We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Toby Carvery Hinton

Toby Carvery Hinton
Lyndhurst Road, Hinton, Christchurch BH23 4SD, England
+44 1425 273202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 140 Restaurants in Christchurch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Hinton. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Christchurch's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hit and Miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

As we eat at a number of Toby Carvery restaurants we measure them all by our favourite "Old Windsor" Berkshire. Unfortunately this carvery in my opinion is a little hit and miss when it comes to quality. The waiting staff are excellent and will always try to rectify any problem. If only the management could get a consistently good quality product to the paying customers they would have a success on their hands as it is easily accessible with plenty of parking, and incredible value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    69
    56
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The carvery was nice, Just a few small problems; The mash was instant, hard and could of been reheated? and the seat where I sat had a big hole. The whole restaurant was very busy with a queue at the door. Just a average carvery chain. Was also £9 on a sunday.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Visit this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Happy, friendly staff. Fresh, wholesome food. Excellent value. Visit tobycarvery.co.uk to get the latest vouchers for extra value

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good quality and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our first visit to a Toby carvery and were very impressed, we were seated within minuets of arrival at the front of house, we were introduced to the waitress who was going to look after us, she asked if we would like something to drink before checking out the menu, we like this approach as it doesn't make you feel hurried as some places do. The bottle of wine selected arrived quickly. After looking at the menu and checking out the carvery we plumped for the carvery and we were not disappointed the yorkshire pudding was huge, the veg was well presented and regularly changed to keep it fresh the cauliflour cheese was especialy nice. We were so happy we returned the next day to sample some of the other offerings. I had the salmon which was nice if not a little over cooked, my wife had the chicken ceaser salad this was outstanding and a nice alternative if you find a roast a little to much.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We arrived at 1200 am & were seated by a excellent employee named Tanya,who was also our server.Went to the carvery & served by Norbert who was great.Meal was of a high standard & Pud also.One small problem was the Ladies Loo not brilliant so spoke to Sonia (Manager) who stated she would get it rectified.Hopefully this has been seen to & would advise a visit but avoid real busy periods.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Hinton also viewed

 

Been to Toby Carvery Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby Carvery Hinton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.