We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are well travelled and know the taste of Asia then this place is not for you” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Sun Thai & Pan-Asian

The Rising Sun Thai & Pan-Asian
123, Purewell, Christchurch BH23 1EJ, England
01202 486122
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 129 Restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $16 - $31
Cuisines: Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: winner of Best pub or wine bar and Best business lunch, the Rising Sun Thai Restaurant in Christchurch is the place to eat drink and enjoy. Come and experience the best in pan asian cuisine with drinking premium brand spirits, top wines or maybe a nice real ale.
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you are well travelled and know the taste of Asia then this place is not for you”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Although the pub/restaurant was quite nice and friendly,the food was very disappointing.
The taste was not great. It's thai food for people who haven't eaten authentic thai cuisine.
Its lacks the depth and flavour of true thai cuisine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    37
    13
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“An amazing Thai cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this restaurant many times and I will be dining there for as long as I can.
Have tried few dishes but one is my favourite
Mr Pooms Special Noodles is to die for.
If you like your food spicy and hot go for three red peppers which indicates the level of spice! Truly delicious and filling :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great thai food, friendly staff, worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I have known about this place for a number of years but since I moved away from the area in 1991 and only come back to see family a couple of times a year, I just hadn't got round to it! So when friends picked us up and suggested we go there I was delighted. Food was very good, maybe not quite as chilli hot as I would like but we had the salt and chilli crab, then the beef raendang. My wife had the spicy squid and then the salt and chilli prawns. Good portion sizes, so don't order too many side dishes as you wont need them. Good wine choices - we went for the Reisling which is great with spicy food. If you are in the area on holiday and fancy something different it is worth a visit and I can imagine would be great in the summer as has a lovely outdoor area

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Used to eat here a a while ago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Decided to have a snap Monday night out, sorted out a baby sitter and walked round to our local Thai, The restaurant was quiet, the waitress however decided to sit us between two other couples in one corner, they did let us move, but the staff need to understand how to load up a restaurant. When you want a romantic dinner you don't want others right next to you in an otherwise empty place!!!!

Notwithstanding this we opted for a set menu and a bottle of Pinot Grigio and a set menu, The food is very good and lots of if, I feel it has been turned down half a notch for a western palate. Different to my other review. Still very good and plenty of it, the restaurant is well decorated and has the right feel. suggest booking for a weekend etc. Good wine list. Excellent value for money if I was spending £50-60 a couple with wine etc then this is great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Much better than I remembered!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Not been to the Rising Sun for years as last couple of meals were not that good. Passing by so decided to give it another try for a weekday lunch. It has a 2 course menu for £9.95 which means you basically get the starter free. The interior has been nicely refurbished and the staff were prompt and friendly. The big issue before was the Thai food which did not seem authentic compared to other Thai restaurants - well I am happy to report it does now! Both the starters and mains were well presented, tasty and piping hot. So 2 people can dine for lunch with drinks for under £40 - good VFM. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun Thai & Pan-Asian also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 

Been to The Rising Sun Thai & Pan-Asian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Sun Thai & Pan-Asian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.