We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely outstanding in every way!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Captain's Club Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Captain's Club Hotel to your Saves list
The Captain's Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Christchurch
Surrey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

Have just returned from a night in this hotel - its amazing - the staff are so attentive.
We had a suite and it was unbelievable, the food was exceptional...cannot say enough good things - will return as soon as possible!

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    69
    23
    20
    9
See reviews for
68
179
2
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Treated like a princess, lovely location, wonderful service. Excellent food. Can't beat it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
260 helpful votes 260 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

Clean, modern hotel where all rooms overlook the river. There is plenty of parking and it is a short walk to the town centre and priory.
Check in and out was efficient.
Rooms are large with plenty of storage, a safe and flat screen TV. The disappointing aspects were - no fridge in the room, poor lighting in the room - it was difficult to read, low shower pressure, limited Sky channels and metal shading outside the window was noisy when it rained. We enjoyed the cookies they provide.
Bathroom was good with quality toiletries and robes.
Spa had a sauna and hydrotherapy pool - good for relaxing but not for swimming.
Breakfast was great - a buffet for cold items, hot items are cooked as required.
Dinner was good although the drinks service was unreliable. Andy, the Restaurant Manager, was excellent, very attentive and made sure any service issues were addressed promptly.
We were impressed that they extended the cancellation deadline in view of the snowy weather - a coutesy that not all hotels would grant.
Recommend Ye Olde George Inn (5 mins walk from the hotel) for good beer and food.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

Having been to Captains Club purely for social gatherings in the past, I thought we would spend a night in the hotel and have dinner at the acclaimed restaurant.

Managed to pick up a last minute offer on a double room and was delighted to find upon check-in, that we had been upgraded to a stunning 2 bedroom suite ! This suite was bigger than some of my friends flats ! Double bedroom with huge wardrobes, 2 bathrooms, one with a massive walk in shower, 2nd single bedroom (incase you fall out with your other half !!) fully equipped modern kitchen and huge lounge with river views. They had even just had Sky Tv installed too. A real home from home and very comfortable.

After enjoying our surroundings we got changed and went down to the very lively bar for a pre-dinner drink. Very helpful and knowledgeable bar staff. The maitre'd then approached us with the menu for the night so we could peruse over our drinks before heading into the restaurant. Again, he was very knowledgeable and was giving us the lowdown on each dish on the menu. What a great idea.

We then headed into the restaurant and had a most delicious 3 course meal. Very attentive service, stunning food and great atmosphere.

A few more drinks in the bar afterwards and back to our luxury suite to retire.

Next morning we had breakfast delivered to our room (you just pay the £5 tray charge on top of the room rate which included breakfast) and again, was simply delicious and a great start to the day, a great end to a wonderful stay.

Will be back again very soon !

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Interesting place by the river, we stayed for two nights at the end of November. Go with an open mind and you will enjoy. Friendly staff, good food and very smart suites. Didn't rate the spa treatments but nice to spend some time in the pool and sauna. Only downside is its location - sorry Christchurch!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

We have just returned from a one-night stay at this hotel and I wanted to return to this site and mention how great I thought it was.

I may have mentioned to the person who took my initial reservation that we were honeymooners - when we arrived at reception, we were greeted very warmly by the staff and told that we had been upgraded a couple of times. Well, you could say that as an understatement. We had been moved from a standard room into a three bedroom apartment, that was about three times the size of our actual flat. It was glorious in there!

The bar and restaurant were also superb - the space felt lively and warm - so often hotel bars can seem sterile, but this was just right. Our cocktails and our fixed price meal in the restaurant were excellent.

So, the accommodation and facilities were top notch, but the thing that makes the hotel is the staff - everyone we encountered from reception staff to porters to the matire d' to the waitresses gave an exceptionally high standard of service. It may be even more surprising to know that this hotel is not part of a chain, it is independently run.

This is a super spot to explore Dorset. I would recommend it to anyone who values good customer service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed at the hotel for two nights towards the end of September, staying in a standard room overlooking the river.

We could not fault anything about our stay. We were greeted by a friendly member of the reception team and the high level of service was continued by the bar and restaurant staff.

The hotel is modern in its decor. The bar has an outdoor terrace which overlooks the river and is ideal for unwinding on a sunny day.

Our hotel room was pleasantly decorated with a huge floor to ceiling window with views of the river. Whilst not the largest hotel room we have ever stayed in the room was of ample size with a large (comfy!) bed and seating area. The bathroom was also very nice and spotlessly clean.

The hotel is in an excellent location and is within easy walking distance of the Christchurch centre and the Quay. Bournemouth is also close by.

We ate at Tides Restaurant on our first night and Sabai Thai, a small restaurant in the town centre (only ten minutes walk away) on the second - both were excellent!

There was nothing that we didn't like about our break....we were very lucky with the weather which of course helped!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Club Hotel

Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
The Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Captain's Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.