We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captains club, Christchurch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captains Club Hotel & Restaurant

Captains Club Hotel & Restaurant
Wickferry | Wicklane, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 127 restaurants in Christchurch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
surrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Captains club, Christchurch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We generally stay here 2 or 3 times a year and we absolutely love it. The staff are very good. Nothing is too much. The rooms are light and airy and always clean.
A must is booking to go out on the boat with Captain Chris, it's well worth the money. He is an excellent host and nice guy. It makes the weekend, we have been very lucky with the sea and weather when we've booked it. 10/10

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    114
    88
    38
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hants couple
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent birthday break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

My husband had always wanted to stay here and so I booked it for him as a birthday surprise and we were not disappointed. I could wax lyrical about everything, but suffice it to say that from parking the car to checkout, the whole experience was faultless. There are few hotels that you can say this about, but this is one of them. The staff have clearly been trained to deliver a high level of customer care and this shows at every stage of one's stay here. Well done to all at the Captain's Club

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arrived having booked a 2 bedroom suite and it was really excellent . It was beautifully appointed and had everything we needed and more. It makes a change to find a modern, clean and comfortable hotel with such lovely views in the UK . The staff were helpful and friendly and the service was quick and food excellent . The breakfast was the only let down as the cold table was not refilled with fruit and yoghurts and the selection was poor .
Overall we had a great stay and will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice views, shame about the rest!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Was so looking forward to having lunch here. We live fairly local and walk past often in the summer with children in tow,and have always said "one day I am going to come here and lounge around on chairs, enjoy good food and wine and be like
them"! Got rid if kids for the day and can honestly say, we were really disappointed. Service was slow, and when food eventually arrived it was not cooked well. Had a couple of spa treatments and went back in for a cocktail. The next time we walk by I won't be quite so jealous!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent from start to finish at Captains Club Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We (My mother and I) thoroughly enjoyed our recent visit to this restaurant and cannot fault it. We had an extremely friendly, professional and helpful waiter, Simone, who was attentive and knowledgeable about the menu and did his best to make recommendations for us based on what we liked and what we had eaten the previous day - which was no mean feat for two indecisive diners with all the time in the world.

All of our food was absolutely delicious - and we wouldn't make this comment lightly. We had eggs benedict to share as a starter (and they very kindly split it neatly onto two plates for us), followed by scallops and an open crab sandwich. Portion sizes were also very reasonable for the price. Service was prompt but not rushed, which is exactly how we think it should be.

The view and the atmosphere were also lovely, all of which made for a very enjoyable lunch. We would not hesitate to recommend it and we hope to return again soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captains Club Hotel & Restaurant also viewed

 
Christchurch, Dorset
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to Captains Club Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captains Club Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.