We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Speech House Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Speech House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Speech House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coleford Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Coleford
GreenLeadersGold level
Herts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It was difficult to find a hotel with a good review in the area and I have mixed feelings over this particular one. We chose to eat in the a la carte restaurant as the Orangery menu appeared a little unexciting. The dining room itself was bleak, no atmosphere and depressing dark walls. The background music of Adam Ant and Ian Dury was a bit odd but saying that the food was ok, not wow but ok and the service friendly. The orangery looks much more inviting, perhaps this was because it has had money spent on it more recently. The bar bill was reasonable as was the wine list which makes a pleasant change.
The location appears idyllic on initial impression however I agree with other reviews the road noise was unpleasant ... from 0530 it was like being beside the M1. Fluffy white towels and clean bathroom but cracked tiles everywhere let the room down and the provision of 2 teabags was not enough but this wasn't discovered until bedtime and therefore we didn't bother asking reception for more. There should be more anyway,
All the staff were polite and friendly making us feel very welcome but to be honest breakfast was a let down, the quantity was fine but the quality was not there for the £120 + price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Ninapup,
Thank you for leaving a review on your recent stay at the Speech House.
I am sorry that you found the Verders Court Restaurant to be bleak and dark, the room is listed and dates back to 1669 so we are not allowed to paint it in bright colours. I can ony apologise for the choice of music that was being played it should have been different CD's. I have taken steps to ensure this does not happen again.
The Orangery is 4 years old and is a modern extension which has many windows and has escaped the listed building officers, as opposed to the Historical Verderers Court.
I am glad that you enjoyed your meal and found the staff to be friendly and efficient.
We do hold an additional stock of tea/coffee etc at reception which we will happily deliver to the guests room, but i agree there should have been more in the tray. I have investigated and found that the junior chambermaid forgot to top up the trays. Apologies once again.
With regard to the hairline cracks in the bathroom tiles, we have been trying to find identical tiles to replace the ones there and are still searching.
I apolgise if you felt you did not get value for money but as you will have noted when reading the previous reviews the majority of our guests compliment us on value for money.
I hope you had a safe and uneventful journey home.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    105
    41
    11
    10
See reviews for
68
154
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had originally booked a courtyard room for an overnight stay, but an "exuberant" party in the adjoining room made relaxation difficult. A visit to reception for assistance resulted in an immediate upgrade to what is probably the most beautiful hotel room I have ever slept in. I was surprised and delighted by this totally unexpected development and cannot speak highly enough of the staff. Excellent service at both lunch and breakfast. Recommended.

Room Tip: The four-poster rooms,particularly no. 2,are stunning. If sleep before midnight is important to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear MarkB 1958
Thanks for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay at the Speech House.
I am so pleased we were able to resolve your issue with the exuberant couple in the next room to you satisfactorily..
Thank you for your very kind comments regarding room 2. The four poster bed dates back to 1830 and is as you say truly amazing.
We do try wherever possible to ensure our guests have an enjoyable experience when staying with us and having read your review I am pleased to see that on this occasion we managed to achieve this for you both.
I have passed on your very kind comments to all of our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Speech House.
Thanks once again for leaving your feedback
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Had a lovely weekend here. We booked one of their special offers "Explorer break package" which was great value for money and were upgraded to a four poster room in the main hotel, although did find it a tad noisy with the busy main road outside, however we weren't in the room very much. We had to take a double take in the bar as Greg Wallace was staying there and had a special dinner taking place on the Saturday night and although we hadn't booked for that, it was great to bump into him on the Sunday at the food festival taking place in the field next door to the hotel. Our room was comfortable, the staff were great and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Dejaviewhousehold,
Thanks for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House.
Firstly I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your Explorer Break and thought it was great value for money.
Sometimes the road in front of the hotel does get busy and can be a little noisy but it did not seem to cause you too many problems. The building is listed and it is difficult to get permission to install double glazing, however it is still work in progress.
I am pleased you enjoyed your four poster room.
Your comments on great staff and delicious food are very much appreciated. I have conveyed them back to all of our team.
Gregg Wallace, was indeed staying for the weekend. Gregg very kindly was hosting the pre Forest Showcase,Food Festival Dinner we were holding and then opening the event on our field the following day. He has become a good friend and enjoys his escape to the Royal Forest of Dean. He enjoyed his stay and once again has asked to be invited back to next years event.
He is as you discovered great fun.
Thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next decide to take a "Cheeky Break".
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Popped in for lunch with the in-laws. A busy service for the team, but very welcoming indeed. The menu is fairly extensive, although pretty bland from my view. The food itself was of decent enough quality, served in a good time frame, but lacked a bit of imagination...plus my side salad had been dressed for me, which annoys me (it's a personal thing!). I'd like to give the whole experience a 3.5 as it's above average, but not good enough to be very good. The orangery is stunning by the way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Andy H
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent visit & lunch in our Orangery.
I am pleased to read that our team although very busy provided you with good friendly service.
Our menu offers a wide selection of traditional food, each dish cooked fresh from ordering. I am sorry that in your view you thought it pretty bland, but we try to cater for all tastes. The menu for the Orangery is wholesome food using local produce. I am sorry that it did not appear imaginative enough for you but food is as you say with your salad being pre-dressed is a personal thing.
I am glad you found our Orangery stunning and the service good. Thank you for giving your rating on your meal, which I have conveyed to our Head Chef.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My father was from the Forest of Dean, so when work gave me a trip to Gloucester I thought I'd take the chance to stay in this place of significance that I'd heard so much about. I arrived after the kitchen had closed, but the staff were very helpful in getting me a plate of sandwiches.

Tired, I headed to my room in the outside block and I'm afraid to say that it seemed a little grubby, it was cold and worst of all there was an unpleasant smell which kept me awake. I wish I'd had the energy to complain, but I wrote it off as one of those disappointing nights I've had in provincial hotels.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear DougM 1962,Thank you for leaving a review on your stay at the Speech House.
I was extremely concerned to learn from your review of your experience in one of our courtyard rooms.
I am unsure of what time you arrived but had you rung reception on discovering the unpleasant odour we would have immediately moved you to another room. I have asked my housekeeper and maintenance team to explore the source of the problem.
I am glad my Night Porter was able to fix you up with some sandwiches and refreshments.
Once again my apologies that you encountered a problem but I would assure you my team and I work extremely hard not to be as you say "just another provincial Hotel" but to ensure our guests are happy and if there is a problem that we rectify it as soon as we are made aware.
I do hope you will return when next in Gloucestershire to enable us to show you this was a blip on our part.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We came to The Speech House for a Gala dinner with Phil Vickery and Greg Wallace. We arrived to a champagne reception and very warmly greeted by Peter and Gill. The food was outstanding and very delicious. Compliments to all the staff for such a wonderful evening. Thoroughly recommend a visit you will not be disappointed. A must visit!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Hotson99,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent experience at the Speech House.
I was delighted to read that you had a great evening with Gregg Wallace & Phil Vickery at our pre Forest Showcase Gourmet Dinner.
It was a pleasure to meet you and the guests on your table on the evening.
Thank you for your very kind compliments about the quality of the food and the service afforded you by our team.
I have passed on your very kind comments to all of our team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Speech House in the near future.
Thanks again for leaving a review.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/ Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

We were in the Forest of Dean for my parents Ruby wedding anniversary and booked lunch at the speech house as my parents had stayed there some years ago and remembered a wonderful stay. I emailed to enquire about decorations and a cake being supplied and the staff could not have been more helpful. When we arrived the table had been decorated beautifully and at the end of the meal they presented my parents with an amazing gateaux cake. The meal was excellent and the waiting staff very friendly. The location is also second to none as it it right in the Forest, surrounded by beautiful walks.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Colek321,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent visit to the Speech House.
I am delighted to read that you were extremely happy with your parents ruby wedding and it revived happy memories.
Thank you for your very kind comments on the cake, my Head Chef was pleased to know you had enjoyed it.
Thank you also for your very positive comments on how the team looked after you when making your booking and on the day of your parents celebration.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Speech House in the future.
Thanks again for leaving feedback which I have passed on to our team.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director/Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Speech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speech House Hotel

Address: Coleford Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speech House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly built in 1669, as a Hunting Lodge for Charles II the Speech House sits at the heart of the Royal Forest of Dean.The main house has 15 bedrooms including three antique four poster beds.The remainder of rooms are situated in the Courtyard and Cottage.The hotel is home to one of only two Verderers Courts in the UK and is used as the main restaurant for the hotel.The hotel offers a wide range of room type to suit all budgets, and is pet friendly in the Courtyard rooms, subject to availability.The Orangery is open to non residents for morning coffee,aftrernoon teas, and bar lunches and evening meals.Free Wi Fi is available to residents for 1 hour during their stay and then it is subject to a small charge.There are approximately 253 miles of walking and cycling trails on the doorstep of the hotel. Speechhouse is an ideal venue for touring the Wye Valley,Gloucestershire and the Southern Cotswolds and South Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Speech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speech Hotel Coleford
The Speech House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Speech House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.