We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Splinters

Splinters
12 Church Street, Christchurch BH23 1BW, England
01202 483454
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 140 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $14 - $57
Cuisines: French, British, English, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Splinters is the ideal place for you to enjoy a first class dining experience in our private dining restaurant situated on the cobbled street leading to Christchurch's Priory.Specialising in modern international cuisine, our chefs and professional staff will certainly make your visit to us a memorable one.We will first welcome you to the bar where you can quietly peruse the excellent food and wine menus. When you are ready, you will be shown through to one of our intimate dining rooms, each with their own distinctive style, to enjoy your meal in a relaxed and unrushed atmosphere.We have worked hard to earn our reputation with our patrons who enjoy dining out on fine food. Our proximity to the Priory makes Splinters an extremely popular choice for wedding receptions. The same private rooms also make an excellent business meeting and seminar facility.Whatever the occasion, you can be assured you will receive our full and professional attention to making sure you enjoy your time with us.The owners, Paul and Agnes Putt, look forward to welcoming you to Splinters.
Balleroy, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Business Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The service is surperb, the food excellent and for lunch reasonably priced, even bank manager approved

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    25
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“New Years Eve 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have been here previously for a meal but never before on New Years Eve. We were told that you could come in fancy dress, we did'nt but there was a motley crew dressed as military types, pirates, transvestities etc and a burglar.

A Scottish piper had been organised outside Splinters who piped us in, which was a nice touch and later on he came in and gave us a blast, or should that be wail, of the pipes.

We were shown to our cosy table with our friends (there were four of us) and we then proceeded to work our way through the courses. I actually lost count, I think there were four or five courses in total, the main course steak was cooked to perfection. The whole meal was to a very high standard indeed - well done chef(s) and staff (especially the 'Weegie' and Polish ladies).

By the time we finished the food and a bottle of wine, it was time to go outside and as Splinters is close to Christchurch Priory, it was wonderful to hear the bells of the Priory at mid-night and a free fireworks show from somewhere nearby and it was'nt raining for once!

The local police and police van were stationed in the lane outside Splinters and I can report that they finally felt somebodys collar in 2012 - the burglar in fancy dress.

Would definately come back to Splinters for another New Years Eve party - it was good value for money.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was my first visit to this establishment, and we spent a very pleasant evening.The initial welcome from the owner David was very friendly and courteous, which is always a plus, when visiting a restaurant for the first time. The menu had a small, but sufficient choice, whether a fish/meat or poultry lover, everything was available.
The service was quick and efficient, but the real winner here is the quality of the food. Would most certainly return, and could honestly recommend this restaurant to anybody who enjoys eating good good.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good food and lovely service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

On a last-minute visit to Bournemouth, we couldn't get in any of the other 'big name' restaurants, but the manager here volunteered to keep us on a waiting list if anything opened up. As it happened, it did. And we were delighted to take their last table. The food was excellent, as we expected from the other reviews. TBH we rely more in Michelin than TA, where all sorts vent their spleen. Certainly one to book ahead.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Way To Pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This restaurant is a bit pretentious and seems to be living a bit on past glory's. The way the the place is laid out into pine booths is a bit old fashioned and not that comfortable. The menu is interesting but the food disappointing, especially considering how much they charge. The manager/owner is very keen to talk about his connections with famous chef's but I am afraid that the food in this establishment does not cut the mustard in either quality, presentation or taste. If this seems a little harsh please be assured that my comments are not written lightly and but with consideration for the overall experience. I realise that it might clash with other reviews but one can only speak about one actual experience at the time!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul P, General Manager at Splinters, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
I am very disappointed to hear that you have not enjoyed your Splinters experiences. It is even more disappointing that this has not been highlighted on the night but now 3 months later a review comes up on trip advisor.

We pride our self not on past accolades or visiting "famous" people but on the quality of both the food and service that we provide - which is recognised and recommended by both the Michelin and AA Guide books for 2012/2013.

The "Pine booths" are the original booths that where hand carved by the owner 49 years ago when fitting the restaurant out. Whilst he was doing this his hands became covered in Splinters - hence the name. I think it would be rather up setting to remove this character and history from this grade 1 listed building. However should you find them uncomfortable then we do have more open dining areas that may suit.

We want every one of our guests to enjoy their experience. If you would like to contact me directly I would very much appreciate an opportunity to discuss your visit in detail.

David Putt
01202 483 454
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splinters also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Splinters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splinters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.