We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard pub grub” 3 of 5 stars
Review of the dog and muffler inn

the dog and muffler inn
berry hill | joyford, Coleford, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 23 restaurants in Coleford
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: near coleford
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Standard pub grub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just popped into here for lunch as not been in several years. Very friendly and helpful service, very clean and welcoming, and if it had been warmer, a lovely patio overlooking the valley. The lunch menu is quite restricted, and pretty standard. The kids menu has more choice! I had the curry of the day, which the board said was Tikka Masala, but was as far away from that as could be. The wife had Beef and Ale pie, which was very good in her words, but the Sautéed potatoes were of the frozen variety which is a little disappointing. There is nothing negative to say about here, just finding it hard to separate from the rest which is why I give it an average score.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    41
    17
    8
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Was a fab place to eat, excellent food , good choices, great service and a nice place to eat. View was nice if I remember and I all food was fresh, tasty and lush. Perfect evening out .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great food and dog friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Welcoming, wide choice of food on the menu, tasty and well presented. Dog friendly. Good value for money.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“lovely pub grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Enjoyed and lovely meal here although it was rather noisy - there was another large party nearby.Food and service very good though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend
1 review
“A Brilliant Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We visited this pub whilst on holiday nearby. As the food was so good we had 4 meals there and took our dog each time. The portions were generous so we never actually had a starter, a main and desert in one go. The pub is very pretty inside and the outside looked very nice but we didn't sit in the garden as it was a little chilly. The staff were very friendly and the locals were nice as well. We couldn't recommend this pub enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the dog and muffler inn also viewed

Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 
Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 

Been to the dog and muffler inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the dog and muffler inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.