We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Symonds Yat Rock Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Symonds Yat Rock Lodge to your Saves list
Symonds Yat Rock Lodge
Hillersland | Coleford, Coleford GL16 7NY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Stayed here for one night last August. It is in a lovely position with beautiful views and the breakfast was very tasty. However, we were a little disappointed with the room. We found it a little cramped and rather too like a chalet.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
43
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
sutton coldfield
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We have just spent three nights in the lodge and wish it had been longer. The welcome was excellent, the room very comfortable with every thing you would need. The breakfasts were fabulous, among the best we have experienced and the owners are very accommodating and friendly.The booklet in each room outlining facilities in the surounding area is the most detailed we have ever seen and was very useful. The only disadvantage was a short drive to the pub at night to eat but it was only two miles and The Dog and Muffler is a very friendly place with excellent food and service. The self catering apartments we saw were also of a very high standard with fantastic views of the surounding countryside. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

We found the Symonds Yat Rock Lodge on a 'dog friendly' website. We were impressed by the pictures on the website, and the accommodation lived up to the promise of the pictures. We went self catering, but everything one could need was provided. More like a hotel than do it yourself... towels, bedlinen, soap and shampoo, coffee and tea, even dishwasher tablets were there to use! Spotlessly clean room, and your own front door too.

There are miles of walks right outside your door. Couldn't have asked for a better place to take a dog and have a leisurely walking holiday. Though we chose the place especially because it welcomed dogs, the nature of the way the accommodation is arranged is such that I don't believe there would be a problem for non-dog lovers if they didn't want to be disturbed by other people's pets. (and if other people with dogs had stayed in our room before us... and I am sure they had... there was no sign or scent of it, even for our nosey border collie!)

Not the place to go if you want a loud nightlife scene... unless the nightlife is owls! But perfect for an away from it all break, and perfect if you like to walk, either long distance or short.

Oh, and did I mention the scenery? Stunning!

We heartily recommend the Symonds Yat Rock Lodge, and would love to go back ourselves.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon wilts UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed at Rock Lodge for just one night for a weekend getaway. We were greeted by Darren who was very friendly and showed us to our room. He made sure we had all we needed before leaving. Our room was lovely, it was immaculate. A previous review said "only 4 tv channels" but we had all free view channels and a DVD player on the side of the telly. The bed was very comfy with plenty of pillows. At breakfast we were able to have a full vegetarian english which was lovely. I will certainly be staying again. I really cant fault Rock Lodge. Oh they also allowed our two dogs to stay too, a lot of "dog friendly" hotels/B&Bs can be a bit shaby but there was no evidence of other dogs ever staying there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

Stayed here for a short break to celebrate joint 40th birthdays with old school friend (surely we're not really that old?!) Accommodation is very clean, modern and well equipped. There's tea, coffee, sugar, dish washer tablets in the kitchen, nice soap and towels in the bathroom - but it's only a shower, no bath. It's really well planned, but perhaps better suited to a couple, rather than a pair - only one small sofa in chalet 6, and not much space between the twin beds. Views outside are lovely which is just as well, cos there's only 4 channels on the TV. No DVD, CD or IPod docking either, which perhaps lets it down as once you're 'home' for the day, there's nothing else to do. Pubs/shops/restaurants etc. are all a car drive away. It's ideally placed though for accessing all the touristy stuff in the area. Despite lack of bathtub, TV channels and nearby pub, I'd still go back as it's such good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYRL, Owner at Symonds Yat Rock Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Thank you for the feedback - all rooms now have freeview and DVD/CD players
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

Just returned from a 2 night mid week break at the Rock Lodge Symonds Yat.
Managed to shake the kids off for a couple of days and went in search of some serious r&r. On arrival at Rock Lodge, Darren greeted us and after the paperwork formalities showed us to self-catering apartment 5. WOW, despite being a couple of years old this apartment looked brand new! Wooden floors and light colourings combine to give a light airy feel, and attention to detail with the fittings made us feel at home instantly. We arrived with all the usual stuff you need in a SC apartment, tea bags, coffee, dishwasher tabs etc. only to find that everything was supplied and ready to use immediately, cant think of anywhere else we've been thats been so well equipped.
Apartment 5 is advertised as being larger than the other SC units; three times the floor space i think was quoted. Easily large enough for 4 people to sleep in comfort, 2 on the mezzanine floor and 2 on the futon style sofa bed. The kitchen area was superbly laid out with full size oven, hob, under counter fridge and built in dishwasher and still room for a small dining table, which we moved into the living area one evening to dine in front of the open french doors looking out over the valley as dusk fell.(there's romance in the old dog yet!) Location wise, you are right across the road from the woodland walks, and can get to yat rock in about 15 20 mins easily. You can also get down to the river itself via a fairly steep descent through the woods, rewarded with a cool drink in one of the pubs on the waterfront. Don’t need to say too much about the area as people coming here know just how spectacular it is. Rock Lodge is a top quality facility and will certainly get our custom again when we return some day soon.
p.s. yes you can watch tv from in bed, just as the website says!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

Spent 2 days at Symonds Yat Rock Lodge while visiting relatives in nearby Coleford.

There are a mix of SC apartments and rooms in an "L" shaped building backing onto the reception/lounge building. Both apartments and rooms are entered directly from outside, the apartments also have views over the surrounding countryside. We stayed in a B&B room although I had the opportunity to inspect an apartment.

The lodge is about 15 minutes woodland walk to the top of Symonds Yat. Great views over several counties and the river Wye.

The units are spotlessly clean and well equipped. I was surprised to discover that the units were constructed 6 years ago as they appeared brand new. Our room was medium size with baythroom containing a shower, WC and basin. Breakfast in the separate lounge provided fresh fruit, rolls, croissents and cereals plus a full "English" breakfast, The food was well cooked to order, was not greasy and tasted great.

In brief a great place to stay at a reasonable price in a very attractive area.

  • Liked — Confortable and spotless
  • Disliked — Shortage of plug sockets in room
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Symonds Yat Rock Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symonds Yat Rock Lodge

Address: Hillersland | Coleford, Coleford GL16 7NY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb modern open-plan apartments and comfortable bed & breakfast rooms at Symonds Yat Rock on the Wye Valley.Set in quiet wooded surroundings, overlooking the stunning Ruardean valley and opposite many footpaths into the Forest of Dean and to the Wye, Symonds Yat Rock Lodge is a peaceful, scenic location.A perfect base for walking (dogs welcome), canoeing, wildlife, adrenalin activities, sightseeing and attractions, or just relaxing in this Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Symonds Yat Rock Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Symonds Yat Rock Hotel Coleford
Symonds Yat Rock Lodge Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Symonds Yat Rock Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.