We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Cut above the rest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of London Road Guest Accommodation

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added London Road Guest Accommodation to your Saves list
London Road Guest Accommodation
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   245 London Road, Chippenham SN15 3AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Chippenham B&B and Inns
Kent, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Cut above the rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just back from our weekend visiting friends in Chippenham, and our 2 night stay with Jean and Mkie at their delightful peaceful self-catering accommodation within easy reach of the town and many local attractions - we spent a day at the National Trust Estate at Lacock Abbey. We received at warm welcome from our hosts who showed us around our lovely apartment which forms an annexe to their own home. A big bonus which makes this B&B a cut above the rest is the amount of space - separate fully furnished lounge and well equipped kitchen (stocked with all the ingredients for a Full Wiltshire breakfast plus home baked bread to your choice. Off-road parking and a peaceful garden setting add to the ambience and make us keen to return at the first opportunity. Full marks!

Room Tip: Book early to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at London Road Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Many thanks for your lovely review. Mike and I are pleased you both enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will be "hosts" to you again when visiting your friends, with a freshly baked loaf that seems to go down well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
21
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

What a wonderful place to stay for our first visit to the UK! Our hosts, Mike & Jean, greeted us with a very warm welcome after which we were shown around the extremely comfortable, self-contained annexe. The kitchen was well equipped and the pantry well stocked. The excellent internet facilities allowed us to keep in touch with our loved ones back home. The garden of colourful flowers and ripening fruit and vegetables was beautifully kept and added to the peace and serenity of our surroundings. Chippenham is a lovely village within easy driving distance of many interesting and historical sites. Our only regret is that we did not stay longer. We highly recommend this B&B and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeancollom, Owner at London Road Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thankyou so much for your kind review. Mike and I are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us especially being your 1st trip to England.
The garden is looking very pretty at this time of year especially around the pond. We have relined it and replanted it.

Maybe one day you will come back to England and visit us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle (Saale), Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

To us, this is the English B&B we had dreamt about. Very friendly hosts who care about all your needs, cosy athmosphere, excellent rooms, i.e. living room, bedroom, kitchen. The kitchen is equipped perfectly, no details missing. Delicious full English breakfast with superb home-made bread. If we would have known all this, we would have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeancollom, Owner at London Road Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, April 11, 2012
Thanks very much for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope that the rest of your holiday went well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed there for a weekend, friendly welcome from Mike and Jean, and they were most helpful during are enjoyable stay. Accommodation is excellent, and the home made bread is delicious. Will recomment to friends if they are going that way.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeancollom, Owner at London Road Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thankyou for your kind review. Mike and I are glad you enjoyed your stay and your Nephews wedding went well.
I would also like to say thankyou for leaving my annex so clean and tidy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

At short notice we discovered this terrific self contained B & B (using Trip Advisor and following the reviews). Like others after one night we wished we were staying longer. Jean & Mike have thought of everything you would need for a home away from home. Mike is a retired Chef (but still doing outside catering and will cook for you with notice) and Jean is a professional gardener (the small garden outside the unit is delightful and in Spring/Summer I am sure is amazing). They are very friendly and lay back, just the right balance as immediate neighbours to the unit. The unit is wonderfully clean and the bed linen is superb, the bed is super comfy.
If you were staying for a good length of time you would find the kitchen is brilliant for cooking even a roast dinner, cooking a cake even....there is everything there....even a dishwasher. Mike and Jean leave all the fresh ingredients in the refrigerator so you can cook your own cooked breakfast when you want, unlike other B & B's where you are perhaps locked into a set time. This includes sausages, bacon, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms and fresh juice....and the wonderful home made fresh bread which greets you on arrival.
As others have mentioned the bathroom is a bit different....a deep walk in shower/bath (an elderly family member in the past needed this provision), the shower has a good supply of hot water. There are top quality toiletries in the bathroom.
Finding the house, which is on a busy road, can be a bit tricky but once you are around the back where the unit is, there is absolutely no sound from the road. Off road parking for one car. Looking through the guest register comments you can see how many people who have had longer stays have enjoyed all the unit has to offer. Speak to Mike and Jean about a better price on a weekly stay. We do hope to return for a nice long stay next time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeancollom, Owner at London Road Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thankyou for your delightful review.
Mike and I are glad you enjoyed your stay albeit short.
Yes Mike will cook guests a lovely evening meal if requested well in advance. He will talk to you on the phone to find out your likes and dislikes.

The bathroom was fitted out for my Mother but can easily be used for anybody, particularly as a shower unit. We have constant hot water through our combi boiler.

The Daffodils are looking very pretty in the pots just outside the french doors.

Please visit again and thankyou for leaving the apartment so clean and tidy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed at this fine guest house for one night only, but I wish I'd have stayed longer. The annex I stayed in was absoloutely perfect, really spacious, as you get a living room, bedroom, bathroom and kitchen, it's really good value for money. Mike & Jean, (the owners), are two of the nicest people I've ever had the privilege of meeting, they made my stay extra-special, they were friendly and extremely helpful. I had dinner there, and breakfast the following morning, and both times the food was first class, Mike is an amazing chef. I would give this guest house maximum stars, it really was the best guest house I've ever stayed in, and I shall be going back soon, perfect!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

After a hectic day in London, how fantastic to arrive here to a warm reception from Jean and Mike. The accomodation is superb, the setting so relaxing, and the home made bread delicious! I think next time I will sample Mikes culinary delights. I would definitely recommend this place to anybody visiting the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to London Road Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Road Guest Accommodation

Address: 245 London Road, Chippenham SN15 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London Road Guest Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely view of the garden was taken from the lounge of the guest accomodation, our guests are welcome to use the garden to relax after a day exploring. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your London Road Guest Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Road Guest Accommodation Chippenham, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London Road Guest Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.