We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebrating A Level Results” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mamma

La Mamma
51-53 Bridge Street, Christchurch BH23 1DY, England
01202-471608
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 132 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Celebrating A Level Results”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visit La Mamas a few times a year and have always been impressed. This time it was not quite there.
The food as always was good and with two grandparents, the two of us and three teenagers all eating getting 7 out of 7 good meals is as always what we get at La Mamas.
This time though they did not appear overly full but the staff appeared very busy. We decided not to have a dessert in the end as we had been there so long. Whilst the company was good and we drank and ate well the service was just too slow and we did not feel looked after. The usual surprise sparkler and Congratulations music was a nice finish. Yes we will be back as I am sure this was just a glitch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    15
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Mamma wouldn't like this!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We were travelling around this area for a few days and were using Tripadvisor to find recommended restaurants. We read the reviews on La Mamma & were expecting good Italian food. Oh dear, maybe the chef was having a night off because all we can say was the food was below average, bland and expensive for what we got! We both started with minestrone soup - very unappetising & served too hot. I then had a pizza which looked and tasted as if it had been bought from the supermarket & reheated. My wife's spaghetti Bolognese was bland, not seasoned correctly & not a hint of garlic! Not a restaurant we would recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not so great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Last visited La Mamma in August 2011. We were expecting the same high standard as before, however we were disappointed. The kids had spag bol and we had pasta dishes.....the portions were a little on the small size and considering the price £9 plus we thought this was unfair. I had a side salad £3.95 and nothing special again very disappointing. The kids had profiteroles for pudding and I had a banana split........never again, cheap and nasty cream from a squirty bottle, this anhilated the poor banana which was invisible due to the horrid glut all over it. For a meal for the four of us.....ie, 4 x mains (all pasta), 2 x garlic bread portions, 1x side salad, 4 x puddings plus 2 soft drinks and 3 alcoholic the bill came to the princely sum of £87.......very expensive. I also found some of the staff quite pushy with trying to sell us coffee afterwards, this wasn`t on and the waiter seemed miffed when we said "no". The following night for our sins we thought we would try the takeaway pizzas..........bad move, £39 for 4 x medium size pizzas that we didn`t enjoy or rate.......Next visit to Mudeford, we will sadly not be visiting La Mammas..it`s a shame because the location and the restaurant setting was fantastic. The food was a real let down, we won`t be going back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best Italian food I've eaten outside Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is the best Italian food that I've tasted outside Italy. The pasta goes down well with the children and I love the fish. All together a very pleasing and authentic experience. Why go to one of the chains when this is heaps better? It's quite crowded and noisy on busy nights but that simply adds to the Italian experience and creates atmosphere. Love it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous".”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Just had our anniversary meal here' food divine and service great,,,very good price highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mamma also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to La Mamma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mamma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.