We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea in the Orangery at the Speech House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Speech House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Speech House Hotel to your Saves list
The Speech House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Speech House Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Cornwall, UK
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea in the Orangery at the Speech House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I didn't stay at the Speech House but I went there for afternoon tea with twelve of my relatives for my mother-in-law's 80th birthday. We had booked the Orangery and were shown into an airy and welcoming room reminiscent of a 1930s tea room, which is very appropriate for the surroundings. Afternoon tea for two is usually £15. We ordered seven of these. As you can see from the photos, the food was extremely plentiful. There were two monstrous plates of sandwiches, and because some of us are veggies the staff had helpfully provided a separate plate of veggie sandwiches so we didn't have to pick around amongst the ham and mustard. These small rectangular sandwiches are called tea sandwiches and are made with a thick but airy white bread. Some were on brown. The selection was ham and mustard, salmon, cucumber, and brie and cranberry. In addition to the colossal plate of coffee and walnut cake and fruit cake in the photo there were gigantic scones with lashings of clotted cream and jam. And of course, tea and coffee. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Overall I highly recommend this hotel for afternoon tea. Go hungry and take a tupperware for the left overs. Indeed, the staff helpfully packaged up our left overs for us to take away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Out & About,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent visit to the Speech House Hotel.
We were delighted to host your Mother in Law's Birthday Afternoon Tea and hear that you all had a fantastic celebration.
We have passed on your very kind comments to all our staff and we look forward to welcoming you all back for you next celebration.
We hope you all had a safe and uneventful journey home and once again many thanks for leaving us a positive review on your experience with us.
Best wishes
Peter & Gill Hands
Proprietors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    140
    49
    13
    14
See reviews for
82
207
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

A two night away break with my wife over the holiday period. Good spacious clean room with grand 4 poster bed. Excellent food in the restaurant served by very friendly and helpful staff. In addition after a long walk enjoyed the orangery where you could relax with a cream tea and read the papers. No hesitation in going again. Mark

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear RT111,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us at The Speech House.
We were delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that we catered for your special dietry needs well.
You stayed in room 10 which does indeed have the legendry historical whipping post, always a source of interest to our visitors.
I was delighted to take the time to explain the workings of the Verderers Court and the histoy of the furniture and paintings to you. It is indeed a very special room and one of only two Verderers Courts in the UK.
I am delighted to inform you that just after your departure we commenced a major refurbishment of all the bedrooms in the main house, and we hope one day you will be able to return and see the transformation.
I hope you had a safe and interesting time after you departed The Speech House and had an uneventfull journey home.
Thank you once again for leaving a review.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Had a lovely time over the Jubilee weekend, so pleased that The Speech House is a dog friendly hotel. Ideally located for nice walks. Staff were really friendly and helpful, although it took us a while to realise that the breakfast is self service! Our room was nice and spacious, very comfortable. Excellent food, would definately stay again.

Room Tip: Cottage is nice if you want to stay with pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear Smithy,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your stay with us at the Speech House.
We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in one of our cottage rooms, together with your pooches.
I have passed your kind comments on to our team and we all look forward to welcoming you back.
We hope you had a safe and uneventful journey home.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Nothing massively dreadful about our stay at Speech House, apart from the price. The courtyard family room was nothing spectacular: the door opened directly onto the road through the car park, the bathroom was tired (and oddly the washbasin was not actually in the bathroom), the water temperature ranged wildly from lukewarm to scalding, and there was no heating. It was small for a double plus two singles and the soundproofing virtually non existent, so our inability to get the TV working properly didn't really matter as we listened to the football commentary from next door instead. It was a bit like a Travelodge before they rebranded. Remarkably, we slept very well, though that was maybe more a result of our long drive and late arrival than the quality of the accommodation.

Plus points - and there were some - staff were very pleasant without exception, breakfast was excellent, and the location is perfect for exploring the Forest of Dean. Had the room been £80 for a family of 4, I'd have given it four or maybe five stars; its just really, really expensive for what it is, and therefore hard to forgive the shortcomings at such a high price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear ATP,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay at the SPeech House.
I apologise that your accomodation fell below your expectation, however I have been unable to marry up your review date to your stay, and therefore how many people were in your party.
The room does indeed open out onto the courtyard car park, and the road is the opposite side over the cattle grid.
I wish you had reported the problem with your TV as we could have sent a member of staff to resolve the problem immediatly, also could have asked the adjoining room to moderate their TV volume.
Delighted to hear you found all the staff very friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed the location.
We hope that you will return in the future and perhaps try one of our other bedrooms.
Once again I am sorry you did not feel that you received value for money.
We hope you had a safe and uneventful journey home.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Visited the Royal Forest of Dean recently and ate in the Orangery at the Speech House on several occasions as a non resident. Cannot fault the service, environment, value for money and quality of the experience. The tastefully decorated orangery and bar area is also dog friendly which is an added bonus.
Will stay in one of the courtyard rooms on our visit the Forest of Dean.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Milo,
Thank you for leaving a review of your recent visit to the Speech House.
I was delighted to hear that everything met your expectations and that you found both the Orangery and the food enjoyable.
It is always heartening to receive positive comments, and I have passed them onto our team.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to the Speech House and hope you had a safe journey home.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay with a group of friends. There were 16 in our party, plus 2 dogs, and the hotel accommodated us all in very comfortable rooms. We were very impressed by the friendly, helpful staff and the efficiency of the kitchen in providing wonderful dinners and breakfasts. The location was perfect since we were able to walk in the forest straight from the hotel, and also enjoy visiting the Wye valley with all its attractions. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear VJoan,
Thank you for taking time to leave a review of your recent stay with us at the Speech House.
We were delighted to hear that you had a great stay with your group and that you enjoyed your meals to.
I have passed on your very kind comments to the team and we look forward to you all returning soon.
Glad the dogs had a good break too.
Thanks once again for your review.

Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

My parter and I spent one night in this hotel as a quick weekend break away. We stayed in one of the refurbished rooms (number 2 I believe) which had the real wow-factor. A very large room and very large 4 poster bed. We were a little disapointed that the bathroom didn't seem to have had as much effort put into it as the bedroom in the refurbish and although obviously had a lick of paint could have been made into so much more if management had really put investment into it.

Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel well located within the forest - a great base for exploring the area. 2 resturants and a bar. The food was fine but rather expensive for what is was and my partner had to send his maincourse back as it has been overcooked the first time. The common areas are currently being refurbished, and once complete I am sure will be stunning.

All in all in was a great hotel but let down a bit by bathrooms, the upset we had with the food as well as it being expensive both to stay in the hotel itself and to eat in the hotel however we would definately go back if ever visiting the forest again so would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Dear Jenniefp,
Thanks for taking time to leave a review of your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay in general and was sorry to hear that the main course for your partner was not originally cooked to his satisfaction.
With regard to the bathrooms, we took a decision during these tough economic times to repaint and regrout them, and spend the main money on the bedrooms.
I totally agree that the antique 4 poster in room two has an amazing wow factor and glad you enjoyed it.
We will continue to invest in refurbishing over the next few years.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hope you had a safe and uneventful journey home.
Thank you once again for taking time to leave us your review.
Best wishes
Peter Hands
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Speech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speech House Hotel

Address: Speech House Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly built in 1669, as a Hunting Lodge for Charles II the Speech House sits at the heart of the Royal Forest of Dean.The main house has 15 bedrooms including three antique four poster beds.The remainder of rooms are situated in the Courtyard and Cottage.The hotel is home to one of only two Verderers Courts in the UK and is used as the main restaurant for the hotel.The hotel offers a wide range of room type to suit all budgets, and is pet friendly in the Courtyard rooms, subject to availability.The Orangery is open to non residents for morning coffee,aftrernoon teas, and bar lunches and evening meals.Free Wi Fi is available to residents for 1 hour during their stay and then it is subject to a small charge.There are approximately 253 miles of walking and cycling trails on the doorstep of the hotel. Speechhouse is an ideal venue for touring the Wye Valley,Gloucestershire and the Southern Cotswolds and South Wales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your The Speech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speech Hotel Coleford
The Speech House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Speech House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.