We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Conqueror Inn

The Conqueror Inn
East Close Country Hotel | Lyndhurst Road, Christchurch BH23 7EF, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 127 restaurants in Christchurch
Price range: $26 - $51
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Conqueror Inn, Eastclose Hotels principal restaurant serves traditional British and European cuisine. Blending Georgian opulence with a cool, contemporary twist. Not simply a comfortable, welcoming place to stay, we are a destination for discerning diners and a unique venue for weddings and special celebrations. Set in 18 acres of beautiful parkland, this boutique hotel has long provided a place of relaxation and inspiration for guests. In fact one of them, author Lewis Carroll, is rumoured to have created his tales of a certain young Alice after hearing of her adventures in the enchanting walled garden, croquet lawn and under the giant beech tree.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“First Rate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed in the adjoining East Close Hotel, and had one evening meal and two breakfasts here. The restaurant, as well as the food was absolutely superb! The staff were attentive and friendly, and the food, though expensive, was on par with the local area.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastclose_2013, Owner at The Conqueror Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you Gareth, Im glad you enjoyed The Conqueror.

I am sorry you thought we were expensive, these are examples of our prices.
3 course meal and coffee for two people costs less than £30 (£15 each) off our 241 menu accompany this with house wine £15 a bottle.
The Harvester, Cwmbran which I see you frequent from your reviews is more expensive than this!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    72
    25
    8
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booked this restaurant as it had received such good reviews but found our experience a little disappointing. There wasn't a huge choice of vegetarian dishes and was told on ordering that the one I wanted was not available, because everyone else had already ordered I felt a bit rushed to choose something else. Although I did enjoy the salad, it wasn't really what I wanted and I was still hungry afterwards. My daughter ordered a chicken Caesar salad and the chicken was bloody, we sent the plate back but by the time it came back out everybody else had finished and she was left eating on her own.
We did find the staff to be friendly, polite and courteous, and in general the food was well presented and tasty. However, all in all I probably wouldn't visit this restaurant a second time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastclose_2013, Owner at The Conqueror Inn, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
I am so sorry to hear you wouldnt return, we take on board your comments and will use them constructively. We do seem to have had some excellent reviews recently but we have never tried to become anything above our station. We believe that there is a market for what we provide which is freshly prepared food at reasonable prices with good service. There are plenty of restaurants around here, indeed some of the best in the country which are exclusive and expensive, we do not wish to be one of these, neither do we want to compete in the plastic microwave market which also appears in abundance. Thank you for taking time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

loved everything about it, the food was of a very high quality and the staff were friendly, polite and professional

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastclose_2013, Owner at The Conqueror Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you, I see you stayed with us as well. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Good varied menu, well cooked, well presented, staff excellent, superb surroundings. Sometimes have 2 for 1 offers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastclose_2013, Owner at The Conqueror Inn, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thank you, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as it used to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

It still has quite nice food but not as good as a couple of years ago, the service has dropped quite considerably as well. Having said that we did have a nice meal, but would probably not use it as a first choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastclose_2013, Owner at The Conqueror Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am delighted to read that you had a nice meal but at the same time disappointed to read that we might not be your first choice in the future. Your comments about the food and service are very non specific making it difficult to analyse your review for improvement. It would be very much appreciated if you could provide some more specific detail and can email the hotel at events@eastclose.com. Hopefully we can learn from this which will be reflected in your experience next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Conqueror Inn also viewed

Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 
Christchurch, Dorset
Highcliffe, Christchurch
 

Been to The Conqueror Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Conqueror Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.