We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful day out meeting Farher Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Perrygrove Railway & Treetop Adventure

Perrygrove Railway & Treetop Adventure
Perrygrove Road, Coleford GL16 8QB, England
01594 834991
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 things to do in Coleford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perrygrove Railway runs for 3/4 mile through farmland and woods on the edge of the Forest of Dean. Ride the steam train to all our activities including the unique Treetop Adventure - 5 houses up in the trees, fully accessible and safe - our covered picnic and play area at Foxy Hollow, an Indoor Village with secret passages, and a den-building area in the woods. See our collection of vintage trains (operating on two special days each year). Unlock a casket of treasure! Fun guaranteed. Picnics welcome - or enjoy our cafe serving sandwiches and light refreshments. Lots of special events, including days when Mr. Chuffity is here to show children how the Friendly Engines work and tell stories. Low cost family tickets - nothing else to pay (except the optional Treasure Hunt).
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful day out meeting Farher Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We had a great day out at Perrygrove Raikway. My 5 year old son was so excited that he was going to see Farher Christmas and it didn't disappoint. It was great having an allotted time to meet him thereby avoiding the dreaded queues.

When we arrived we were given an icicle that we had to give to Jack Frost when we came across him. Jack Frost then swapped the icicle for a Perrygrove Christmas magic badge. The children had to rub this magic badge to summon Father Christmas. We were able to go on as many train rides as we liked and there was the added value of having an indoor village with lots of secret passages for the children to hide and crawl through. There is also treetops adventure and foxy hollow play areas outside. You can also do a treasure hunt from the train (short version) or in the ancient wood (longer version) which my son loved.

When it was time to see Father Christmas the adults were given mulled wine and a mince pie and the children sat on the carpet and used their magic badges to summon Father Christmas who came down the chimney. He then spoke to them for 20 mins and also read them a story. Once this was done he gave each child a present based on their ages and then dissappeared back up the chimney.

The presents are good quality, the people are friendly and it was excellent value for money. My son had a brilliant time, we will definitely go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrygrove_Manager, Owner at Perrygrove Railway & Treetop Adventure, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I'm pleased you appreciated our system for avoiding queues. We have always thought that this can spoil a visit to see Santa and we do our best to prevent queues building up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    61
    17
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newnham-on-Severn, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Santa Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We visited Perrygrove Christmas event today. In our group there were 6 adults & 6 children. All of us throughly enjoyed it.... all the kids ages ranging from 2 - 10 absolutely loved the indoor cottage maze, the train trip was fun where Jack Frost greeted the children & took their icicles in return for a "magic" badge after the train we visited Santa where he came down the chimney ! He interacted with all the kids & read them a story before handing out their presents which I was very impressed with a lot of thought has gone into the santa experience & presents can't wait to visit again next year. A few people have moaned about the muddy car park which is ridiculous considering it is in the Forest of Dean & the amount of rain we have had it really was not that bad, just don't wear your best shoes !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Abbeymead under 5's Christmas trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We took 30 children on Thrusday 20th December for a Christmas treat. Despite the bad weather we all had a really good time. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They opened the attraction especially for us. It was well organised and ran smoothly. We arrived at Perrygrove and had an indoor play time in the village. Then we had a train trip through the forest. This was followed with a play in the outdoor play area, then we returned to the station to have lunch. We were all given icicles and boarded the train again to look for Jack Frost, who gave us all magic badges. We then arrived back at the station to look for Santa. He arrived down the chimney and read us all a story. He then handed out presents to each of the children and we had our picture taken with him. The children all thoroughly enjoyed their day out and we had lots of tired children on the journey home.
Thank you for a great experience, we can’t wait to visit you again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrygrove_Manager, Owner at Perrygrove Railway & Treetop Adventure, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and I have passed on your compliments to the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a great afternoon out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We took our 4 grandchildren to Perrygrove last Saturday afternoon and despite miserable weather had a great time.
Started with a train trip through forest to see Jack Frost and on our return went to see Santa coming down the chimney to tell children a story and then hand out excellent xmas gifts.The grandchilden were enthralled.
We finished off in the cafe with the grandchildren spending lots of time running and hiding in the indoor village.They loved it.
We could have done more but sadly ran out of time.Will go earlier next time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrygrove_Manager, Owner at Perrygrove Railway & Treetop Adventure, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thanks for taking the trouble to write a review. It means a lot to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penarth, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing, expensive and a massive let down!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We pulled up to the railway and noticed that there was a sign stating please park close and not take up to much space - but with a 2 year old and a buggy you need as much space to get out as possible!! It was litreally parking in a mud bath (which couldnt be helped due to rain over night). The 'Christmas train' was horrific - no tinsel, christmas decorations, no christmas music. The 'Winter wonderland forest' - what a joke it was full of broken logs and brambles, nothing christmassy added to the train ride. The tree top play area was very good though my daughter enjoyed it but does not warrant a £32 entrance fee!! - Santa was impressive coming down the chimmney but that was about it - Had no one on one time with the children and gave out presents but made no conversation with my daughter what so ever... Adults were given a mince pie and mulled wine but nothing for the children to eat which caused an issue! The present was lovely once i had asked santas helper for a different one as My daughter already had the book they were giving out and she rudely obliged to giving a art and craft gift.... Would no recommend this trip to anyone for a christmas train trip with the children - It was one big joke!! And to top it off a dogs bowl for water was under the kitchen sink in the food preperation area! - Lovely and £2.50 for a sandwhich with one filling and a swipe of butter if you brought your own food you were expected to sit out which was freezing cold and the benches were damp - which i can understand but no effort had been made to maybe put some heaters around the picnic areas to make it warmer in the winter months (considering our purpose of visit was to see santa and go on the christmas train)!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huff-Puff-Chuff, Owner at Perrygrove Railway & Treetop Adventure, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
I apologise for the conditions in the car park. We know we have got to create more space and improve drainage. The way we present our Christmas Show is that Father Christmas actually comes down the chimney, entertains the children as a group for 20 minutes, and then disappears back up the chimney. There are lots of venues where you can queue to spend a couple of minutes with Santa one-on-one, but Perrygrove is the only place we know of where you can see Father Christmas perform a proper little Christmas show. I am glad you enjoyed the Treetop Adventure, and you liked the present your daughter received. My wife is in charge of the presents, she says she is never knowingly rude to our customers and changing presents is not a problem except for children under 3 who must receive a present which is safe for that age group. We have noted your comments about the train and the rest of the site and we will take them into account when planning next year’s event. The price of a sandwich this year is £2.30 (£1.50 for children’s sandwiches). There are no dogs in our kitchen. Many of our customers tell us that the all-inclusive price of £10 this year if booked by 31 October is good value, and lots of them come back year after year so there are some people who like what we do. However it is obvious that you didn’t enjoy your visit and of course I am sorry about that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perrygrove Railway & Treetop Adventure also viewed

Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 

Been to Perrygrove Railway & Treetop Adventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perrygrove Railway & Treetop Adventure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.