We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The New Inn

The New Inn
Shortstanding, Ross Road | Forest of Dean, Coleford GL16 7NT, England
01594 836857
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 23 Restaurants in Coleford
Cuisines: British, Fish & Chips
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Had a great time but watch the meals portions are HUGE! Very welcoming place for a pint.Place to visit after a long walk/cycle to fill up.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to eat and enjoy,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Have eaten here on many occasions with the family whilst camping nearby and with work colleagues when working at the nearby quarry.
Always friendly and welcoming excellent food, great place to eat if your camping.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bham
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Call in if you are staying at nearby campsites”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Visited whilst staying at Christchurch camp site - easy walk from there, although definitely take a torch if walking at night as lacks footpaths en-route.
Cosy pub, but drinks are not cheap. Choice of beers.
Didnt eat here as had food to cook back at camp site. However, on the Saturday evening we were there people were queuing to get in the restaurant - doesnt open until 6pm. Good choice of food on the menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, Wilts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Grub and Ale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We have eaten here on several occasions during camping trips to the area. We found the pub to be very pleasant, clean and welcoming. They have a good selection of decent ale and a good pub food menu. The prices are fair and the portions give good value. What more could you need.!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Asked to leave at 11”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Went to a event here were many locals attended. After it turned 10 we were told it was last orders which was rediculous as the pub was full , so we got a round in. After we brought a round we were ask to be quite then they just turned the light out this was at 11. Not only was this rude it was very poor management as we could of seriously hurt ourselves in the dark. Never go there if you want to be able to afford a drink stay out til dark or stay alive. Arrogant owners and a glass of wine is 5.50 u can buy the bottle at Tesco for that don't waste money and time

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The New Inn also viewed

Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 
Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 

Been to The New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.