We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect sunny day out” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms

Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms
Rothesay Drive, | Highcliffe, Christchurch, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 132 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect sunny day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We met some friends here, never been before. We ordered Crab Salad's and a Brie Baguette. The food was very tasty, well presented and excellent value. I think you need a sunny day to really appreciate the location.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    26
    14
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lunch by Highcliffe Castle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We've had lunch many times at this tea rooms which are ideally situated on the cliff top next to Highcliffe Castle. There is lots of outside seating - but it's a pity they don't stipulate no smoking although they clearly don't encourage it as there are no ash trays etc. There is a nice view of the castle and at popular times you might get to see a wedding ! Some can be interesting, some quite amusing ! The food at the tea rooms is good and there are daily specials and usually some nice soup - it was carrot and ginger when we went recently - very nice. And the ploughmans was good too, if a little expensive. Overall a really nice place for lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spot on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Mothers day cream tea, wonderful day great cream tea with huge scones , mothers favourite place the castle is a beautiful backdrop to this lovely tearooms we will be back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South coast uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing Tearooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Good service, very quick, friendly staff, fantastic location and good lunch menu choice, on Sundays really enjoy the BBQ

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Coffee”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

First this morning to order one Latte and One Mocha. Probably the worst coffee in Christchurch area and the Mocha even more so. Undrinkable so left and went into town to get our fix. Problem easily solved though, do a take out Costa next time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 

Been to Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highcliffe Castle Tea Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.