We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dryslade Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coleford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dryslade Farm
Save
You added Dryslade Farm to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   English Bicknor, Coleford GL16 7PA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Coleford B&B and Inns
Huddersfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Simply Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed two nights at Dryslade Farm and have nothing but good comments. We do a lot of travelling and stay in several hotels and guest houses during a year and this is one of the best. Everything you need in a good...no excellent...bed and breakfast you will find at Dryslade Farm. Nothing but praise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked a long weekend at this B&B following the reviews on Tripadvisor and we are so glad we did as we couldn't fault it. Slightly confusing as it advertises 3 rooms where is actually has 5. A double on the ground floor, a twin and a large double (slightly more expensive) on the first floor and a two doubles on the second floor - all are en suite (shower only) except one of the doubles on the second floor which has a private bathroom. The reason they do not advertise the other two rooms (on the 2nd floor) is that they use them if family are visiting. The rooms are very clean and have all the facilities you could wish for and more including a hairdryer, bottled water (still & sparking), biscuits and mint chocolates. On the first floor landing there is a fridge you can use to keep wine etc. in which was brilliant as we had two warm evening while we were there so were able to sit out in the garden with our friends having a drink and chatting. Even better as if you book the pub down the road for your meal (25 minute walk).no one needs to drive. The fridge also has fresh milk for your tea/coffee plus on top are various fruit teabags etc. that you might want. It took a little bit of finding even with a sat nav but just look out for the sign just outside the village. On arrival we were met by Daphne and Phil who were happy to chat even though Phil has the farm to look after (and no there are no strong farmyard smells). Plenty of parking and Daphne was kind enough to bring us a pot of tea and a plate of biscuits so we could sit in the huge great conservatory at the back of the house where you also eat breakfast and chat with our friends. There are four comfortable wicker chairs to sit on as well as the tables and chairs used for breakfast. As for breakfast - don't know where to start as it was definitely the best we have ever had anywhere in the UK and we've stayed in loads of hotels & B&Bs with our friends. With the cooked breakfast you have a choice of eggs which are brought out to you on a plate the rest of the bits (hash browns, mushrooms, sausages, bacon, fried bread, beans and tomatoes) are brought out on a large serving dish which you help yourself to and there is plenty and all very tasty and well cooked - most would struggle to eat it all. Then there is as much toast as you can eat with fresh butter, jam and marmalade in dishes. A jug of juice on your table, cereal, yoghurt and fresh fruit - brilliant. Daphne will help you with directions and recommendations of where to go. What more could you want. All I can say is if you are visiting the area do stay here but take a torch for the walk home if you are planning to use the local pub although Daphne will loan you one if you need it anyway. I'd easily give it 10/10 and are planning to stay again when we are next in the area (if they have room).

Room Tip: Given a choice I'd go for the double or twin on the first floor as others walking past can look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were two friends enjoying a few days walking & cycling in the Forest of Dean and fully spoilt at Dryslade Farm by Daphne and Phil who were wonderful hosts and made us feel very much at home in their beautiful character home. The beds were very comfortable, the breakfast delicious and all facilities were very clean. The extra touches really helped to make a memorable stay. We could happily recommend this B&B to anyone who can appreciate peace, quiet and good food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed at Dryslade Farm for the bank holiday weekend and loved it - it really was perfect in every way. Daphne and Phil are very welcoming and helped us out with whatever we needed. The room was beautiful, very large with a wonderful view of gorgeous countryside. The breakfasts were delicious, as much as we could eat. We had a fantastic time exploring the Forest of Dean by bike, visiting the mystical Tintern Abbey, going to Symonds Yat and walking along the pretty Wye valley. We recommend Dryslade Farm 100%!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Two-night stay in April, the hospitality was fantastic and within 10 minutes of arriving we were treated to a lovely cup of tea and a tray of biscuits, some home made. Breakfast was superb and cooked to order. The room was lovely and clean the bathroom was small, but sufficient for our needs. Both nights we strolled down the very quiet country lane to the Dog and Muffler pub, which was recommended by Daphne, and it didn't disappoint, the meals were lovely. We did a 8 mile circular walk from the farm, taking in Symonds Yat and the Wye River valley, it was a very scenic walk and as a bonus came across some wild deer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wokingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A lovely stay of 5 days, Daphne and Phil could not have made us feel more at home, always had time to have a chat despite their very busy lives and to give advice on local attractions, plus very helpful information about where to eat - most important. Breakfast was everything it should be and beautifully cooked, the standard didn't drop over the Bank Holiday week-end when there were 10 guests to be fed, Phil donned his 'uniform' and did sterling service providing the tea/coffee and toast. We had the delightful Primrose room which is very spacious even with a 6ft. bed. We would certainly make a second visit and would not hesitate to recommend it to our friends and relations. There was only one disappointment, at not time did we see Phil with his 'little bit of string' - you'll only find the answer to this by going there yourself!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very peaceful location with wonderful views of the English countryside. Daphne and Phil go out of their way to make your stay as stress-free and enjoyable as possible. The now legendary breakfast (read the reviews) more than lives up to its reputation, with endless tea and coffee to fuel your day. The rooms are very well equipped, wifi, tea/coffee/water provided and views from your ample sized and soft bed. We were even driven to the local pub when we wanted to go, something they really didn't need to do. Breakfast was held when we wanted it, and there was genuine care about our welfare. Should I ever be in the area again I would not hesitate to stay their. Cyclists more than welcome: our bikes safely locked away for the night.

Room Tip: Family rooms at the top are very spacious, with a massive bath (shared with one other room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dryslade Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dryslade Farm

Address: English Bicknor, Coleford GL16 7PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dryslade Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Daphne & Phil warmly welcome you to our 18th century farmhouse on working beef farm. Relaxed friendly atmosphere. Ample parking. Cycle storage. Large conservitory for breakfast using local or organic produce. Bedrooms en-suite and tastefully furnished with the mellow warmth of pine furniture. Guest lounge with log fires during winter. AA 4 star highly commended. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dryslade Farm Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dryslade Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.