We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toby Carvery Hinton

Toby Carvery Hinton
Lyndhurst Road, Hinton, Christchurch BH23 4SD, England
+44 1425 273202
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 132 Restaurants in Christchurch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to the Toby Carvery Hinton. When it comes to roast dinners, we really know our stuff. Every day our chefs lay on a feast of tender, hand-carved meats with all the trimmings - including towering Yorkshire puds, golden roasties with all those lovely little crunchy bits, and plenty of freshly prepared veg, all crowned with proper gravy. So it's no wonder we're Christchurch's favourite carvery restaurant. Drop by and you'll find lots more on offer, including cooked breakfasts and tasty specials.
Bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good quality and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was our first visit to a Toby carvery and were very impressed, we were seated within minuets of arrival at the front of house, we were introduced to the waitress who was going to look after us, she asked if we would like something to drink before checking out the menu, we like this approach as it doesn't make you feel hurried as some places do. The bottle of wine selected arrived quickly. After looking at the menu and checking out the carvery we plumped for the carvery and we were not disappointed the yorkshire pudding was huge, the veg was well presented and regularly changed to keep it fresh the cauliflour cheese was especialy nice. We were so happy we returned the next day to sample some of the other offerings. I had the salmon which was nice if not a little over cooked, my wife had the chicken ceaser salad this was outstanding and a nice alternative if you find a roast a little to much.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    59
    49
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We arrived at 1200 am & were seated by a excellent employee named Tanya,who was also our server.Went to the carvery & served by Norbert who was great.Meal was of a high standard & Pud also.One small problem was the Ladies Loo not brilliant so spoke to Sonia (Manager) who stated she would get it rectified.Hopefully this has been seen to & would advise a visit but avoid real busy periods.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leighton buzzard
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“typical Toby Carvery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our first visit to this carvery but we have been to many others. The quality of the meat was very good, as usual but no horseradish among the sauces. Also some of the veg dishes were running very low. I think we hit a busy time 5.30pm Saturday although the wait for our table was only about 10 minutes.
Good value, especially if you have the carvery meal and have a voucher to use to get a cheap pudding or free ice cream.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Went with friends early evening. Short wait to be seated. Greater by extremely pleasant waitress. Good explanation of menu options. My wife chose vegetation option which was timed to arrive with our main course.

Food was plentiful and of good quality. Price was very reasonable.
In all a very acceptable venue for a casual evening out with friends.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Poor Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The service was poor, after seating us, it took 20 minutes to take our drink order. As we didn't want the Carvery, we had to wait another long time until they produced cutlery. We were then told we would have a long wait for food as the Carvery was more important. When the order arrived, it was wrong. Never had such bad service

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Hinton also viewed

 

Been to Toby Carvery Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby Carvery Hinton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.