We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place, Chippenham SNI5 3HD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wolverhampton, Uk
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed for 1 night May 2013.

I had a twin room in the new annex and the room is great. Very clean, great large TV, comfy bed and chairs.

Only two things let the room down, the shower is off the taps and is not very good tbh and the curtains dont shut properly and the sun streams in from around 6 am. Ideally this room needs the white roller blind replacing with a darker one.

Did not eat in but had one bottle of cider which was £5.

Breakfast was cooked to order with continental buffet all very nice.

The staff are very attentive and helpful.

Ideal location for visiting Corsham.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    126
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
53
109
10
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

had a lovely 3 night stay with family & friends. room was very clean & comfortable. food was lovely too. the sunday lunch was great value. nice heated swimming pool. couldn't fault it. all pros no cons

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We have been using the Angel for year en route to Cornwall but this time we had a weekend there visiting the lovely area and Bath. It's very friendly, has a nice indoor pool and gym for stretching after or before a journey. They let us take the dog in the nice ground floor courtyard rooms and the food is good too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake district, England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights over the weekend and had a very pleasant visit. We had a lovely bedroom with lots of character and a super comfortable bed. We dined here on one evening and had a very nice meal. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed in the Bromham Room. It is a lovely light and spacious room with nice decor. We found it a little noisy at night but seeing as it is located on the street side of the hotel the noise was generally from people on their way home so didn't last long. The rooms and hotel are kept very clean and tidy. Food and drinks a little pricey.ie: £12.75 for Full English Breakfast. The staff were so polite and helpful especially Chloe who was working in the restaurant when we dined at the hotel on the Friday evening. She worked extremely hard and although she was really busy was never rude or impatient, a little star.
Would definately recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Bromham was a good room but dont think any would dissappoint
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice clean hotel with new facilities and well equipped rooms. I felt it was expensive compared to others locally and had problems with signal on wifi . Great location with access to town centre at front door and good parking at rear. If you pay 80 pounds then its good but at 120 ish too much I would say. Only other issue was that there seems to be codes for lots of services around hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed here for a week on business and was impressed with the overall feel of the place. It's in a lovely old building, with modern annexes, which gives it some character as well as modern amenities.

The receptionist was helpful and welcoming, although one evening I had to wait a good five minutes as nobody was in sight and I had left my key there in the morning.

I was allocated a room in the newer annexe, very handy for the gym and swimming pool. The room was large and classy, with proper wooden furniture. It appeared to be equipped for wheelchair users which could account for the generous proportions of the room and especially the bathroom.

Towels were large and fluffy and there was a kettle with good supplies of tea, coffee, milk and sugar, and unusually these days, biscuits.

The only things missing were a bedside clock radio and a safe.

The breakfast buffet contained the usual selection, and a nice touch was that hot breakfast was cooked to order. Although this did mean a short wait, it meant that it was fresh and hot - personally I much prefer this over the breakfast buffet.

I did not dine in the restaurant as there was a very limited selection for vegetarians. There are a few nice restaurants within a short walk: during the week we tried the Taj Mahal, the Tapas restaurant and the Gladstone Arms, all of which were good value and quality.

The swimming pool is small but adequate and I had it to myself before dinner, although the gym seemed quite busy. You have to sign to say that you've read the rules and collect a combination from reception - it was a pity we weren't told about this on checking in as it would have saved a walk across the courtyard in the cold to collect the combination.

I imagine the courtyard would be a pleasant place for drinks in the summer.

I would stay here again either on business or if holidaying in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are handy for the swimming pool and gym although it means you have to go outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel

Address: Market Place, Chippenham SNI5 3HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chippenham
Chippenham Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel Chippenham, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.