We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Box Guest House

Red Box Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chippenham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Box Guest House
35 Buckingham Road | Pewsham, Chippenham SN15 3TE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 31 Chippenham B&B and Inns
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderfully friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Julie Ann Barrows was so kind and helpful to me, from picking me up at the train station to giving me lots of excellent advice on how to visit Avebury and other sites in the area. Reasonable priced and excellent breakfast with eggs from her own lovely chickens. Hope to be back someday.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    29
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
31
30
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

I enjoyed my overnight stay at the red box bed and breakfast, I slept like a log.
Julie Ann was very helpful and offered information about the area we were visiting printing off a map and she even drew a horse on it, explaining where we would get a good view of the downs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed here twice over two weekends. Julie Ann made us feel at home even after a long journey. Rooms are very well decorated and confortable. Breakfeast is hunge for the cost. Will be staying again as got family near by.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Getting a four day break as the Social Director of the 2011 Pigeye Jackson tour, a chaotic maelstrom to say the least, I found the Red Box to be the best ever B and B. It's quiet, cozy and so comfy. Julie-Anne is most accommodating with help on maps, directions, recommendations and even a quiet pause on the patio. The water is unforgettable, and the breakfast (I was told since my doc doesn't want me to eat it) was remarkable. She is one of the most agreeable people you could ever meet and a delight to talk to. She even showed up to the Pigeye Jackson performance on Fri. night with two wonderful friends to see what the commotion was all about. I needed the rest and respite and I got it. If I'd wanted, I could have jumped into the Tardis to travel time--would have done if Freema would have been there to help. Bed was comfy, water was delicious and the appointments in the room were complete. For the money, the best ever. I wouldn't have survived Pigeye's irrasible behaviour had it not been for this rest. Superb.

Room Tip: All appear to be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

I have stayed at the Red Box Guest House twice now and look forward to returning next year. The breakfast is excellent, the rooms are clean and comfortable and Julie-ann is unfailiingly welcoming and helpful. Unfortunately for me my trip coincided with a very painful bad back and Julie-ann could not have been kinder or more sympathetic - she even tied my shoelaces for me in the morning when I simply couldn't reach them!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Small B&B in a modern estate house on the Calne side of Chippenham. Takes a bit of effort to find but the red pillar box is a good landmark and Julie Ann is very helpful with directions into town and back, and with anything else you could possiby want from a B&B.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

The first surprise is that the guest house is in a very quiet location on a residential estate and therefore not like a B&B at all. You feel as though you are entering someone's home, which in fact you are. Julie-ann runs this business because she enjoys meeting new people and gets satisfaction from making them feel comfortable and welcome. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room provided everything one would expect, The breakfast menu was huge and as the hens are in the garden, you know you will get fresh eggs. The only downside is that you have to share the bathroom, but I can't imagine that this would prove a problem with just three bedrooms and a maximum of four guests.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Box Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Box Guest House

Address: 35 Buckingham Road | Pewsham, Chippenham SN15 3TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Chippenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you. The house is a modern Bradstone home positioned in a quiet cul-de-sac. There is off road parking and a wonderfully restored 1936 red telephone box on the drive. There is easy access to the M4, Bath, Bristol and Swindon. The house is centrally heated throughout and has two newly decorated guest bedrooms. We serve a good selection of hot and cold breakfast options and also cater for vegetarians. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Box Guest House Chippenham, Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Box Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Red Box Guest House to your Saves list