully appreciated you taking the time to tell us and share your views with others. Many Thanks.

Kind Regards – Bernice Reed. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I've just returned from a wonderfully relaxing afternoon at Stanton Manor. I came upon this venue as it is exactly a half way meet up point for me and my Uni friends. The food was great and plenty of it, the cake was delicious! The tea kept flowing as fast of the conversation. We sat there all afternoon happily chatting. The staff were very attentive but not intrusive. I can imagine us meeting there for years to come.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Always lovely to know that you and guests have enjoyed themselves and would come again. It’s really pleasing to know you had such a relaxing afternoon and the staff looked after you in just the right way. Thank you for taking your time to share your views of with others.

Kind Regards – Bernice Reed, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire, england
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were married at Stanton Manor Hotel on Sat, 11th Jan 14 and are keen to share our experience with others. We cannot overstate how delighted we have been with this venue, the staff, and the service. From the arrival of many of our guests on Friday night until the departure of all of us on Sunday, we were all treated as VIPs. We paid for exclusive use and would recommend that to others as our guests were able to fully relax and enjoy themselves. We had the ceremony in the hotel and that contributed to the relaxed atmosphere. Following bubbly and canapés on the terrace, we had a superb wedding breakfast with excellent food and outstanding service from Kelly, the Head Chef and their teams. Edward took over for the evening period and he couldn't have been more helpful. Indeed all of the staff were incredibly helpful, cheerful and courteous. The evening was topped off with an excellent buffet and a brilliant disco and blackjack table provided by Black Diamond Disco and Casino. All of our guests were fulsome in their praise for the whole experience. All in all a superb wedding and weekend - highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you so much for high praise indeed. It was a real pleasure to work with such a lovely couple for both myself and the staff. This review is fantastic more than we could wish for on all accounts and is such a genuine reflection of the whole day. Thanks again.

Bernice Reed – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed here for one night for a conference. The rooms were clean and functional - no faults there. The set dinner was alright, but all the dishes were a little cold when served, and the breakfast - full English - was also a little on the cold side. We were the first in for breakfast, so you would expect the bacon etc to be warm, if not freshly cooked. The staff were all very helpful and polite, and couldn't be faulted. They could make so much more of this hotel with just a little effort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernice R, General Manager at Stanton Manor Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for all of your comments which are received gratefully. On this occasion the Hotel has failed to meet its own standards across a spectrum of its service wish is exceptionally disappointing. Food on every occasion should be served perfectly and we have not achieved this for you which was unacceptable. I know all staff involved will be personally saddened and will endeavour to ensure it does not happen again. As the manager ultimately accountable I will also work in a positive way with the team to establish what went wrong and why. Then if necessary re-align are processes and protocol to avoid a repeat incidence. Thank you for the courteous way in which you have expressed your views.

Kind Regards

Bernice Reed
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stanton Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanton Manor Hotel

Address: Stanton Saint Quintin, Chippenham SN14 6DQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 hotels in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful hotel is conveniently situated minutes from junction 17 of the M4, set in the Cotswolds and a short drive to Chippenham, Bath and Bristol. The house has a rich history and is listed in the Domesday Book. Some rooms have luxury king-size four-poster beds, while others are suitable for families. All rooms are en-suite. The Gallery Restaurant has an AA Rosette and serves traditional British cuisine, overlooking the stunning grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Stanton Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanton Manor Chippenham
Hotel Stanton Manor
Stanton Manor Hotel Chippenham, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanton Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.