We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were warned....” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Brewers Fayre Cepen Park

Brewers Fayre Cepen Park
West Cepen Way, Chippenham SN14 6UZ, England
01249 463354
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 95 restaurants in Chippenham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oldmeldrum, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We were warned....”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Breadcrumbed mushrooms....great apart from the fact that one casing was void of anything resembling a mushroom. Dry casing, sad shrivelled mushroom served with a garlic mayo dip hat bore no resemblance to garlic or mayo.

Tepid chips, soggy limp onion rings and a steak that can only be described as bloody awful. Yes it was rare. But my teeth are close to being placed on the endangered list after that encounter.

Sad. Disappointing. But to be fair my sister ate here in April and warned me, 'I had the steak but I don't think it was beef'.

It mad the prospect of dashing across the busy road to the supermarket appealing. Get your act together, captiv audience or not, why aren't you ashamed to serve this kind of rubbish?

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

37% Recommend
    12
    33
    26
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Staff turned up trumps”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Staying in Premier Inn next door we decided to eat here arriving at 7pm. It was Fathers' Day and the place looked like a disaster area. Had to queue up for 20 minutes to order drinks and food and waited maybe 40 mins for it to arrive. All the staff appeared to be stressed out and we were thinking that we should have gone elsewhere. However when the food came it was spot on. My mixed grill was excellent and even the steak had been cooked to my request (medium). So well done to all the staff who were on that night - praise well deserved.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average at a push.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel next door on business, not much around so had to eat in here for 3 nights. Average at best. Food was bog standard, first night steak was overcooked, asked for medium rare, came well done... Mentioned it and was told a manager would speak to me, never came. Second night... Meal quite nice, enjoyed it much more. Third night had the buffet. Great idea, Luke warm food. Not enought staff, or the staff that are here don't really clear tables or get you a refill. Went to the bat to get a drink and someone was given my table. Was moved immediately... Still a small inconvenience though. If you want quick easy pub grub then this place is fine, but all in all wasn't the best experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice beer, nice staff, nice idea, shame about the food....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Very open and not overly busy. Staff were very nice and polite is such a shame that they are let down by extremely poor food quality. Tkitchen staff would have to produce a miracle to cover the appauling quality of their stock. Burgers dry and tasteless, mayo is whipped up vegetable oil. Pate is just a joke... Avoid eating here for dinner if you can. Nice cold beer though and nice staff that have to bear the brunt of complaints due to head office cutting corners on quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Cheap, yet surprisingly OK!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is where you go if you just want to eat, because you're hungry! Cheap, plentiful and also tasty food. Most of it fried, microwaved or grilled but for the money its a bargain. Don't come here for a special occasion, you wont get it. But for a feed you cant go wrong!!,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewers Fayre Cepen Park also viewed

 
Chippenham, Wiltshire
 

Been to Brewers Fayre Cepen Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brewers Fayre Cepen Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.