We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place for a Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lord Bute Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lord Bute Hotel to your Saves list
Lord Bute Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Christchurch
Andover, Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Place for a Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My Daughter and her new Husband got married at Highcliffe Castle and then on to The Lord Bute for the reception.
We visited on several occasions to eat prior to booking the reception and were very impressed.
We stayed for 2 nights in various rooms from standard to suites and everybody was delighted with the accommodation. The cleanliness, service and decor are all first class.
The Functions Coordinator Christopher Denley could not be more helpful and his staff on the day of the wedding ensured we all had a wonderful day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    30
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
88
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed in the boardroom which was really nice and great value! If I'm being picky the kettle was not clean alot of limescale and we had to clean it ourselves and there was no fridge. The bed was very comfortable although it seemed it was 2 single beds put together. Breakfast was fantastic although had to ask for a fresh pot of tea as it tasted odd. I was then told they would give me a pot made from a kettle as opposed from a machine. It was obvious in taste. The first pot tasted awful and of limescale. Location is good. Next door is a pub which was nice. A five minute walk to the beach but would recommend a cab to mudeford quay and christchurch . Would definitely go back

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful hotel, the rooms are so luxurious, especially the outside cottages that are more like a private house than a hotel!
A friendly feel, welcoming and with excellent service.

The breakfast is to die for, not this chain hotel breakfast but an individually cooked, high quality breakfast.

If I am in that area I will never want to stay anywhere else...cant wait to get back.
Book now if you havent been, I was there on business but would be a lovely romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the lodges outside if they are available, they are totally beyond your expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I booked the Coach House and Board Room for one night for my mum's birthday so our party of four ladies could stay together in inter-connecting rooms. The rooms themselves were lovely and clean and very spacious. My only negative points would be that the bathroom in the upper room was not to the same standard as the other room and you could hear the road noise quite a lot. We ate in the restaurant on both Saturday night and Sunday lunchtime and thought the food was fantastic and the Sunday roast was particularly good value. On both occasions there was a live pianist which created a lovely relaxed atmosphere, eventhough the restaurant was very busy. The staff were fantastic- very helpful and friendly and this made the stay so much more special. I would say the dining experience was the best I have experienced as we were made to feel so welcome. We would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Superb day special thanks to Christopher and his team. Just returned after a brilliant weekend - Our daughters wedding reception was held at the Lord Bute Christchurch after a civil service at Highcliffe Castle which is just round the corner. We were able to take over the hotel for the weekend (13 rooms), the venus is great, staff lovely, and facilities expecially the bridal suite outstanding. We held a reception for 75 day visitors and an additional 25 in the evening, these numbers where perfect for the venue. Our guests were very impressed that they where given a menu choice and praised the quality and service of the food they recieved. The addition of Bacon sandwiches on the evening buffet table topped it off. A great day all round would definately recommend this hotel for any special occasion.

Room Tip: The suites are exceptional especially the bridal suite although the standard rooms are still great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

In February 2013, my daughter had her wedding reception at the Lord Bute. She was married at Highcliffe Castle so it made sense to look for venues in the area. Wow!
She was absolutely gobsmacked by the decor, the intimate setting and the attentiveness of the staff, especially Chris, who like someone else mentioned seemed to be your private wedding planner. My daughter looked nowhere else, she booked herself into the Garden suite which was immaculate in setting with it's internal garden and size for everything she needed. We had the Coach House, which is a seperate building with bedroom downstairs and bedroom and kitchen facilities upstairs; there was an interlocking door between these 2 rooms which could be left open. which we used as our son and his family were downstairs. Ourselves and our guests were amazed and are still talking about it, how we were able to have a choice of meals on the day of the wedding; choice of 4 starters, 4 main meals and 3 desserts, fantstastic. The quality of the food and it's presentation was excellent; if you are going to visit the Lord Bute, please try the lamb shank, exquisite taste, the meat was so tender. All of the staff were very polite, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend the hotel for a wedding reception and in anycase, a visit for a 3 course meal. Ken McRoyall, Southampton

Room Tip: if small children are staying at the Coach House, stairgates will be needed for upstairs and downsta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Well this review is long overdue as I got married in September last year! We chose The Lord Bute as the destination for our reception. I am not sure my words will do it justice but I will try! We did a lot of research in the local area as we were set on getting married at Highcliffe Castle. The Lord Bute was the first place we went to visit and we know the moment we walked in that it was perfect! We didn't even bother going anywhere else. We loved the history that it is the old entrance to the castle so it all felt like it was meant to be. The rooms are amazing and immaculate. The honeymoon suite is beyond believe, its own living room and fantastic garden! The decor is so luxurious and elegant, the perfect setting for our wedding. I wouldn't say I was elegant but we tried for one day! Ha! The staff were amazing from start to finish, the gentleman looking after our plans helped us so much and guided us through the experience, we didn't pay extra for a planner but thats what it felt like we got. He knows the business well and helped us make the right decisions using his experience. Never have I known of a wedding that you get a menu! Four choices of starter and mains and then three different desserts! Finally away to keep everyone happy! The food was just outstanding, the quality was second to none and the numbers were large!!! The staff went the extra mile at every opportunity and I was always remember all the lovely comments and feedback from our guets of how impressed they were with everyone and everything. We could not have been happier with our celebrations at The Lord Bute and we look forward to many more special memories being made at this wonderful place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lord Bute Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lord Bute Hotel

Address: Lymington Road, Christchurch BH23 4JS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lord Bute Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lord Bute Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Bute Christchurch
Hotel Lord Bute
Lord Bute Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lord Bute Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.