We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Captain's Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Captain's Club Hotel to your Saves list
The Captain's Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Banstead, Surrey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just had a great weekend at The Captain's Club. We did not have dinner here - only had breakfast each morning and drinks on the lively terrace but the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating - always asking if they could help. Great room - or suite - with a superb kitchen/living room which was perfect for our puppy's first holiday - we could prepare his meals easily and leave him safely in his crate whilst we enjoyed the delicious choices at breakfast. Hotel also has a great location: on the river, within walking distance of the town and a short drive from other great spots such as Hengistbury Head and Mudeford Quay.

Only downside was the parking, of which there isn't quite enough.

All in all a great hotel with lovely staff. A great place to bring your dog if you like stylish hotels which are definitely not "doggy"!

Room Tip: 2nd floor suite was lovely - bit noisy from the terrace below during the day but quiet at night. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    73
    24
    20
    10
See reviews for
70
196
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I am local and visit The Captains on a regular basis, often I find the service slow but have never left a review before.
The food and location always makes up for it.
Had a meal there this week, we ordered two drinks at the table, we asked three times in they were coming, told on all occasions " yes they are on their way" on all occasions the staff we asked not one actually went to see if they were coming,
20mins later the drinks arrived well after the starter.
It wasent a very particularly busy evening alot of staff walking aroin

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I went in for a late lunch about 3pm, it was about a third busy, i was greeted nicely and was cheerfully escorted to a table of my choice on the terrace, all seemed perfect! .......and then frankly, i was abandoned!
I expected to be brought a menu as there were none on the tables - but no!.... so i sat and twiddled my thumbs, eventually i caught the eye of a waitress but she cheerfully apologized that she was too busy at that moment - though there were plenty other staff inside - presumably too busy as well, though other tables were being served, including people who arrived after me, A bit later i got her attention again and said that all i needed at this stage was a menu, five minutes later [how long does it need to take to get a blimmin menu? - its not even busy] she brings me one, by now i was a little bit irritated i must admit, by the mix of hunger. thirst [it was a baking-hot day] and the fifteen minutes it had taken to get just a menu, as i took the first glimpse of it she asked me if i would like a drink, yes please - a coca cola - i replied. "i need your credit card" she said before she even wrote the order down., for a coke? i asked myself or her - i cant remember - so, after making me wait 15 mins for service they are more interested in my credit than giving me any descent service! so i said - bring me the coke and then i will give you the card or i can pay with cash if you want, i admit i didn't say i politely, i was exasperated. guess what ..... 10 minutes went by and no coke nor nothing appeared. i got up and appealed to another waitress but all she wanted was my credit card before she would do anything for me, i decided to leave, on the way i spoke to the manager but he was quite happy that the staff were carrying out their policy of not trusting their customers and didnt seem to care about the nearly 30 minutes i had spent waiting for NOTHING! it was an abysmal experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Booked a two night break to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. Arrived early but check in not a problem. Had a Junior Suite which was spacious and comfortable. Lovely terrace area overlooking the river. Fab restaurant with lovely touch of providing a platter of sweets with " Happy Anniversary" written in chocolate on the plate ! Overall a very happy experience which I would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

A lovely modern hotel, with a beautiful view, but not a sea view. The only reason not a full set of fives. However, it's right on the side of the river and is gorgeous. The sailing boats etc are moored to the left and the rowing club members go up and down the river. Staff very attentive and a great few days break.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Great service at the bar and fabulous location next to the river plus an excellent restaurant makes the Captains Club one of the upmarket drinking and dining spots in the Christchurch area.
Sit and watch the boats go by or get the ferry out front for a trip up the river.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

When visiting Christchurch we took our hosts here for an evening meal on their suggestion of venue then still untried. All I can say is the service was quite the WORST we have ever experienced - slow slow slow and the giggly waitress said nothing to be done as we have a big party in another room. Well charming. No-one was really bothered about the bad service ( ' we are aware of it ..') and when the food did eventually arrive all I can say is that it was not worth the long and tedious wait. No I do not recommend this establishment at all. It thinks it is better than it really is. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Club Hotel

Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
The Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Captain's Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.