We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Market Place, Chippenham SNI5 3HD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Helpful and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Stay just the one night last minute due to a breakdown.
Lady on reception (from Bodmin) sorry cant remember her name help me get a room, taking into consideration my circumstances.
Room was clean and tidy.
As it was late I didn't use any facilities but a nice atmosphere around the hotel.
Breakfast had a nice selection and the staff were friendly again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    126
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
53
109
10
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The hotel was great. We stayed for 10 days and it was always very clean. The staff were very attentive and polite. The breakfast buffet was good, although on occasion it could have done with being replenished. All in all a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I have been staying at the Angel a few days for the last 6 months and thought it would be a good idea to record my impressions.

Best bits: The hotel is in a great location, has lovely decor and the staff are fantastic. There is free wifi which is great when travelling for business. The showers are great, beds comfy and rooms are a good size. There is also free parking. You can also use the gym and pool for free.

Things to improve: the menu is in need of updating as for the price I would expect a higher quality. The rooms can get cold as there is no air conditioning/heating, something to address this (particularly in the new annexe) would be good. Finally having to take the case up and downstairs was a bit cumbersome again in the new part a lift would help!

The hotel has a lovely character to it, I think it's from 1700s, and the owners seem to have worked to preserve this. the staff are a delight and respond very well to requests and feedback, they go the extra mile to provide a personal service. The times I have stayed at the Angel have been very comfortable and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had a great room overlooking the market square which was superb. Very luxurious and quiet. The hotel was not too busy when we were there and the service on reception and in the restaurant was excellent. The food in the restaurant was very good with a wide selection available for evening meals and breakfast freshly cooked to order. The hotel had a lovely garden which was a great spot for taking afternoon tea or a pre-dinner drink. All in all we really enjoyed our stay and would certainly come again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building which was great. More rooms are available in a modern extension which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We spent two nights at the Angel as we were visiting the area for a wedding. The room was spacious, very clean , comfortable and with all of the amenities I would expect. The staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was very good, with plenty of choice. The drinks were expensive, as most hotels seem to be , but there are plenty local pubs to offset this. The gym facilities were limited and could easily be improved /upgraded and the swimming pool was good. The hotel is in the centre of town with easy access to all other amenities

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were allocated a room in the main hotel building (dating circa 1700s) and our initial impression upon entering the room was "wow, we have really lucked out". Absolutely lovely room with period features overlooking the Chippenham Market Place (see pictures). Room rather clean, with exception of some mould in the bathroom.

However our toilet did not flush, and rather embarrassingly did not discover this until after using it. Took two hours for the hotel to fix this issue as the manger was "busy seeing to wedding arrangements".

We made the mistake of not checking the rest of the plumbing and the next morning were surprised by a shower that struggled to provide lukewarm water and blasted us with the occasional shot of freezing cold water.

No compensation or goodwill gesture from the manager. Only an apology from the poor overworked lady at checkout.

Real shame as would have loved to return here. Change of management needed.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard may be noisy due to events such as weddings taking place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good location to explore Bath and the surrounding area. Rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The restaurant is pleasant and they have a courtyard to enjoy a drink. The pool and gym are also very good and as the hotel is right in the centre of town, it's easy to explore the surrounding area.

Yes, it is confusing to find the hotel as other contributors have commented. If you are coming from the North follow the town centre signs and then follow the signs for Bath going under an arch (looks like a viaduct) and when you go under it there is a group of trees directly in front of you (referred to locally as an 'island'). Go round the island and you will see the brown sign for The Angel.

This was a great stay and we will definitely go again to explore Bath in more detail (12 minutes by train)! Wells is also worth a visit too if you have a few days to spare.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel

Address: Market Place, Chippenham SNI5 3HD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Chippenham
Chippenham Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel Chippenham, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.