We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and beautiful room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peterborough Arms

The Peterborough Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chippenham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Peterborough Arms
Save
You added The Peterborough Arms to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Dauntsey Lock, Chippenham, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 32 Chippenham B&B and Inns
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and beautiful room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed for one night on route from London to Cardiff and were given a wonderfully warm welcome from the barlady who showed us to our room (the Kingfisher), which was huge! It was beautifully decorated, under the eaves although with plenty of headroom, and had a leather sofa and TV - which would be great if you were staying for longer. The food in the evening was fantastic - Trevor's a really good cook and sources quality ingredients. We particularly recommend the pate as a starter, and his homecooked ribs. We had a lovely evening with real ale and friendly locals. Breakfast the next day was equally high quality, and the coffee delicious.

Contrary to the review below, the landlords have changed their plans, and are now staying for the foreseeable future. They are the perfect hosts - getting the balance just right between providing attentive service and also leaving you in peace. The Peterborough Arms makes a great stop off from the M4 or would be a friendly place to stay and explore the beautiful Wiltshire countryside. We would thoroughly recommend it as a place to stay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
5
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoddesdon, Herts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were looking for a crash pad for a week whilst house hunting in the Chippenham area and came across The Peterborough Arms on the internet. What a find !!
The couple who own and run the pub are fantastic as was the girl serving behind the bar and the locals who were more than happy to have a chat over a pint in the evening. We were advised when booking that the room (we booked the 'Family' room) is a little tired but for us it was brilliant. Apparently all of the guest rooms are being renovated over time so this one will also have a lick of paint. It was very spacious with more than enough room for a large double and two singles. Not to mention two additional seating areas and the en-suite. We had all the space we needed and more......Next FOOD....even if you don't stay at the P Arms, please drop in for a bite to eat. The food is fantastic and cooked fresh on the premesis, we were really surprised by the quality and diversity of the menu with no request being too much trouble - even at 7:30 am when we were having breakfast. My youngest daughter still raves about her 'extra sausage'
All in all, great pub, great room, great food, very welcoming staff and a great pint of real beer. When our house move to Wiltshire finally goes through I'll be popping back to the P Arms for a pint or two and a very decent meal.
Oh .... I nearly forgot the pub dog...Bramble....give him a pat (just don't feed him!!!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

A warm greeting and great food make this a wonderful place to stop and rest. The ales are extremely well kept too. The rooms are clean and spacious, but not new or modern so don't expect that. We only regret we only had one night to stay at the Peterborough, we'll be back anytime we can!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed the night whilst visiting friends and what a B+B , we were made welcome by Trevor and Linda, the room was huge , the food was absolutely Brilliant, and i loved their LAGER. We will definitely recommend this B+B and we will be staing there again when we visit our friends .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

stayed for one night in May 2010. Made to feel very welcome by trevor and linda. We were shown to the Heron suite and were very pleased - very large room complete with its own ghost with a liking for a cuppa (the kettle turned on all by itself early in the morning!). We had a lovely evening meal cooked by Trevor himself and also a huge cooked breakfast. Great choice of beers and the pub seems to have lots of things going on in the evening, even a cinema club! Didnt have time to explore the local area in any detail but it looks very nice. great pub with very friendly patrons. thanks!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This inn has everything you will enjoy, from ideal location for days out to NT, country parks,
tourist attractions, and shopping in Bath,etc (if you have time),and at the end of the day on return to your base, your hosts will endevour in everyway to see that your relaxation is complete with a menu fit for many a top class hotel, the selection of dishes plus specials
we were spoilt for choise, the bar is well kept and varied, and when you decide to retire
you room is comfortable,clean, and peaceful. We are already going to book a return trip!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, ours is the Kingfisher
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St Edmunds, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The title, I think, says it all. This was a wonderful find booked for myself, my husband and parents whilst visiting other members of our family. The whole trip was fantastic - the rooms are clean and spacious and the breakfast just incredible (you can pick and choose what you have, but if you go for everything, prepare not to eat again till the evening!). We were fortunate to have dinner there on the Saturday night and were treated to some real gourmet dining, Trevor really knows how to cook a steak properly. They also know how to keep their beers well and we had some great local beers to try out as well.

I could continue on for ages but will end my review with a simple comment, if you're considering booking The Peterborough Arms - do it!! Much better value in my mind than some soul-less Travel Lodge.....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peterborough Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peterborough Arms

Address: Dauntsey Lock, Chippenham, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peterborough Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peterborough Arms Country Inn & Restaurant is a Wadworth public house operated by tenants Linda and Trevor Money. Formerly a professional couple, Linda and Trevor have successfully operated both public and private businesses. Their passion for affordable high quality is the main asset of the Peterborough and this is underpinned by the excellent real ales, wines and beautiful food on offer. Friendly, unassuming and consistent are words that describe the Peterborough experience and atmosphere and all are welcome - families and well behaved dogs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Peterborough Arms Chippenham, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peterborough Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.