We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Excellent Beer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Miners Country Inn

The Miners Country Inn
Chepstow Road | Sling, Coleford GL16 8LH, England
+44 1594 836632
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Coleford
Price range: $5 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Multi award winning pub in the Forest of Dean. Daily changing menus including Vegetarian, Gluten free, fresh fish and local meats and game. 98% of all produce sourced within the Forest of dean also award wining B&B
Lewes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good Food and Excellent Beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you are looking fir an eating experience in the Forest of Dean go to the Miners Inn in Sling. Good range of dishes at competitive rates. The food is expertly cooked, well presented by friendly and helpful staff. The Inn has a good range of beers and if you like the guest ale have another pint as it will be all gone tomorrow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    38
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Value for money, excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Doesn't look great from the outside and could benefit from a bit of paint and a tidy up of empty bottles etc however the owners are very friendly and the bar welcoming. The barman greeted us on arrival and was friendly but could have done with looking a bit cleaner and tidier. We paid £50.00 a night for a twin room and it was clean and fresh and for the price paid we were also very impressed that the bathroom had complimentary toiletries, only negative on the accommodation is that the cobwebs up by the ceiling need looking at in the bedroom as well as in the accommodation corridor/stairs. The food in the restaurant in the evening was fantastic and certainly not standard pub food. We waited a very long time for our starters and when we enquired how long they would be we were told in the next few minutes, which wasn't a lie. After this the staff were very attentive to ensure we did not wait too long for the next 2 courses. A suggestion for the owners would be to be able to order coffee without the chocolates/biscuits as while it is nice with one cup, if you want a top up of coffee they are served again which is expensive and un-necessary. Breakfast was amazing and of very good quality. We would definitely recommend staying and eating at The Miners Inn.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Spot on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Third time i have visited here to eat, so time for a review from a local. 10/10 and its not often i say that. Spot on food, friendly staff. Will return! Fresh fish made with cider batter is top notch, well presented. Bring back a kids play area in the beer garden and sorted!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in Room 4 very light airy and spacious and clean. Very good value for money. This room only has a bath which was fine. I understand they are renewing the carpets and Tv so then the room will be perfect. Pub was nice and friendly and the breakfast was really good. Staff and owners are also friendly . This is in a good location to get to chepstow, Monmouth, ross on wye etc and we had beautiful weather. We will be back again. Thank You.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester u.k.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“wet bank holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Camping in Coleford with partner and 11 year old son found this pub and decided to try it what a find, food great, hot and good portions and reasonably priced, Son had nuggets and chips with ketchup, partner and myself had two course option for £8 ish we had pea and ham soup and fish & chips absolutely fantastic weather was cold and wet and when we arrived my son asked which bit was warmest in the corner was the friendly reply. staff were great and food was enjoyed by all!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Miners Country Inn also viewed

Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 
Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 

Been to The Miners Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Miners Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.