We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Kings Arms to your Saves list
The Kings Arms
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We got married at the Kings Arms Hotel in May this year. The venue is absolutely perfect with the Pavilion for the ceremony and the Kings Priory for the wedding breakfast and evening party. The venue is located next to Christchurch Priory and Castle, both of which provide brilliant photograph opportunities. The hotel staff were amazing on the day and although a few small things didn’t go quite to plan this didn’t spoil what was a truly amazing day. All our guests commented on how wonderful the venue, food and location were. The only thing we felt was missing was a food tasting session as this was not offered to us even when we requested one. However this is a small detail and we have no hesitation in recommending The Kings Arms as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your recent review of the Kings Arms. We are delighted that your special day went so well, and I will make certain to pass along your comments to the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    133
    33
    12
    2
See reviews for
58
293
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kosice, Slovakia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights and we enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel was clean, all members of staff were polite and friendly, they helped us with anything we needed. There is a pretty good restaurant with delicious food, try it if you stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent kind review of our property. We look forward to seeing you again on a return visit to Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We had our wedding here on the 14th June and was extremely impressed with the hotel and the staff. We do not live near the hotel and most of our communication was done via email. The staff stated in touch, got back to use quickly and answered all our questions.

On the day of the wedding the hotel went out of their way to help us, the service during the wedding meal was brilliant and they went out of their way with little touches that we did not expect. All our guests were impressed with the hotel and the surroundings and we had great reviews from the day. We had decided to upgrade to have our ceromony in the Pavillion and it was defently worth the money. Would recommend the pavillion to anyone.

The hotel is beautifull decorated and in a great location so easy to find. We had gustes staying in all the different room types in the property so I managed to have a look at them all. Each room was well set out and value for money.

I would definetly recommend staying here and if I was in Christchurch again would stay at the property. Thank you to everyone who helped us on the day at The Kings Arms

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of the Kings Arms. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the entire team. It was a pleasure to have served you and we are delighted that you found your special day went so well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a short break here and were delighted with the welcome we received. My husband uses a wheelchair and the staff could not have been more helpful, from the moment we arrived staff were attentive and tried to assist us. The lift itself is quite small and that necessitated my husband getting out of the wheelchair to go up to our room however staff were always there to offer assistance and one member of staff, Sebastian, carried it up the stairs and arrived when the lift did! We don't think the lift is suitable for someone who is confined to a wheelchair. Our room (101) was large, well furnished and comfortable with a walk in shower. In the dining room again staff were attentive to our needs and the food itself was excellent. We hope to return here!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz D, John Daniels - Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel, I will ensure that your comments are passed along to the entire team and look forward to welcoming you back to the Kings in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I attended a wedding at this venue with several friends and my wife.

I'll keep this short:

1. The bar inside the hotel was ok. Fairly expensive but I had a decent glass of white before the ceremony.

2. The bar for the reception/breakfast was not that great. It was too small. Too busy. Lacking in options and ridiculously expensive. £4.50 for a post mix coke that cost you about 14p? That is not acceptable pricing.

3. The bar staff inside seemed fine, the general helpers seemed fine, but the chaps on the bar in the reception area were pretty grumpy. Ok its a Sunday - but cheer up chaps.

4. The food was bland

The wedding itself was excellent, the venue really nice, its just a shame it's let down by a expensive bar and rather mediocre food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel. I am disappointed that your did not enjoy your stay with us, but take on board your observations and I will pass along your comments to the relevant departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed here for one night on 22nd June 2014. The gentleman who greeted me and my friend at gone 9pm was helpfulness itself. We had been let down by the local Premier Inn and had only just rung The Kings Arms to see if they had a room. The slightly slow registration process was not problem at all, as the clerk apologised for the delay - we were just so pleased to have a room at such short notice.

Once in the room, it was very well appointed with windows that we could open fully (it had been a hot day) and louvered shutters to stop bugs getting in but that let air in. There was a Dyson desk fan which was great. The beds were very comfortable and the room had an ironing board and iron in the wardrobe.

After a good night's sleep, the breakfast was top notch too. Cooked to order with a variety of options, e.g. eggs done how you want, eggs benedict etc. We'd definitely stay in this hotel when visiting Christchurch again. Twin room £95.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel and your kind comments. I will ensure that your comments are passed on to the entire team and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Christchurch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We spent a very pleasant 3 nights here at the beginning of June to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. This is a very well run Hotel with extremely helpful and pleasant staff, especially Josie and Chris - thank you both for your help (we did think that the Duty Manager should have been a little more informed on the local transport, instead of directing us to the Tourist Information Office though and some of the young European female staff could do with a little extra training.)
When originally booking we asked for a front Queen room overlooking The Priory but were quite relieved to find that we had been allocated a room overlooking the Courtyard which was so much quieter, well furnished with a smart bathroom although having a hip problem I did have difficulty climbing into the bath, which was very high sided!!
We would certainly return to this Hotel but would chose bed and breakfast in future, as there are many good restaurants nearby. We were looking forward to dining in the Hotel as we had heard many good reports, but were disappointed - the a la Carte menu gave a choice of Boiled Beef and Carrots, Fish and Chips etc. (there were some steaks but nothing out of the ordinary) and there was nothing on the l5 mile menu that I really wanted to eat, e.g. Mackerel, Liver, Hand of Pork or Vegetable Risotto - hardly the kind of food I would have expected at a Hotel of this calibre and there were only 3 other people in the restaurant when we dined, so perhaps we aren't being over critical. I have to say though that everything was presented beautifully and the puddings were delicious and we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts.

.

Room Tip: Room 201 - perfect - quiet and wonderfully comfortable bed, but if you have a hip problem the bath i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lukasz D, John Daniels-Duty Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel and your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.4 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Captain's Club Hotel
The Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 10 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 10 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#6 of 10 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch East
Premier Inn Christchurch East
#7 of 10 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients.The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
The Kings Arms Christchurch, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.