We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Captain's Club Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Captain's Club Hotel to your Saves list
The Captain's Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Christchurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit in 2 years and we will return again. The staff are always so friendly. The rooms are very clean with wonderful view. Breakfast - a great choice with good portion sizes.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    70
    23
    20
    9
See reviews for
68
180
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment and were staying to attend a family wedding. We'd driven down from London and needed to change prior to attending the wedding ceremony. We had asked several times for the apartment to be ready so we could change, or at least be able to use one room of it. Unfortunately the reception staff seemed a bit bemused when we arrived and the apartment wasn't ready so we had to rush across town and dress for the wedding in another relative's hotel room.
The flat itself was great, a really good size with lovely views of the river and well appointed rooms. Housekeeping left food from the previous residents in the fridge though :-(. And we had breakfast from room service which was a bit hit and miss..., wrong drinks, juice tasted a bit odd, no pastries second morning, smoked salon didn't taste great...minor but irritating niggles given that this place is not the cheap option to stay at.
On the plus side, we took the hotel's boat, Nauti-Girl, out for a day's charter. What a lovely experience! The skipper was a lovely gentleman who made sure we had a fantastic day. For a nice treat, I would recommend this experience.
All in all, great location, lovely rooms, great day out on the boat, service hit and miss which needs addressing to justify the price.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A friend & I went to the captain's club for a refreshing drink on a hot summer's day, we could have dehydrated by the time it took for the drink to get to our table! after being seated we waited approximately 15 minutes before anyone approached our table to take our order, and during that time nobody even bothered to have the courtesy to apologize to us & to let us know someone would be with us shortly! eventually, our order was taken & we waited a further 20 minutes for the drinks to arrive (the place was not busy by the way). We decided to brave it & order some food, just a light snack.....oh dear, another long wait, this time it was approx. 45 minutes & I had to stop a waiter who was passing our table to enquire what was happening, once again nobody had come up to us & apologized for the long delay! This is completely unacceptable for the type of establishment we were in & it seems to be quite commonplace that the service (or lack of it) is something to be complained about, I really hope that a member of the hotel's management team will read this & other reviews on here as they seriously need to improve on their lack of service!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in a dog friendly apartment which was AMAZING !! I am VERY fussy and the décor and cleanliness was excellent. Very modern, great views, fully equipped kitchen - just perfect. Would 100% stay here again. The restaurant let it down though, poor service, which was a shame. Room service was excellent though.

Room Tip: River View !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went there yesterday for lunch...i thought the decor was great as we entered the building, as somebody has said; lots of parking...firstly we went outside to the outside terrace..& sat on some very cozy armchairs..lovely view of the river, the boats & the ducks..unfortunately it got colder & started to rain..so i asked if we could be seated inside, the the staff were great & very accommodating. The food we ordered was well worth waiting for..we had the Brie & the prawns...lovely...i would also like to mention the 'french manager/waitress..was very friendly & was very professional..i certainly would recommend & i would return...infact i'm considering staying as a guest one evening in the hotel! oh yea the coffee was grand too!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A large group of us met at the Captains Club for drinks on a hot summer evening, the setting was perfect for this. Following this four of us had a table at the restaurant where we had a starter and a main, all were satisfied with our food, I had sea bream which was very well served.

The only aspect letting us down was the service to table, that despite being polite wasn't very knowledgable or attentive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We popped in for lunch yesterday and were shown the terrace which was very nice. Somebody then appeared to take our order but we hadn't been given a menu!! We got the menu then they wanted the drinks order but hadn't brought a wine list!! Drinks appeared after a time served by a waiter who was so nervous that his tray was shaking! When I asked what was in the Thai curry the waitress hasn't a clue, had to check. When the food came though it was absolutely delicious, both the curry and themfish and chips and dessert was equally good.

I would recommend that the waiting and bar staff need much more training as they are obviously temporary summer employees but a let down to a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Club Hotel

Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your The Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
The Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Captain's Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.