We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only as good as the members of staff we encountered (awful)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Captains Club Hotel & Restaurant

Captains Club Hotel & Restaurant
Wickferry | Wicklane, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 140 Restaurants in Christchurch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“only as good as the members of staff we encountered (awful)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

arrived by boat and moored up at the hotels own mooring on a Monday night, while we were considering having something to eat we thought it would be nice to have a drink sat on our boat......
On entering the bar that was quiet we were left waiting and waiting while the bar mad carried on with his business with out even so much of a look up, when we finally got the look! we asked if we could take our drinks out to our boat? knowing the strange ways licensing works I was expecting it to be a no but expected a little bit of politeness to it and less of the lecture that we would not be on the premises and we would be breaching licencing rules etc etc despite the dirty great sights telling boaters its private mooring for hotel only! oh not to mention you can have champagne on board the hotels very own boat that was moored right next to us.
Anyway we finally we decided just to come in to the bar area,ordered a coke, southern comfort and coke, 2 pints of larger one a top and a Guinness with out going into thousands of words the service was shocking, snappy and grumpy no offer of choice of lager, too much ice in the drinks , no head on beers, spilt Guinness down glass,and an unpleasant attitude when simply asking which one is the lager top.
When I went to bar for a second round again no acknowledgement from the bar man who by this point was crushing yet more ice for a cocktail we had already seen him spend 5 mins on. waited a further couple of mins and was just about to say something when he looked at a waitress and said "take his order for me" great i thought ..... but was not expecting the "follow me" from her as she strolled off to a till in the restaurant area where i waited and waited as she tried to input the drinks order for me to pay her as by this point we had given up the idea of eating, we were told she would bring the drinks over to the table. oh dear that meant waiting for the barman again......twelve mins later I got my Guinness and southern comfort.
I have used this bar many times over the years and will continue to do so as there are no other venues like it in Christchurch if you are looking for something a little upmarket by the river for us but one day you might just get some competition and might need to train your staff to respect the customer.
that said lovely good night and thank you from the reception staff on leaving but not a glance from the bar man .... surprised not really
visited 14/04/2014

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    113
    52
    24
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good views, shame about the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We dined with friends on 11 April. It was a 'roller coaster' experience! On arrival we ordered drinks from the bar and sat on probably the most uncomfortable settees we have ever come across - deep seats and low backs! We quickly moved to our table to be confronted with one of the chairs that was badly stained - luckily the stain was dry! There we waited, and waited, and waited. Staff walked past and did not even look in our direction until frantic arm waving managed to persuade someone to bring us some menus.

Things then improved and one of the managers took our order which contained a specific request for one of 3 similar meals not to have any cheese in it due to an allergy suffered by one of our friends. When the meals arrived we asked which one was without the cheese and panic broke out - they did not know which meal was which. The meals were just about to be taken away when (another!) manager appeared to say that there was no cheese in any of the dishes!

The food itself was good and there was a nice touch when, at the end, we were given some petite fours with the bill on a plate with 'anniversary' written on it in chocolate.

We left thinking that the cooking and the kitchen staff were good but the 'front of house' could do with a real shake up. There was an 'odd' atmosphere in the bar and restaurant and the place just looked a bit 'tired' and slightly grubby. It seems to rely on the views to take your eye off your immediate surroundings.

Nice food but, overall, a restaurant that we will not be returning to.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stunning lunch by the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Just had lunch at the Captain's Club Hotel. Just warm enough to sit outside on the terrace. A glass of champagne and the Saturday Plat du Jour. Slow cooked feather blade of beef, horseradish mash potato, shallot & red wine jus, chanterelle carrots, plus an additional side dish of cauliflower cheese. Followed by Club sherry trifle and coffee. The beef was beautifully tender and full of flavour, complimented by the horseradish mash. Divine!

The staff were very attentive and friendly, with particular thanks to Emma who was great!

Thank you!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England.
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great location - food and service to match”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I generally find that if a restaurant has a great location it rests on its laurels and falls short on service and food, relying on its location to bring in the custom - not The Captains Club. We have visited this hotel/restaurant many times but usually just for a snack and cocktails after a day at the beach. However, we decided to take the 2 1/2 hr drive to Christchurch to spend the day walking across Hengistbury Head and the harbour, finishing off with a late lunch, to celebrate our anniversary and a much needed day away from the office.

It was great to know that the restaurant served food all day, with only a slightly reduced all day menu - certainly, as far as we were concerned, a great choice.

The service was friendly and efficient, although one small point I would make, is that perhaps the servers could familiarise themselves more with the menu/specials.

We are hoping to return during the summer and perhaps spend a night or two at the hotel.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here when visiting family in the area and were not disappointed. The room was spacious with a wonderful view of the river. There is a spa, but we did not have time to use this unfortunately. We were able to make use of the outdoor seating for a drink during the afternoon as it was fine. We had not planned to eat at the hotel more than once, but the food was so good and the menu so varied, that we ate in the restaurant every evening, which is a first for us. The most original main course for our first night when we arrived late, was roast chicken breast with a herb and almond crust, served on a cauliflower risotto. Absolutely divine and perfect as we didn't want anything too heavy. There is also 24 hour room service, so something for everyone. The breakfast is also wonderful and the menu varied. We strolled along the quay to Christchurch harbour to watch the swans and it is only a short walk into Christchurch to do a little shopping. All of the staff were very attentive and all in all, we had a brilliant stay in fantastic surroundings and would definitely recommend both the hotel and restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captains Club Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Captains Club Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captains Club Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.