We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avon Causeway Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Avon Causeway Hotel to your Saves list
Avon Causeway Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Hurn, Christchurch BH23 6AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Brighton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel overnight on a Saturday in October. Pleasantly surprised when I turned into the car park and spotted they served Wadsworth real ale! First impressions were of locals and tourists alike enjoying themselves in a pleasant and friendly atmosphere. You register to stay in what was the booking office of this converted railway station and are made very welcome from the start. The room we had overlooked the rear garden, was comfortable and well laid out. Food that evening was adequate pub grub, but the full English breakfast served in the Pullman carriage was excellent quality, with fresh mushrooms and tomato that actually tasted of tomato (i.e not Dutch or Canarian). All the staff were friendly and efficient, and I have to say, if ever I'm in the area again, will make a point of staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    47
    17
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
53
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We paid £54 for a double room, which was well equiped and very clean and tidy. As we had to leave for the airport at 0440 we were left an excellent breakfast tray. Our car was safe and sound in the car park for our week away. Thank you well done.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Stayed here thi slast weekend after checking reviews for a romantic weekend.
What a great hotel, expected to bump into David Suchet any second as a real 'who done it location' An old railway station with Pullman carriage as breakfast room and authentic adverts, timetables and even an old cig machine! Rooms very good and spotless, the only minor glitch being a slightly blocked en suite sink running slow but which will be looked at after telling manager. Great but simple and very good food and supurb breakfast. Yes its near a dual carriageway into Bournemouth but not that obvious, great surroundings , great hotel and great staff, will book again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed 25th- 26th September 2012
We were visiting family in the Christchurch area and needed a hotel for two nights. Having checked on Tripadvisor we noticed that this hotel had some very positive comments. We booked with reasonably high expectations and we were not disappointed.
The hotel was formerly the Old Ringwood, Christchurch and Bournemouth railway station which closed in 1935. The station re-opened as a hotel and public house in 1971.
We stayed in room 9 which has a very large and comfortable four poster bed. The room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also very clean with a good shower over the bath. On our first evening we ate in the restaurant. Our waitress was attentive, friendly (with a lovely smile) and helpful. I chose the homemade pate to start and my husband had homemade soup. Well, I can only describe this as the best ‘pub’ food we have ever seen and tasted. Both dishes were wonderfully presented (worthy of any 5 star restaurant), the soup was in a lidded pot with very nicely presented bread. The pate portion was generous as was the accompanying salad, toast and chutney. The portions were so large we didn’t think we would manage the mains. For mains my husband had poached chicken served on a bed of creamed leeks and bacon in a stilton sauce. I chose the prawn and salmon tagliatelle in a wine and tarragon sauce. Again both dishes were beautifully presented and tasted great. I only wish we could have managed dessert as the dessert menu looked very tempting. The bill was less than £30.00.
In 1979 a Pullman railway carriage was added and is now the Orient Restaurant. This is used to serve breakfast. My husband had the full English which he enjoyed whilst I chose scrambled eggs with smoked salmon (I must have had half a side of salmon!). The following day I had poached eggs as someone else on Tripadvisor said they were good so I had to find out. I can confirm they were cooked perfectly.
The hotel was quiet on our first night with very few guests. The second evening was much livelier. The hotel has a Jazz/Blues night on the last Wednesday of every month and the place was packed. We really enjoyed it.
Finally I would like to thank the Manager Ibo and his staff (especially Alice) for a very pleasant stay. We will return.

Room Tip: Room 9 has a large and comfortable four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We parked at this hotel for 2 weeks and stayed for 1 night on our return from holiday.
Probably one of the closest hotels to Bournemouth Airport.
From beginning to end, we were treated very well - they made it so easy for us on arrival and departure.. Parking was free, rooms are immaculate and stocked to a very high standard.
The breakfast on the Pullman Carriage was an experience in itself - one of the best
we have ever had in the UK - you name it - they have got it! The staff are so warm and friendly.
Thanks to you all - we look forward to returning. x

Room Tip: Room 9 has a four poster bed:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stay here in room 14 with my two children 3 & 8 years old, we had a fantastic time, food was excellent! Room very clean, great powerful shower, very comfortable beds, we all had the best nites sleep, staff very helpful & we all enjoyed breakfast on the train carriage :) will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great little place and a great breakfast! we stayed just oine night, but very nice breakfast and hospitable staff.
I was offered a local remedy because I had a slight fever - brandy and port - and the barman offered not to charge for it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avon Causeway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Causeway Hotel

Address: Hurn, Christchurch BH23 6AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avon Causeway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a modern pub with accommodation The Avon Causeway provides an ideal stopover or base from which to explore the stunning Dorset countryside. Located in the small village of Hurn, The Avon Causeway has 12 rooms of varying types including twins, double and family rooms. As you'd expect the pub downstairs offers a public bar with a selection of award winning ales from Wadworth Brewery, a decent selection of wines & premium spirits and a range of continental lagers. Dining is available throughout with a range of seasonal British staples through to Italian Stone baked pizza and of course a selection of naughty puds to finish. Only 1.5 Miles from Bournemouth airport making The Avon Causeway the place to stay, dine & drink before your flight. We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Avon Causeway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Causeway Hotel Christchurch, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avon Causeway Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.