We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch with a view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliffhanger Cafe

Cliffhanger Cafe
Waterford Road, Christchurch BH23 5JA, England
0044 1425278058
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 140 Restaurants in Christchurch
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Brunch with a view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

After a morning stroll along the extensive beaches, we were ready for a brunch & this place was ideal. Fortunately we arrived just before noon & there was a choice of tables & we chose one with the best available view over the beaches.
The young staff were very pleasant & efficient & our food well presented. The cost was slightly more expensive than normal but not excessive for this area of the country. By the time we were ready to leave, the restaurant was full & people waiting for tables & the staff were still coping well. This place suited us very well for our brunch but we probably wouldn't try it for a special evening dinner.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    92
    53
    32
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Location But Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Overlooking the beach and the Isle of Wight from Highcliffe is lovely on a clear day and a great escape after a walk in the chill
Remember this is just a cafe so you might need to prepare yourself for the high prices for normal cafe fare
Be smart at choosing from the menu and that will help the pocket, for example the full breakfast is £9 and the vegatarian is £8 which is the same but you lose two sausages, two bacon rashers and some black pudding, so for a pound you get almost two meals
Don't buy the smoothies because they're not, very poor
The rest is average so not too bad it's just the whopping price

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My mother and I ate here one lunchtime but we were both very disappointed with our meals. I ordered a salad but it didn't seem at all fresh and many of the components were tired and some, I felt, were even bordering on their use by date. Needless to say, there was a lot I didn't eat. I know I should have complained but I didn't want a substitute - I just wanted to get home.

It's a pity our experience was such poor one - the venue is in a wonderful position with fantastic views but the food doesn't match up, I'm afraid.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Warm service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Sloped in after a long trek along the beach and was greeted with a lovely smile. I was really keen to try the fish and chips but I don't have alcohol so they very nicely adjusted my order for me so I can get my fix of fresh fish and chips overlooking the amazing sights of the beach below and Isle of Wight in the distance. Thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Just home from the cliffhanger today and wanted to say how much me and the whole family really enjoyed our lunch, it had fantastic views of the Isle of Wight, I had read some tripadvisor comments and was surprised at any negative reviews the staff are absolutely lovely and the food fantastic, value for money, we were even give a loyalty card and once we purchase 3 more meals we will receive a free meal, great find, fantastic views, friendly staff a real gem, looking forward to coming to Neil diamond tribute.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cliffhanger Cafe also viewed

Highcliffe, Christchurch
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 

Been to Cliffhanger Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliffhanger Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.