We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family meal out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Queen Pub Restaurant

New Queen Pub Restaurant
Ringwood Road | Avon, Christchurch BH23 7BG, England
01425 672 432
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
New Queen Pub Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #83 of 132 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: British
Restaurant details
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great family meal out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

In-laws took us to the New Queen on Friday 31st May -they'd booked table for 6 of us at 7pm & when we arrived we could see our name clearly on a lovely table inside close to the terrace. As it was a beautiful evening we took drinks outside & had starters outside before moving inside for mains & pudding.

Pluses: Extensive menu with lots of choice - kids burger given a 10 out of 10 - the adults had the £20 option where you share a starter, have your own main course and share a pudding - a great idea. Large portion of garlic bread to start - very tasty ham, egg & chips for main & enormous cheese platter to finish. Nice setting with sunny terrace. Good plane spotting from bournemouth airport!

Minuses: service was a bit slow, bill was wrong

Food was very good - freshly cooked and very decent portions. We had a great meal & will be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    29
    8
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service and nice touch with the balloons”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We use this pub restaurant often, today we booked as it was a bank holiday Monday. 2 hours before we were due to arrive we needed to amend the time to 1 hour later, this was no trouble, we arrived at 4 PM and our reserved table was ready for us, adorned with 3 balloons as the pub were aware we were celebrating a family birthday. The staff were attentive as always and the food was tasty and generous in it's portion sizes, the fish and chips and gammon represented particularly excellent value for money. Unfortunately we had a genuine cause to complain about one of the meals and this was dealt with instantly with a sincere apology and the cost removed from the bill, no quibble and no trouble. Thank you New Queen, we will return!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Plastic pub food - Dire”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you like inedible plastic pub food then this is this is the place for you!! The potato wedges were black and raw in the middle, we obviously had the left overs from their lunch time service. One of our party had the pie combination he couldn't even cut the pastry on the one pie and when he did eventually get into the pie there was no filling. Another member of our party had the parmesan crusted chicken breast wrapped in parma ham, when it came there was no parma ham and the chicken breast looked like a Frisbee and there was no way this was a fresh chicken breast, when she eventually managed to get her knife into it the chicken looked like a very large chicken nugget. We did complain to the waitress (who seemed to have a very bad smell up her nose the whole time she served us) she told us that the chef has to beat the chicken like that well unless the chef is Fred Flintstone and used a compass to get the chicken perfectly round and flat - what a load of rubbish. The whole experience was a waste of money. If you are in the area and want REAL food go to the Boathouse in Christchurch, they serve fresh real food not cooked by Fred Flintstone!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Dorset
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great family pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went with n our kids and friends and was lovely to sit outside and enjoy the surroundings whilst the kids played in the playground. Food was good, not outstanding but of a good standard. It's just nice to find somewhere child friendly

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely sunny, bank holiday Sunday, stopped off for an early dinner with children, not particularly busy .... now understand why! Food menu not bad ~ shame what is bought out didn't live up to expectations ~ should either be half the price or double the quantity - and hot. Will definately not return or recommend ~ go elsewhere fora better meal out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Queen Pub Restaurant also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to New Queen Pub Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Queen Pub Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.