We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B in Christchurch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waters Reach Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Waters Reach Guest House to your Saves list
Waters Reach Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   59 Stour Road, Christchurch BH23 1LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 31 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B in Christchurch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with our 2 day stay at Waters Reach, and would highly recommend it to others. Very close to the train station and the city centre, it was extremely convenient for us because we were traveling without a car. Our hosts Wendy and Alan were wonderful people, friendly and very helpful. Everything was very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. We had the luxury room in the first floor with a jacuzzi bath. The bed was very comfortable, so we slept well. You can't go wrong choosing this place for your stay, it was terrific.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
83
24
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The phrase 'B&B' does Waters Reach a complete injustice! So I've coined a new term - 'Boutique B&B'. It's spotlessly clean, fabulously furnished in a modern style with v comfy beds and wonderfully equipped bathrooms. And there's an airy breakfast room overlooking the neat, pretty garden. Now to breakfast.. make sure you are hungry because there's loads on offer.. full English, eggs benedict, cereals, toast, fresh fruit. To cap it all, the proprietors are wonderfully friendly and very helpful. The location is great too, just a few minutes walk to the town centre, the famous priory and our favourite eatery in Christchurch, the Boathouse which is right on the quayside (highly recommended - try the lobster!). You won't regret staying at Waters Reach - and you won't want to visit a plain old 'B&B' again!

Room Tip: Stour room is a good family room - 4 of us (incl a 5 and 10 year old) were very comfortable. Overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this B&B and found it very good value. The room was lovely, clean and bright,and the breakfast was delicious. There was nothing to fault in any way, we will certainly go there again. It was very close to the town centre., There is a room on the ground floor, which would be ideal for those unable to climb stairs, but our hosts carried our luggage up and down for us.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We were welcomed to Waters Reach by Andy who made us very welcome, we were shown to our room by Andy who departed to leave us alone. Our room was absolutely pristine. Waters Reach is one of the nicest places we have stayed at, nothing was to much trouble, friendly accommodating couple who made our stay very pleasant, Breakfast cooked by Andy was a good start to the day, a must is to try Andy's home made plum jam !! No need to use a car, within easy walking distance to Christchurch and busses outside the door to other resorts. We would stay again if we are in the area, definitely 5 out of 5

Room Tip: Twin room looks out onto a very nice garden, a quiet peaceful room with sun later in the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here recently for x2 nights after reading the fantastic reviews on here and I was not disappointed-It's a fantastic hotel in Christchurch with lovely owners!My room was so clean and very much felt like I was the first person to stay in it-The bed was extremely comfy and the shower powerful.There was lots of information about the local area also in a handy welcome pack in the room.Complimentary WiFi was another added bonus.Location is also great with the town centre being a 5-10 minute walk away and a bus stop right outside.Taxi service in the area is also very good.

After a great nights sleep,breakfast was another delight and there was so much choice-Cereals/fresh fruit/pastries and a cooked breakfast (even homemade plum jam from the tree in the garden!)Alan is a fantastic chef and Wendy certainly made a great hostess and kept us entertained!

I couldn't fault this fabulous hotel and the owners should be truly proud of what a fantastic establishment they have!I will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here a few months ago (sorry for the late review!) and enjoyed everything about it. Even though we arrived earlier than expected, we were warmly welcomed and showed to our room. The room was very tastefully decorated and spacious with special touches. The jacuzzi bath was an added bonus!
The hosts were very friendly and gave us useful recommendations about what to visit and where to eat. The guest house is also very close to town so we were able to walk there to have supper.
Breakfast was delicious, plentiful and made to order. We even sampled some of the homemade plum jam, made from the fruit from the garden. Wonderful!
We will definitely visit again.

Room Tip: The Hengisbury room is lovely and has a jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chingford, London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked an overnight stay at Waters Reach after reading the excellent reviews here. I have to say that those reviews were spot on and we find ourselves adding to them.

The owners can be justly proud of a place so clean it could be a newly opened show house. We had a spacious double room with ample bathroom and walk in shower. We had a terrific breakfast and although there was a menu I suspect whatever you wanted would have been produced.

Uniformly terrific reviews can sometimes be difficult to believe, but if you are considering Waters Reach have no hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waters Reach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Reach Guest House

Address: 59 Stour Road, Christchurch BH23 1LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Waters Reach Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waters Reach is one of the finest guest houses in Dorset. Conveniently situated less than 500 metres from Christchurch town centre and with trains & buses passing regularly you can enjoy a completely relaxing stay while you explore Dorset's beautiful beaches and scenery. Our luxury en suite rooms have to been seen to be believed and are available from just £65 per night including a mouth watering, locally sourced breakfast. Each room has memory foam mattresses and is fitted with digital television, tea and coffee making facilities and has access to our free Wi-Fi service, and of course on-site free parking is available to all of our guests. Guests who stay with us for two or more nights are treated to a home baked delicious lemon drizzle cake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Waters Reach Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Reach Hotel Christchurch
Waters Reach Guest House Christchurch, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waters Reach Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.