We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Captain's Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Captain's Club Hotel to your Saves list
The Captain's Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Christchurch
Northamptonshire, England
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

We booked this hotel well in advance in order to be able to visit the International Autojumble at Beaulieu, as most hotels in the area seem to be full (the Boat Show is on at Southampton same week end!) and have had to stay as far afield as Southampton in the past.
On arrival we were very pleasantly surprised. The Hotel is right on the river, opposite a park, check in was friendly and immediate and although a wedding party was expected, we managed to find two car parking spaces in the car park.
Our three bed apartment was perfect for our requirements. We had decided to eat dinner and breakfasts in the dining room, albeit facilities for self catering were very good. We did keep ourselves supplied with tea, coffee nibbles etc., but had we been staying for more than two nights, would have availed ourselves of this well equipped kitchen area.
The style was modern, comfortable, looked nearly new, and very clean.
The only draw back was the twin bed room although having a roof window, was, extremely hot and airless. This was an obvious problem as a fan was strategically placed but too noisy to have on all night.
Another negative, (but as we were family not too disruptive,) two bedrooms had to share a bathroom, only one en suite.
Loads of fresh towels, (no tea towels though) usual toiletries (not too keen personally on choice,of these) bath robes, slippers.
The food was very good indeed, however the staff did get it wrong a couple of times with the menu choices, and our first meal was delayed, but this was soon rectified without us making any comment, by offering free coffees and liqueurs! Which frankly they did not have to do, but was a refreshing change!
Our only gripe about the dining room, was it is not sectioned off enough from the very busy bar area, and with live music too loud, it was very difficult to have a conversation.
Added to which the decor and flooring did not lend itself to intimate dining.
There was a wedding party at the hotel and the noise from the terrace beneath was
quite bad up to the apartment until about 2 a.m.
We did not use the spa facilities but the pool probably described as a hydrotherapy size pool.
However, we all decided that we would stay again, as it is such a good location for exploring the beautiful surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    70
    23
    20
    9
See reviews for
68
179
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

I really wanted to give this hotel five stars. What a pity it just wasn’t possible.

This is a stylish, comfortable and friendly hotel that feels rather like a club, so it is aptly named. Situated right on the river, and with ample parking, it is in a nice location and well signposted. We were efficiently checked in and shown to an attractive two-bed, two-bath apartment-suite which was very impressive – until we got to the single bedroom, which was more like a prison cell. Small and with no windows, it relied on a skylight and only had room for a single bed, a small wardrobe and a tiny nightstand (see photo). What a pity.

The generous living area of our apartment-suite was most impressive and very nicely furnished, with a good-sized kitchen at one end, dining table and chairs in the middle, and L-shaped sofa at the glass-wall end. The entire river-side wall, the living room end, was glass and so was one wall of the double-bedroom – fantastic. But the person who was booked in for the single bedroom refused to sleep there, moving pillows and sheets into the living room in order to sleep on the sofa. What a pity.

Back downstairs, the lounge area felt spacious and inviting but what a pity that by late afternoon there were no Sunday papers left to browse, spoiling our pre-dinner anticipations for the hotel’s “Lazy Sunday” package. (At check-in we were offered a choice of newspaper for the Monday morning – we would much have preferred instead to have some Sunday papers ordered and held for our arrival – a hotel as well thought-through as this one could easily include this in their booking process.)

We were also keenly looking forward to the dazzling night scene, dramatically shown on the home page of the hotel’s website. What a pity there is actually hardly any outdoor lighting after dark, especially on the tree-lined bank just opposite; there was no river view at night, and we did feel somewhat misled, whether justified or not.

We were also optimistic about dinner in the pleasantly buzzing hotel restaurant and rightly so: every dish was outstanding, from starter to dessert. Service was both friendly and good. What a pity, then, that the pianist had little musicality, yet even insisted on trying to sing. The evening would have been much improved by simply skipping any music at all. (When most Michelin-starred restaurants, for example, do not have music, why do aspiring restaurants insist on imposing muzak on us?)

Well-pleased with our meals, we went back up to our apartment, ready for a good night’s sleep. What a pity that a disco just two floors down blasted 70s pop music for hours, forcing us to toss and turn - a hen party added to the torment - until midnight, when our torture finally ended. What sadist creates a building layout that puts a blaring disco and loud outdoor parties just a few feet away from the hotel’s best bedrooms?

The next morning, we enjoyed an unscheduled and unexpected pre-breakfast treat: a dance of 32 white swans, first gathering and sailing together on the river in front of the hotel and then all-together flying off upriver. Uplifted by this unexpected delight, we made our way to breakfast, which was first-rate, with a buffet choice of juices, cold cuts, fruits, cereals, patisseries. Hot coffee or tea is quickly brought to your table and, if full breakfast is included in your room rate, you have a good choice of hot food including a well-prepared, creamy porridge, smoked haddock, and a full English breakfast, which was very nice. Happily, there was no “what a pity” element at all here, we found everything more than satisfactory (apart from very salty bacon).

Finally off to the spa, which does not have a luxury feel but has 4 treatment rooms (need to book way ahead during prime times) and a good-sized hydrotherapy pool with strong, relaxing currents. What a pity the spa building can only be accessed through the car park (past the rubbish area) or from the upper floors of the hotel and only by walking to the far end and then up/down flights of stairs (no lift). Also, while running up and down hallways to get to breakfast and the spa, there were large bundles of soiled bedding everywhere. Ugh. How come other hotels can manage to keep these out of sight, but not here?

The spa attendants were friendly and well-trained; we all enjoyed our back massages. What a pity it closes at 6pm (on the dot) on Sundays (we arrived after 5pm for the Lazy Sunday package so had no chance of using the pool then, and had to check out shortly after our massages on Monday morning, so couldn’t use it then, either – the hotel says you can use their facilities both before their 3pm check-in and after their 11am check-out, but we did not see any changing rooms or showers and anyway didn’t fancy the extra effort involved – a major attraction of a hotel spa is being able to slip in directly from your room and in the hotel’s towelling gown, isn’t it?).

I really wanted to give this hotel 5 stars, but the negatives just did not make it feel possible to me. I considered 4 stars, but the bad piano muzak and then the raucous disco we were forced to endure on Sunday night made even my 3 stars almost too generous.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

A beautiful hotel in a lovely location with excellent staff.
We had what was described as a double suite with a separate living area, but there was no physical division between the bed and the living area. This was fine if you wanted to watch TV in bed; less good if one person was trying to sleep while the TV was on.
The only other small "niggle" was that the soft room lighting wasn't strong enough for ageing eyes to read by!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

just spent our wedding anniversary at this fantastic hotel, the staff and service was first class, very helpful and friendly. we stayed in a lovely room that had great views out over the beautiful River Stour, it was entertainment alone just watching all the comings and goings on this stretch of the river from swans to all the boats that frequent the river, very peaceful and picturesque. Our evening meal was fantastic with lovely alfresco dining out on the terrace that again overlooks the river, in the morning we had breakfast again on the terrace, it was a shame we had only booked the one night but we will definitely return as there is so much to see and do in this beautiful area of Dorset.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary and what a great time we had. Its a great place to stay even if rooms are quite expensive. We were looked after well by the staff and would like to make mention of Andy in the restaurante who made us feel very welcome and delivered us chocilates on our anniversary. the rooms are very modern with large beds. We had a river view and watching swans flying in and our of the river were a great sight. Food is the restaurante was outstandung and breakfast very hearty. We will be returning to enjoy the hotel facilities... oh and the spa is good as well... could not fault this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Perfect Retreat
We regularly stay in hotels throughout the UK and Europe and I can truly say that the Captains Club Experience raises the bar to a whole different level and is way above many of the 5 star hotels that we have stayed in. What set them apart from every other hotel in the area was the outstanding staff and the wonderful setting. The service is unparalleled; the rooms/suites are modern, large and very comfortable with outstanding views across the river. The location cannot be beaten and all the rooms seem to have river views.
Directly outside the hotel are some wonderful river walks, or if you prefer you could take one of the many boat rides up or down the river. The hotel is the perfect retreat to have a relaxing or romantic break. Christchurch town and the Priory is within walking distance of the hotel with it designer shops and independent quirky tea rooms. The food in the hotel is exceptional, we decided to eat in the hotel several times over the weekend both in the beautiful restaurant and in the bar where on the Sunday afternoon we listened to a great jazz duo this really was a special occasion and once again all the staff seemed to go that extra mile to ensure we really enjoyed our stay.
We were there over a weekend and every single member of staff that we met from the porter through to the manager, and everyone in-between was top notch in every way. There is nothing these guys won't do to make your stay the best experience ever.
People who stood out... Tim and Robert and Sarah...and I could go on. They truly make you feel like family. They will spoil you and you will never want to stay anywhere else. You will not want to go home and you will book to go back again.

There was a wedding party on the Saturday which we really enjoyed watching, what a perfect setting, the hotel General Manager Tim seemed to go that extra mile to ensure that the Bride and Groom and all of their guests were enjoying ever minute and that everything went smoothly, it really was, a beautiful day for the Bride and I’m sure she will remember it for the rest of her life.
So much so that we have since been in touch with Tim and booked to have our daughters wedding held at the Captains Club next September.

JC Lymington

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Loved it all. Stayed in a suite and it was fantastic. Service was fantastic, food was excellent. Excellent location. Strongly recomend this place. The spa was excellent and the treatments were brilliant. A must stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Club Hotel

Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your The Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
The Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Captain's Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.