We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Christchurch
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at this hotel before we knew what to expect, but regardless had a very good stay.

We had a 1 night champagne break with breakfast. Check in was prompt and very friendly, and the room was lovely. Very clean and with harbour views - although you could hear a lot of corridor noise from outside. The rooms are very hot however and with only patio doors (no windows) it was difficult to get a balance of fresh air and warm temperatures in the rainy UK weather!

Staff were attentive to our requests for gowns as there were none in the room and the fact that the iPod dock wasn't working.

The spa comprises a pool, sauna, jacuzzi with jet, salt room and steam room. It was very busy when we went, and there were lots of used towels and dressing gowns left around which could've been tidied away - but I guess that's what comes of a busy day in a spa! Free refreshments are also provided. On a quiet weekend I think it would be lovely and relaxing, but with families and children playing in the pool it was less like a spa and more like a leisure centre.

The hotel is currently updating the restaurant, so there was some chaos over breakfast as there isn't enough space in the room they're trying to serve everyone in. The buffet was neglected somewhat, however the hot food was well presented and still good. Service seemed a little chaotic as a result of this and perhaps wasn't as attentive as I would expect.

I would always recommend this hotel to others for romantic, family, hen do's or corporate breaks as the location and standard of accommodation is great for the money.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    306
    134
    69
    40
See reviews for
168
601
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile


I would never go back ..

I was quoted a higher rate on reservations and found out when I got to the hotel there was a special offer on .. Costing me £160.00 more for the 3 night stay.

On arrival the hotel looked very different from the web page ..it's quoted as a 4 star feels like a 3 star ..
Also it's going under a refurb and has lots of drilling and workmen all around ..

The spa also had problems with sauna not working and just didn't feel relaxing.. No music .. Unorganized. And the treatment ( 1hour of non relaxation ( therapist was sweet but talked to me for most of my treatment )

The jetty has lovely staff.. But the food had been served cold on both occasions.
Nothing special ..

I also ordered afternoon tea .. To my room it's nothing special and cakes hard .. Service poor ( forgot my napkins / plate and cutlery .. )
Then during my stay a waiter walked in without even knocking and I was in my dressing gown !!! )

I wouldn't stay here ever again.

Thank you to Adam the ops manager who helped me to sort our the wrongs .. But I still wouldn't stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My partner and I booked two nights at the hotel using the midweek Easter break offer they were doing. The deal came with two nights, access to the spa, full English breakfast each morning and 30 pounds each to spend on dinner on the first night. Firstly, the overall look of the hotel was nice and we were welcomed at check in by a nice man who had our card and details all ready to go as soon as we arrived. We were in our room soon after arrival and the room was lovely. Nice bed with down bedding, nice warm bathroom (because of the towel warmer!) and the champagne in our room was lovely. One thing I will add about the rooms is the doors slam sometimes. They are not weighted, well ours wasn't 209, it never seemed to happen at night, we only heard it twice but it does happen.
We tried the spa next, we liked that the lift went from our 2nd floor to the spa reception. The changing rooms were nice with heated flooring. The pool area wasn't huge, 14m pool, some loungers, steam room, sauna, salt room, jacuzzi and showers. The gym sort of overlooked the pool. We liked that it wasn't too big as it was cozy but not crowded.
That evening we had dinner, it was a nice surprise that they had a set menu 30 pounds for three courses so we only had to pay for drinks as park of the deal. The food was delicious! It was very nicely presented and was brought out quickly. I had the fish and chips which was defiantly fresh fish and my partner had the pork which just fell apart as soon as he put his fork in it. The meal was worth it but I will say that the wine was expensive and they didn't really dim the lights very much so it wasn't that romantic. Which was such a shame as the decor is nice with chandeliers, it had everything to make it romantic if they just dimmed the lights a little! The food was still worth it.
Breakfast was good. They had quite a good selection of food, although the continental breakfast was 12 pounds and I'm not sure we would have paid that for what they had to offer but our breakfast was included anyway. Cooked breakfast was good, you could order whatever ever you liked. We loved the coffee! It was really delicious. BIG DOWN SIDE however, currently they are re modeling the restaurant which was sold to us as a 'spring clean'. This didn't bother us except both mornings our breakfast was interrupted by banging, sawing and drilling coming from the other side of the wall. More than half the people at breakfast kept looking around and out of the window to see where the sound was coming from. It was really quite distracting. SUCH a shame they couldn't start work after 9.30 when breakfast had finished. It was the only time we didn't feel nice and relaxed.
lastly, I had a spa treatment booked but we were locked out of our room so I was late by 10 minutes. I explained we were locked out when I got to the spa but was surprised to find they still finished at the same time, so I missed out on 10 minutes of my treatment when I had paid for 55 minutes. I did however tell the lady during check out who called the operations manager who apologized perfused for this and refunded me a small part of my spa treatment as a gesture of good will. I was happy with this out come and went away feeling relaxed.

Despite a few glitches, I would defiantly recommend this hotel. Maybe wait until the remodel is done, but over all we loved our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a very good hotel. My wife and I spent a night there in conjunction with her Birthday and an evening meal out. Due to it being only a single night we booked a bronze room - lowest price- which was on the Spa level (ground) and does not have a sea view. However the room was very spacious and everything in very good order. En suite full bath and shower provided. Flat screen TV of course. Decent tea and coffee making facilities. Bathrobes and slippers are provided in all rooms and very nice robes too.
Staff and very friendly and aim to please. Bed and Breakfast and a very good selection of foodstuffs. "Cold" items buffet and orders taken for hot stuff to include Full English, Kippers and smoked salmon/scrambled eggs.
There is a decent saving by booking non-refundable, we paid £99 which I think reflects the quality of the hotel.
At certain times parking can be a bit of a lottery and the hotel does provide a valet parking service and on our several visits to this place we have always been OK.
The Spa provides a nice pool, jacuzzi and steam room. Sessions can be booked for massages and various spa treatments but must be prebooked as staff are provided as required.
At present the hotel is undergoing quite an extensive facelift but we did not find the work intrusive.
This is a nice place.

Room Tip: Rooms at ground level are convenient for the spa - low 100's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Molton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I booked in advance a weekend stay to celebrate my wife's 65th birthday and she certainly enjoyed the spa treatment. Overall the stay was very good, but somewhat pricey.
The location is ideal. A short ferry crossing to Mudeford beach and Hengitsbury Hill is very rewarding particularly in fine weather such as we enjoyed that weekend, if a little cold.
The food in the hotel is very good as you would expect from a two rosette status, but the restaurant area was under renovation at the time. An issue with booking and payment in advance has, although addressed by management, still not been fully resolved.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently visited The Christchurch Harbour Spa for the day with a friend and I have to say that it was amazing! I had a 55 minute ESPA Radiance Facial and a 25 minute hot stone back massage (I think the therapist was called Alice), and it was pure indulgence.

The changing room is a little on the small side and if you're going I would recommend taking your own robe as the ones they provide are cheap and tacky, but other than that it was great!

The pool area, salt grotto, steam room etc are all very well laid out and add to the luxury of the day, and the relaxation rooms are a great addition to it.

We had a 2 course lunch included (had the cheese soufflé and a pork dish) which was yummy. Unfortunately we did arrive early and decided to have a spot of breakfast which cost almost as much as the spa day as they didn't tell us that a piece of toast with 2 poached eggs would be the same as a full English (£18.00!)! Had I known this I would have ordered something else.

I'll definitely be returning though as the spa itself was lovely and looked brand new. The hotel itself could do with a little bit of a facelift though, both on the inside and outside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel has the most amazing location. It is beautifully furnished and clean and well presented. I went here lat on a spa day which was wonderful. The treatments were good, products and environment great. The parking can be limited. Well worth visiting if in the area. I have not stayed here so I can't comment but the food and services I have experienced have been good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa

Address: 95 Mudeford, Christchurch BH23 3NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Family Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Spa Hotel in Christchurch, Dorset. Waking up to incredible views over to the harbour, enjoying a bracing walk across to Hengistbury Head, or hiding away with a holistic treatment at the luxurious Harbour Spa - this is all possible at Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa. Make the most of this unique location whatever the season – a change of scenery, warm and attentive hospitality, delicious food, which reflects the very best local produce, and a chance to breathe in the fresh sea air. The Harbour Restaurant serves exceptional flavours from the landscape and waters of Dorset and a few steps across the lawn, literally perched on the water’s edge, is our award-winning restaurant The Jetty. From foraging in the New Forest, to the best local catch, expect wonderful seasonal ingredients and flavours. And as Dorset wedding venues go, the Christchurch Harbour is a home-from-home on your wedding day, in absolute luxury and in extra special surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel And Spa
The Christchurch Harbour Hotel Christchurch
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.