We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stopover” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fisherman's Haunt Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fisherman's Haunt Hotel to your Saves list
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Salisbury Rd | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Surrey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“One night stopover”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Upon arriving the hotel appeared charming and full of character. We booked a double room B&B at £89/night. Our room was in a separate building to the main restaurant and pub. The room was charming and well decorated. There was a hospitality tray and TV although the TV channels were a bit out of sync so gave up in the end. The bathroom was a strange one because by the bath there was a huge window which you have to step in front of to get into the bath and although it had frosting film over it I did not feel comfortable at all knowing it looked onto the car park. The bath area desperately needs re-grouting due to the black discolouration and with the effort gone to making the rooms look nice with the extra toiletries it really lets the room down. Our friends' bathroom was horrendous with the black stuff around the coving and paint peeling.

The restaurant food was tasty although service was a bit slow and we had to remind staff we were still waiting. There was a big table next to us that demanded attention but it didn't leave us feeling 100% comfortable leaving a tip, which we didn't in the end due to the delays.

Staff were pleasant enough but we would only stay here en route to somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    56
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
29
89
1
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night and had one of the coach house rooms. We had our own private stair case then the room was a reasonable size with modern bathroom and the room was well equipped. Bathrobes were a nice touch in the bathroom.
The breakfast choice was good and tasted nice.
Would definitely go back however would look for an offer as at £90.00 a night it doesn't have any facilities e.g swimming pool/tennis courts etc.

Room Tip: Suggest asking for a room in the coach house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedhampton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed here for 1 night after seeing a show at the Bournemouth International Centre. You can check in from 2pm & it only being 1/2 hr drive from the BIC gave us time to relax, & because they serve food all day you could eat here before going out although we chose to eat in Bournemouth. We found the staff friendly & the room very clean & well decorated with a modern bathroom. The bed was so comfy & all the little extras like bottled water, tea coffee, hot choc & biscuits added value along with the complimentry toiletries. Breakfast the next morning was relaxed & the quality of the food was excellent, you can help yourself to juice, cereal, croissants & fruit as well as having a cooked breakfast & toast. We paid £90 for b & b for 2 & feel that we definately got value for money as I almost booked a room at the Premier Inn in Bournemouth room only for the same amount.
If you're in the area give the Fisherman's haunt a try.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We chose this place because it was doggy friendly. Staff were very friendly & helpful, room was lovely & clean & bed very comfortable. Would definitely return

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Room was clean and fresh , White linen on a really comfy big bed.
TV cable had been 'nicked' but was soon replaced.
Fresh milk in flask, emergency biscuits, tea coffee - excellent.
Pub food was good - couldn't see the 'River view' from garden - but trees do grow over the years!
Lovely walk into Christchurch along the beautiful River Avon - great to leave the car behind and not worry about parking.
Breaskfast was well presented, plenty to choose from.
Staff great and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Having read other reviews on this hotel, I began to feel worried about my impending stay! However, the room was great, had own parking space, lots of freebies in the room, it was clean and tidy, staff were very friendly. The location is quite rural, but it is easy to find and not too far from local amenities and neighbouring towns.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

After staying in mediocre B & B's in Bournemouth for the last two years whilst our son was at university there, we came across this hotel - mainly because everywhere in Bournemouth was booked up.
We loved it. The room was excellent and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant. The food, particularly the breakfast, most of which was locally sourced was delicious. We will definitely be using it in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fisherman's Haunt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Haunt Hotel

Address: Salisbury Rd | Winkton, Christchurch BH23 7AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fisherman's Haunt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Fisherman's Haunt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fisherman's Haunt Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.