We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous Ruby Anniversary party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Captain's Club Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Captain's Club Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Captain's Club Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 hotels in Christchurch
Dorset. England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A fabulous Ruby Anniversary party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We celebrated ourRuby Anniversry with a private Buffet lunch at the Captains Club Starboard Suite for family and friends.
All I can say is WOW, everything was truly outstanding.
The location, the atmosphere, the superb hot and cold buffet, the atmosphere, the surroundings, the thoughtfullness.
Truly a memorable day made even more special by the attentative and superb service of the Manager Tim and his excellent Team.
We have had nothing but compliliments about the Hotel from friends and family since.
If you have an occasion to celebrate this is really is the Hotel to choose.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    194
    62
    20
    20
    7
See reviews for
60
157
2
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 via mobile

A lovely hotel. A tad on the pricey side but you get what you pay for and this place is perfect for a special treat/ occasion. The spa facilities where great too. I will go again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We can never thank everyone at the Captains Club for their kindness and generosity. After my husband ended up at Bournemouth Hospital the Captains Club saved our weekend . The room was fantastic and everyone ensured we were very very comfortable. Thank you sooo much xxx

Room Tip: Room 115 is fantasticx
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I wanted to take my dad somewhere special. I needed to have 2 rooms with a waterfront view so that he could sit and watch the boats and the people and their dogs pass the day. We had a two bedroom apartment with a beautiful lounge, dining room and fully functional kitchen (actually, it had more implements than I've got at home!) . The view was to die for and as his mobility is limited he pleasantly whiled away the hours people dog and boat- watching. We had our breakfast delivered to the room and beautifully laid out on the table by a male member of staff who gave great customer service throughout our stay ( sorry forgot name but he had a brace on his teeth) the breakfasts and all the meals were delightful and whether in our room or in the restaurant the views were terrific and the meals albeit a bit pricey were delicious.
Great environment, lovely food and excellent customer service. My dad ( and I) loved his time at the Captains Club, thank you!

Room Tip: There are various types of suites as well as rooms of varying prices so explore your options as to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

Trip Advisor delivers again. The Captains Club is ranked number 1 in Christchurch and I can see why. In a beautiful setting just far enough from Christchurch to walk off dinner the hotel boasts top service and delivers against that seemingly effortlessly. The staff are fabulous and the rooms are stunning. All this and dog friendly too. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend away and had an excellent time. The hotel was perfect. It is very modern and chic with a really good atmosphere. There is a real buzz about the place day and night which we loved. It was very busy but the staff were fantastic. Always on the ball, providing a first class service with a real personal touch. The food was amazing - freshly cooked breakfasts with a nice, varied menu. Excellent food on offer all day with an outdoor area to dine al fresco which was perfect for the warm weather we experienced. We also ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was so good the first night that we ended up eating there again the next evening. The room was spacious and modern overlooking the river. I also went to the spa and had an amazing facial. We couldn't fault the place. It was fantastic and we will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at The Capt Club for a short Spa break. My wife had an hour long massage and said afterwards how relaxed she felt afterwards and how well the therapists had treated her.

The staff throughout the Hotel treated us like royalty which bearing in mind the high profile guests they get was quite a compliment. The bar and restaurant staff were exceptional , they even went as far as ordering in a special bottle of wine that is only available at one importer from Italy for us to accompany our dinner. None of this was expected but seemed to come as standard for this wonderful hotel. We will definitely be visiting again very soon and highly recommend this top class hotel .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Captain's Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Captain's Club Hotel

Address: Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Captain's Club Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Captain's Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Hotel Christchurch
The Captains Hotel
The Captain's Club Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Captain's Club Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.