We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful amazing food, fantastic accommodating service and great environment.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of James and White

James and White
17 Church street, Christchurch, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 140 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful amazing food, fantastic accommodating service and great environment.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

We were in Christchurch looking for somewhere for lunch with our 22 month old daughter we stumbled across James and white and lived the sound of the menu.
They were really friendly and inviting and we chose a bench seating booth and propped our daughter on cushions to heighten her to table (we were offered highchair but she prefers to sit on normal chairs). They kindly did a special selection of olives and houmous with breads for my daughter to enjoy, my husband had the full brunch and I had the wonderful granola with fresh fruit and berries and teacake on the side which was just pure wonderful and such a lovely idea and choice for the menu. The coffee was devine and we also tried the homemade carrot cake which just melted.in our mouths.
There was toys to keep.our daughter entertained and the staff were really friendly and welcoming and we have
Talked all day and night about how wonderful the food was. Just wish we weren't on holiday and actually lived closer to.visit again as other menu choices also looked intriguing and sounded wonderful. Highly highly recommend!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    56
    20
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food and children friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We had dinner here while on holiday. We would definitely recommend it. The food was really good. They are children friendly. My son enjoyed the typewriter and games.

The only criticism is the service charge for big groups. There is no mention what constitutes a big group. We were only 5.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham England
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Lovely thick salmon sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Nothing too much trouble for them, lovely food great service, clean toilets, air con as it was warm in there, the lad switched it on for me. There was four of us and had salmon, crab, and berries French toast. Give it a try!!!!!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Popped in after theatre for lunch.

Kids menu good - well cooked chicken breast, fries and crudités. Happy to give milk instead of fruit juice. Two scoops ice cream. Total kids meal £8. Not bad

Adults both had cheese and tomato sandwich with some naughty fries on the side. Tasty but one criticism would be cheese cut far too thickly and therefore hard to eat. Passed this feedback to the waiter.


Bar has board games and free wifi.

Definitely visit again when in Christchurch

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not sure I should tell you all too much- it may get too busy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

On entering it is clean, small and quirky! the menu is interesting and fish based. We had a starter of Nachos, which came and stayed piping hot and were layered, rather than some nachos chucked into a dish and everything dumped on top! Delicious! Between the four of us we sampled a "put your own together burger", Teryaki Salmon, local Dorset Crab, and bbq chicken fillets. All were hot and absolutely delicious. I sampled a honeycomb and fudge sundae called " Amy's failing" I think- scrumptious. During this, they had a live musician playing guitar and singing. He was excellent and contributed to a really brilliant evening- so much so we have found when he is booked again and have booked a table in advance! Not sure I should tell you all too much- it may get too busy!Evidently has a sister restaurant in Boscombe!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed James and White also viewed

 
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to James and White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage James and White, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.