We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent British hospitality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Speech House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Speech House Hotel to your Saves list
The Speech House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Speech House Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Édessa, Pella, Greece
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent British hospitality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Magic royal countryside atmosphere in the heart of Dean Forest. Excellent breakfast using the hall of the forest commite. You have to try the delicious plates at the forest glass-restaurant. We talking about a green tourism unit. Excellent.

Room Tip: In any case you can leave your car very close to your room and select a room near to main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Evangelos
Thank you for taking time to leave a review on your recent visit to the Speech House Hotel..
I hole that you found your information gatheing visit in connection with Green Tourism.
As you were made aware we are playing our part in reducing our carbon footprint.
I was also pleased to learn you found the historic Verderers Court interesting and that you enjoyed your tour of The Royal Forest of Dean.
We were delighted to look after you and your group and hope that you may return in the near future.
Best wishes
Peter & Gill Hands
Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    140
    49
    13
    14
See reviews for
82
207
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel is positioned right in the middle of the forest so that you can walk straight out of your hotel room and into the arboretum. The hotel itself is the home of the Verderers Court which still meets four times a year and has done since the days of Charles II. The rooms are well appointed (we were upgraded to a four poster!) and the food excellent - we ate in both restaurants. The staff were extremely polite and well-mannered. If wi-fi is a priority, coverage is extremely patchy and only consistently good in the reception area. Although we didn't bring any dogs this time, the hotel is extremely dog-friendly and we look forward to visiting again with them to take advantage of the delightful woodland walks.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Julia,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review following your recent stay with us at the Speech House.
I was so glad to learn that our team had looked after you and that you had enjoyed all of your food during your stay.
It is always very satisfying to be able to share the history of the Verderers Court and of the area of the Royal Forest. I am glad I was able to tell you about the Verdererd Court
Wi Fi is available in all areas of the main house and we are investigating the cost and opportunities of installing it to the Courtyard rooms.
I hope you had a safe and uneventful trip home.
We look forward to welcoming you back with your dogs in the very near future.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was booked into the Speech House for a filming trip in the Forest of Dean by the tv company . The staff were lovely and dealt very well with the issue that my room hadn't been serviced after my first night there. Dinner was excellent and served by lovely staff. Breakfast was ok but I would have liked to have had flavoured yogurt and fruit compote which were not available. The decor is a bit "tired " in places. Internet is only available in reception but is free.

Room Tip: I was in the Motel bit. Parked by the room door. It was very convenient but I would have preferred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear KR Bristol,
Thank youo for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at the Speech House.
Firstly, may I apologise for the oversight of your room not being serviced after your first nights stay, Our housekeeper was off the following day and there was a breakdown in communication. I was though pleased to read that our staff dealt with matter very well and to your satisfaction.
It was pleasing to read also that you found Dinner to be excellent and again that you well looked after by our team.
I have noted your comments on Breakfast and the fruit compot, we will endeavour to ensure we get some on the breakfast table in future.
We are as you know carrying out a rolling refurbishment programme throughout the hotel and will continue to progress it even through these tough economic times.
We will do our best to ensure that for your next visit you are accommodated in the main house.
I am delighted that we looked after you well and look forward to you returning in the future.
I trust you had a good day filming.
Best wishes
Peter & Gill Hands
Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A group of 72 of from a Classic Car group stayed for the weekend.
We booked every room in the hotel and had a super time. As we were such a large group we had our evening meals in their marquee. It was beautifully decorated and warm and the food was great. The bar and waiting staff worked very hard and their efforts were very much appreciated.
We had the breakfast buffet which again worked very well, no complaints at all about the food.
All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. It is a lovely area to stay with a classic car and we would recommend it to other groups looking to visit the area and we will be returning with the same group in 2014.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear MJO,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review following your recent stay with us at the SPeech House.
I was delighted to read that you and your Morgan car club enjoyed your stay with us. I have passed your very kind comments onto our team. It is always rewarding to receive positive comments and to know we have made our guests happy and met their expectations.
I was also delighted to read that your group are intending to revisit us in 2014.
Thanks again it was our pleasure to look after your group who were all extremely nice people.
I hope you all arrived home safely after an uneventful journey.
Best wishes
Peter & Gill Hands
Directors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Lots of character and an idyllic location right in the heart of the forest with history that actually associates the hotel with the royal forest.
The staff were amazing and took time to get to know you and the service was efficient and polite. We could see how busy the owner was but he still took time out especially to talk about the full history of Speech House, very interesting too!
The room? Well, amazing springs to mind. . Room 4, wow! Full suite with a massive 7x7 four poster bed.
The food was wonderful both within the main room restaurant and orangery . Well done to all staff, we are looking forward to our next stay. Thank you

Room Tip: Without a doubt, room No. 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Diane,,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a response on your recent stay with us at the Speech House.
I was delighted to read that you both enjoyed yourselves while you were with us.
It was my pleasure to take 5 minutes off to tell you about the wonderful history of the hotel.
Thank you for your feeback on the service of the staff and the quality of the food, its always nice to get positive feedback and I have passed it on to the team.
The Wallnut 4 poster is something special I agree and I am delighted that you liked it. We are still trying to trace the history of it, perhaps will have more information by the time of your next visit.
We all look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel in the near future and hope that you had a safe & uneventful journey home.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

When we booked the room we were told we were in room 14 but when we checked in we were relocated to room 18 and given no reason. We were a bit disapointed as wasnt in the main hotel but thought the new room was maybe better as we would be able to come and go more easier. The room was cold, the carpet was frayed, the shower kept changing temp, the shower mat needed binning, cobwebs on ceiling and the drapes above the bed were covered in dust!!!! We were woken in the night by the next rooms tv also.
On a positive note we ate in the orangery and had a good meal and james the waiter was v.
ery attentive.
The staff were pleasant and the hotel is in a beautiful location.
On checking out we didnt have the newspaper we ordered and we wasnt asked if we enjoyed our stay. If we had of been asked i would have raised these points to them and wouldnt be leaving this review on here.
Overall i dont think we would return based on room 18

Room Tip: Avoid court rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Nickyb90
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at The Speech House.
Your booking was made through an agency TLC, as part of an insurance transaction you had made. TLC booked a room to a value of £50.00 which is for one of our standard rooms on a room only basis. They should have informed you that subject to availablity you could for a small fee upgrade to one of the rooms in the main house which have recently been refurbished.
I was dissapointed to read your comments on the cleanliness of the room, and having checked with my housekeeper the room had been thoroughly cleaned the day before in readiness for your arrival. I can only apologise on this occassion that we fell below our usual high standards in housekeeping. I did inspect the carpet following your revoew and can find no evidence of fraying.
If you were unhappy with the family room you were allocated and had returned to reception to make your voews known we would have done our utmost to find you another room.
on a positive note I was delighted to learn that you enjoyed your meals in the Orangery and that our team looked after you very well and that you found them very helpfull and friendly.
Thank you once again for leaving your review and I would like to assure you we take all comments seriously, as they are fed back to the various departments to help in training staff.
Thank you once again
Peter Hands.
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Having read some of the reports re; the courtyard rooms we booked a 2 night stay in the main building. Room spacious and a beautiful 4-poster bed. A problem with the bathroom meant we were upgraded to a fantastic room with the most enormous 4 poster, complete with seperate dressing room. Had dinner included on first night and the meal was very enjoyable served by smiling knowledgable staff happy to engage in banter. As it was the weekend breakfast was busy and thus self service from 'warmers'--not my favourite. Part of the deal was a delicious cream tea. Warm scones with plentiful clotted cream and preserve-excellent. That night we ate in the 'Orangery' and again had a very nice meal. Breakfast next day was prepared fresh-major improvement. Numerous walks on the doorstep and breathtaking scenery. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear Pigsleyfan,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House.
I was delighted to hear that you found room 4 an amazing experience. The antique four poster bed is fantastic.
It was also gratifying to know that you found our team both in the restaurant and reception helpful and knowledgeable and that they engaged in banter with you..
It is always good to receive positive feedback, and I have passed on your kind comments to the team.
We serve breakfast buffet style when the hotel is extremely busy, but where ever possible we prefer table service, and I was glad you enjoyed the personal service.
We all hope you will return to stay with us again in the near future and pursue some of the walks you may not have completed.
Thanks once again for leaving us feedback and I hope you had a safe and uneventfuljourney home.
Yours sincerely
Peter Hands
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Speech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speech House Hotel

Address: Speech House Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly built in 1669, as a Hunting Lodge for Charles II the Speech House sits at the heart of the Royal Forest of Dean.The main house has 15 bedrooms including three antique four poster beds.The remainder of rooms are situated in the Courtyard and Cottage.The hotel is home to one of only two Verderers Courts in the UK and is used as the main restaurant for the hotel.The hotel offers a wide range of room type to suit all budgets, and is pet friendly in the Courtyard rooms, subject to availability.The Orangery is open to non residents for morning coffee,aftrernoon teas, and bar lunches and evening meals.Free Wi Fi is available to residents for 1 hour during their stay and then it is subject to a small charge.There are approximately 253 miles of walking and cycling trails on the doorstep of the hotel. Speechhouse is an ideal venue for touring the Wye Valley,Gloucestershire and the Southern Cotswolds and South Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Speech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speech Hotel Coleford
The Speech House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Speech House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.