We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend helpful staff and wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Christchurch
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great weekend helpful staff and wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We spent last weekend at this hotel for a break after Christmas, we could not have asked for better. We had a garden room which looked over to the sea. We both love art deco and this hotel had some wonderful art deco furniture. The breakfast was good as was the service. Prior to returning home we had lunch in the Jetty Restaurant which was wonderful, food good, location good and attentive staff.
Bed hard for us hence sleep quality average, this of course is all down to taste. This did not however spoil our weekend.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil_L_CHH, Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent weekend stay with us.

I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit, our furnishings, service and food.
It was a shame that the bed firmness was not to your liking, we can always add an extra topper for you if required.

We very much look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    306
    134
    69
    40
See reviews for
168
601
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions over recent years and again they didn't disappoint. We were late booking and all the Bronze Rooms were taken, so for a very small amount we opted for Silver, which had a partial sea view. The room wasn't huge if judged by some hotel standards, but it was well equipped. The partial sea view was much better than anticipated and there was an ironing board, iron and a decent hairdryer. The bathroom had a good-sized walk-in shower and was immaculate. On our return from breakfast each morning we found our room had been cleaned and everything replenished.

We were interested in the new Upper Deck and we found it to be modern whilst retaining character. Its nice to have the bar as part of the restaurant, but there is still the lounge area to retire to if you so wish. We were quickly acknowledged each time we entered and you can either order at the bar or at a table. There are a number of new faces, all of whom were very pleasant, and it was nice to be recognised and greeted by several of the staff who have been there for some time. The food was of the same standard as we have experienced in the past and there is now a wider choice of menus. The only slight criticism is that the breakfast buffet is now smaller, so more likely to run out, therefore it needs to be watched more carefully by a member of staff.

The Spa is lovely, if compact, and we treated ourselves to a couple of treatments, thoroughly recommended. The sole purpose of our trip was to relax and apart from a walk each day along the sea-front to the local pub on the quay, which is very cosy, we were more than happy to relax at the hotel. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil_L_CHH, Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent break with us.

I was so pleased to read of your enjoyment and interest in our Upper Deck Restaurant and Bar.
It was great to read that you liked the changes especially now having the Bar and Restaurant in the same room.

Your feedback about the Spa and rooms is also very pleasing, and that the new and existing staff were pleasant, and you still enjoyed the food.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We chose to book the hotel again for our 2013 Christmas party as we'd had a fantastic time there in 2012, well what a bad move the proved to be!!!! Firstly when we arrived, i had booked the rooms in July and had asked that our rooms were all together, well they couldn't have been further apart if they had tried!!! When i found my room, i thought that i had walked into the store cupboard!! There is no way that was a double room!!!!! The mould around the windows in the room was very unpleasant, and shows the low standard of the hotel. Arriving in reception for the welcome drink was again very un-organised! Having run out of drinks and then having everyone crammed in was not pleasant. We moved into the party room to find that our table was half on the dance floor, with our chairs wedged between a speaker stand!!! Health and safety would have a field day!!!!! The cleanliness of the hotel has slipped massively and having bought a new dress, as like most of the guests, i was disgusted to having to be sat on filthy chairs (which i was told by Neil the hotel manager the next day, that there is no point cleaning them before christmas!!) We hadnt even had chance to sit down, before our starters were on our tables!! The food again was not up to standard, and i am pretty sure that they forgot to cook the vegetables!!! They were stone cold and hard!!! With several meals missing veg, i was trying to get the attention of a waiter to get some!! Im sure that they were purposely ignoring us!! As the evening went on, things didnt improve!!! The dance floor was half the size of previous, but yet more people were squeezed into the room!!! After being elbowed in the face (by accident) on the dancefloor, that was far to small, this ruined my evening!!! Night over for me!!! There was no wind down to the evening, it was just music stopped!!!! The next morning we went down to breakfast, and hour and a half before it was due to finish, we were very limited to what we could have on the so called hot buffet!! As a vegetarian, i was very limited, i asked the head waiter if they were replenishing, and he told me he had catered for 70 and thats it in a very rude manor!!! The mushrooms and tomatoes were congealed and cold. The baked beans were also cold and had a skin on the top of them and there was no scrambled egg left. When we came previously, it was cooked to order, and a wide range of choice. When i came to check out, apparently they had had a power cut and i wasnt able to pay for the drink, as they had no receipts for them!!! I have since paid for them, and im still waiting for them to post me my receipt!! When we were checking out I asked to speak to the hotel manager, Neil, who when i told him all of this basically laughed!!!! He said he would make note of the comments, and that was all!!! I have since emailed the events team i booked with and they have offered no resolution, and again emailed Neil. I am over £700 out of pocket, and feel ashamed that i had taken my staff there!!!! Never book an event with them, as they will take every penny from you, promise the world, and never deliver!!!!!

Room Tip: Best tip is stay somewhere else!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil_L_CHH, Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for writing about your experience whilst attending a party night in december.

I am so sorry that you felt the changes made at the Hotel impacted on space, we did reduce our numbers this year compared to last year.

We of course take all comments very seriously and will be looking into your feedback to make sure all of our guests are happy. We had some excellent feedback from other party night bookers, but we want to have it from everyone.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife and I took advantage of an after-Christmas package of two nights dinner bed & breakfast costing altogether a very reasonable £198. We arrived early January to the usual friendly welcome. Our room on the fourth floor was clean and warm but its layout wasn't as pleasing as first floor rooms we have occupied on previous occasions. However it was quiet and everything worked. Its just that one wouldn't like to spend too much time in it reading or watching television. The lighting in the bathroom was rather dim.

Whereas last November there was a receptionist waiting at the Upper Deck bar restaurant to take our order for drinks, this time there was a feeling that we were expected to order our drinks at the bar. Having said that, the restaurant was quite busy.

Table D'Hote dinner - Food quality and service were very good; Cheese souflee, sea bream, orange segments infused with a liqueur. Accompanied by a decent Argentinian wine costing around £24. Breakfast was very good but the hot course was brought to the table before we had finished our cereals. We asked the waiter to return it later. No problem and he had kept it hot. We noticed that another table near us has the same problem. A shame to feel rushed.

Parking space was adequate and we were told that if the guests' car park adjacent to the Road was full, somebody would take the keys and park elsewhere for us.

Minor quibbles. Having initially booked dinner for 7.30 p.m both nights, we were phoned and asked to re-book either at 6.30 or after 8 p.m. because our stay coincided with expected heavy bookings. We agreed to do this but later asked to change back, which was done without question. We were surprised to have been asked.

Piped music a little too intrusive for our taste and somewhat prone to heavy beat. The residents lounge was next to the bar and restaurant and shared the same piped music.

Altogether an enjoyable and comfortable stay with one or two minor surprises.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil_L_CHH, Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and service at dinner, and great to hear that your breakfast was kept hot until you were ready for it. Apologies if you felt rushed.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is the second time we stayed here, the first being about two years ago on a Sunday night. As usual we were the last minute people so had no choice with rooms and had to accept a garden/seaview room dinner, bed and breakfast but at a very good rate if I remember correctly. They’ve since refurbished the hotel and the prices seem to have rocketed. This time we stayed in a partial seaview room which was actually quite nice although quite compact for the price. But after paying nearly £200 for the room we found that with the fancy new lighting system I was unable to switch on just the bedside light so had to sit at the end of the bed reading from the bathroom light so’s not to disturb my friend! Why do hotels think guests are impressed by these fancy and complicated lighting systems? I don't know one person who likes them. We just want to switch the light on and then off. Is that too much to ask?
I could not remember breakfast from last time so it couldn’t have made an impression but this time it was a big disappointment. This is a four star hotel and yet the continental was of three star standard. I’m someone who wants something sweet for breakfast and usually I find this on the buffet in the way of a cake or muffin or on the cooked menu in the way of pancakes or waffles. The only thing they had which was sweet was a few tired looking pain au chocolats which if you’re not into pastries, like me, wasn’t an option. I asked the maitre’d if the chef could knock up a pancake or something similar but he came back and said that he couldn’t. So my breakfast consisted of a piece of toast and some tinned grapefruit. You’d have thought they’d have some fresh fruit on offer at least. Both of us love our coffee so asked for Americanos instead of the usual watery cafetiere coffee but the girl making these obviously wasn’t a barista as there was no crema and it was so weak that we might as well have had the cafetiere.
The staff were very friendly though in all departments and good to see them employing local people. We didn’t have dinner at the hotel but did go to The Jetty, their stand alone restaurant (which I’ve reviewed separately).

Room Tip: I don't like the new rooms they added on as I find them a little gloomy. The rooms in the origi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil_L_CHH, Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us.

It was so pleasing to read that you found all of our staff to be friendly. With regard to your feedback about breakfast, we appreciate all comments positive and negative and constantly review our offering based on guests feedback.
It is very hard to always offer everything as everyone has different likes and dislikes.

We very much look foward to welcoming back very soon

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Having looked this hotel up on the internet and booked two nights, we were disappointed. I would not pay the full price for this establishment. The cut-price rooms they have been advertising as Bronze Rooms are not good at all. Dark small and overlooking the car park or worse. It is a con, so you then ask to be upgraded at a large extra cost. The young lady on reception was very accommodating I must say, the best member of staff. Breakfast was very overcrowded and they were struggling to seat people. There was no fruit salad left (I do not eat cooked) no yogurt and four small pastries. Not good enough. The very small buffet section was not adequate for the amount of people dining. Luckily we ate in the evening at The Jetty which is very good. All in all we will not be staying here again and cannot see where they can be rated as a four star hotel, three if they were lucky!

Room Tip: Just go and inspect the first room they give you as some are positioned badly, and laid out poorly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil_L_CHH, Manager at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for writing a Trip Advisor review about your recent stay with us.

I was sorry to learn that you felt our Bronze rooms were less than satisfactory however I would advise you that we offer four categories of rooms with the Bronze rooms being our lowest tariff due to the size of the room and their aspect.

I was pleased to hear that our receptionist was very helpful and that you enjoyed your experience
at the Jetty.

Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We have been staying at the CHH for many years, but last January we decided that we would not stay again because there had been a rapid deterioration in standards (not prices ! ) over the previous couple of years. Food was poor, management weak, reflecting in a poor uncaring attitude of staff, and cleanliness was poor.
However, this year, following a very good offer for second week in January, we decided to give it one more try. Boy, are we glad we did. Pleased to say that everything has changed beyond all recognition.
New top management with the right attitude towards customers. This has reflected down to all staff, who now seem to care once again. All those we met were extremely friendly, helpful, and eager to please. Just what you expect in a decent hotel.
Special mention here for Abby. My wife had problems with a very high bath in our allocated room. Within minutes, Abby arranged a room change (upgraded), in a most efficient and professional manner - even helped us move our belongings - brilliant. She's definitely got the right attitude, nothing was too much trouble. Sadly this is so often lacking these days in UK hotels.
Food and restaurant service was much improved, and more realistic portions. And the physical changes in the bar/restaurant area were excellent. Thank goodness they've at last got rid of that awful, soul-less, box-room, they used to call the bar !
What stopped me giving 5 stars ? Lack of attention to detail in the servicing of rooms. One day we had no milk containers left, and my brother's room wasn't cleaned properly, and his bed looked as if it had been slept in ! These complaints were accepted with the right attitude, and we were given complimentary glasses of wine at dinner.
Apart from those small details, we had a very enjoyable stay, and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms facing car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Spa Hotel in Christchurch, Dorset. Waking up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoying a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hiding away with a holistic treatment at the luxurious Harbour Spa - this is all possible at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa. Make the most of this unique location whatever the season – a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Harbour Restaurant serves exceptional flavours from the landscape and waters of Dorset and a few steps across the lawn, literally perched on the water’s edge, is our award-winning restaurant The Jetty. From foraging in the New Forest, to the best local catch, expect wonderful seasonal ingredients and flavours. And as Dorset wedding venues go, the Christchurch Harbour is a home-from-home on your wedding day, in absolute luxury and in extra special surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.